SCHW · Financials(security brokers, dealers & flotation companies) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Schwab Charles Corp reported revenue of $23.9 billion in fiscal 2025, after growing 12.0% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin widened from 46.3% in 2017 to 97.0%. Of the $63.5 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 26.4% went to buybacks and 22.9% to dividends; the share count rose 33.7%. On the accounting screens, it passes 6 of 6 Piotroski tests; none of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 202523.9B+12.0% a year over 9 years
Operating margin97.0%gross margin —
Return on invested capital—11.7% on average over 2 years
Free cash flow after stock pay8.4B35.3% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA—net debt —
Piotroski F-score6/6tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
010.0B20.0B30.0B
2017Revenue 8.6BOperating income 4.0B
2018
2018Revenue 10.1BOperating income 5.4B
2019Revenue 10.7BOperating income 5.9B
2020Revenue 11.7BOperating income 4.7B
2021Revenue 18.5BOperating income 8.2B
2022Revenue 20.8BOperating income 10.9B
2023Revenue 18.8BOperating income 13.1B
2024Revenue 19.6BOperating income 16.8B
2025Revenue 23.9BOperating income 23.2B
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+4.8%
+15.4%
+12.0%
Operating income
+28.5%
+37.5%
+21.6%
Net income
+7.2%
+21.8%
+15.9%
Earnings per share
+8.9%
+16.3%
+12.2%
Free cash flow per share
+103.7%
+2.2%
—
Dividend per share
+4.9%
+7.6%
+12.7%
Shares
-1.5%
+4.7%
+3.3%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow
-50.0%0.0%50.0%100.0%150.0%
2017Operating 46.3%Net 27.3%Free cash flow -14.4%
2018
2018Operating 53.5%Net 34.6%Free cash flow 117.3%
2019Operating 55.1%Net 34.5%Free cash flow 80.4%
2020Operating 40.4%Net 28.2%Free cash flow 53.2%
2021Operating 44.2%Net 31.6%Free cash flow 6.5%
2022Operating 52.7%Net 34.6%Free cash flow 5.2%
2023Operating 69.3%Net 26.9%Free cash flow 100.3%
2024Operating 85.9%Net 30.3%Free cash flow 10.5%
2025Operating 97.0%Net 37.0%Free cash flow 36.6%
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Return on invested capital
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 10.2%
0.0%10.0%20.0%30.0%
2017Return on invested capital 7.7%
2018
2018Return on invested capital 20.2%
2019Return on invested capital 15.5%
2020Return on invested capital 5.2%
2021Return on invested capital 7.8%
2022Return on invested capital 15.6%
2023
2024
2025
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Economic profit
-4.0B-2.0B02.0B4.0B
2017Economic profit -838.3M
2018
2018Economic profit 2.1B
2019Economic profit 1.5B
2020Economic profit -3.5B
2021Economic profit -1.9B
2022Economic profit 2.9B
2023
2024
2025
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.
Return on equity
17.9%
Return on assets
1.8%
Asset turnover
0.05×
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
-10.0B010.0B20.0B
2017Net income 2.4BFree cash flow -1.2BAfter stock-based pay -1.4B
2018
2018Net income 3.5BFree cash flow 11.9BAfter stock-based pay 11.7B
2019Net income 3.7BFree cash flow 8.6BAfter stock-based pay 8.4B
2020Net income 3.3BFree cash flow 6.2BAfter stock-based pay 6.0B
2021Net income 5.9BFree cash flow 1.2BAfter stock-based pay 948.0M
2022Net income 7.2BFree cash flow 1.1BAfter stock-based pay 720.0M
2023Net income 5.1BFree cash flow 18.9BAfter stock-based pay 18.6B
2024Net income 5.9BFree cash flow 2.0BAfter stock-based pay 1.7B
2025Net income 8.9BFree cash flow 8.8BAfter stock-based pay 8.4B
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2017–2025
63.5B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 10%6.1B
Acquisitions 0%0
Dividends 23%14.5B
Share buybacks 26%16.8B
Kept, or used to pay down debt 41%26.1B
Over the same years it paid 2.3B in stock. The share count rose 33.7%. 14.5B of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$-5.00$0.00$5.00$10.00$15.00
2017Earnings per share $1.74Free cash flow per share $-0.92Dividend per share $0.44
2018
2018Earnings per share $2.58Free cash flow per share $8.73Dividend per share $0.58
2019Earnings per share $2.81Free cash flow per share $6.53Dividend per share $0.80
2020Earnings per share $2.30Free cash flow per share $4.34Dividend per share $0.89
2021Earnings per share $3.09Free cash flow per share $0.63Dividend per share $0.96
2022Earnings per share $3.79Free cash flow per share $0.57Dividend per share $1.11
2023Earnings per share $2.77Free cash flow per share $10.32Dividend per share $1.24
2024Earnings per share $3.24Free cash flow per share $1.12Dividend per share $1.24
