PRDO · Other(services-educational services) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Perdoceo Education Corp reported revenue of $846.1 million in fiscal 2025, after growing 2.1% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin widened from -4.6% in 2016 to 23.2%. Of the $1.1 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 28.2% went to acquisitions and 18.2% to buybacks; the share count fell 3.2%. On the accounting screens, it passes 7 of 7 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 9.58 is in the safe zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; 1 of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 2025846.1M+2.1% a year over 9 years
Operating margin23.2%gross margin —
Return on invested capital—
Free cash flow after stock pay204.9M24.2% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA—net debt —
Piotroski F-score7/7tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
-250.0M0250.0M500.0M750.0M1.0B
2016Revenue 704.4MOperating income -32.3M
2017Revenue 596.4MOperating income 34.1M
2018Revenue 581.3MOperating income 71.3M
2019Revenue 627.7MOperating income 86.5M
2020Revenue 687.3MOperating income 142.9M
2021Revenue 693.0MOperating income 149.0M
2022Revenue 695.2MOperating income 129.6M
2023Revenue 710.0MOperating income 150.4M
2024Revenue 681.3MOperating income 174.3M
2025Revenue 846.1MOperating income 196.0M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+6.8%
+4.2%
+2.1%
Operating income
+14.8%
+6.5%
—
Net income
+18.6%
+5.2%
—
Earnings per share
+20.3%
+6.8%
—
Free cash flow per share
+18.6%
+6.5%
+65.9%
Shares
-1.4%
-1.5%
-0.4%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow
-10.0%0.0%10.0%20.0%30.0%
2016Operating -4.6%Net -2.7%Free cash flow 0.3%
2017Operating 5.7%Net -5.3%Free cash flow -4.7%
2018Operating 12.3%Net 9.5%Free cash flow 8.6%
2019Operating 13.8%Net 11.1%Free cash flow 10.8%
2020Operating 20.8%Net 18.1%Free cash flow 24.8%
2021Operating 21.5%Net 15.8%Free cash flow 26.1%
2022Operating 18.6%Net 13.8%Free cash flow 19.5%
2023Operating 21.2%Net 20.8%Free cash flow 14.9%
2024Operating 25.6%Net 21.7%Free cash flow 23.0%
2025Operating 23.2%Net 18.9%Free cash flow 25.6%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Return on invested capital
Economic profit
Needs a cost of capital, which comes from the valuation below.
Return on equity
16.4%
Return on assets
12.8%
Asset turnover
0.68×
Overheads (SG&A)
48.6% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
-100.0M0100.0M200.0M300.0M
2016Net income -18.7MFree cash flow 2.3MAfter stock-based pay -891,000
2017Net income -31.9MFree cash flow -28.1MAfter stock-based pay -33.1M
2018Net income 55.2MFree cash flow 50.3MAfter stock-based pay 44.6