2025Earnings per share $4.89Free cash flow per share $4.84Dividend per share $1.29
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
1.2B1.4B1.6B1.8B2.0B
2017Diluted shares 1.4B
2018
2018Diluted shares 1.4B
2019Diluted shares 1.3B
2020Diluted shares 1.4B
2021Diluted shares 1.9B
2022Diluted shares 1.9B
2023Diluted shares 1.8B
2024Diluted shares 1.8B
2025Diluted shares 1.8B
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
-40.0B-30.0B-20.0B-10.0B010.0B
2017Net debt 783.0M
2018
2018Net debt -27.9B
2019Net debt -21.9B
2020Net debt -26.7B
2021Net debt -39.2B
2022Net debt -23.1B
2023
2024
2025
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
—
Interest coverage
2× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
— current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
—
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
6of 6 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✓Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforepassed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
–Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fell — not reportedno data
–More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓No new sharesShare count did not growpassed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
The accounts lack a line it needs (retained earnings, current assets or liabilities).
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
The accounts lack too many of the lines it needs.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
None of the six cross-checks fires for the latest year: receivables and inventory move with revenue, profit turns into cash, investment keeps up with depreciation, the tax rate is ordinary and debt is moderate.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
Value per share, with these assumptions$159.75discounted at 10.2% a year · 53% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
32.6×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
—
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
12.1×
Free cash flow yield
2.9%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today135.5B
Everything after, today153.5B
The whole business289.0B
Minus net debt-0
What belongs to shareholders289.0B
Divided among 1.8B shares: <strong>$159.75</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
-10.0B010.0B20.0B30.0B40.0B
2017Reported -1.4B
2018
2018Reported 11.7B
2019Reported 8.4B
2020Reported 6.0B
2021Reported 948.0M
2022Reported 720.0M
2023Reported 18.6B
2024Reported 1.7B
2025Reported 8.4B
2026Projected 14.9B
2027Projected 17.0B
2028Projected 19.1B
2029Projected 21.3B
2030Projected 23.3B
2031Projected 25.3B
2032Projected 27.0B
2033Projected 28.5B
2034Projected 29.6B
2035Projected 30.3B
2017201820202022202420262028203020322034
Year by year
2026
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
Revenue
27.6B
31.5B
35.5B
39.4B
43.3B
46.9B
50.1B
52.8B
54.8B
56.2B
Growth
15.5%
14.1%
12.6%
11.2%
9.7%
8.3%
6.8%
5.4%
3.9%
2.5%
Cash margin
53.9%
53.9%
53.9%
53.9%
53.9%
53.9%
53.9%
53.9%
53.9%
53.9%
Free cash flow
14.9B
17.0B
19.1B
21.3B
23.3B
25.3B
27.0B
28.5B
29.6B
30.3B
Worth today
13.5B
14.0B
14.3B
14.4B
14.4B
14.1B
13.7B
13.1B
12.4B
11.5B
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
9.2%
165
175
186
198
213
9.7%
154
162
172
182
195
10.2%
145
152
160
169
179
10.7%
136
142
149
157
166
11.2%
128
134
140
147
155
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
11.5%
13.5%
15.5%
17.5%
19.5%
43.1%
116
125
135
145
157
48.5%
126
136
147
159
172
53.9%
137
148
160
173
186
59.3%
147
159
172
186
201
64.7%
158
171
185
200
216
All the inputs moving at once
5,000 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 8.1%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$121.49
Median$160.01
90th percentile$215.85
$100.00$150.00$200.00$250.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$137.85</b> and <b>$185.84</b>; one in ten below $121.49, one in ten above $215.85.
Does the long run make sense?
9%To grow 2.5% forever while reinvesting 28% of its after-tax operating profit, the business must earn 9% on the new capital — it has earned 12% on average over the last five years.
53%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
What lenders charge, after the tax saving on interest: 6.68% × (1 − 22.8%) = <strong>5.16%</strong>.
Weighted by how much of each the company uses (book value (no price given)): <strong>10.18%</strong>, the rate every future cash flow is discounted at.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.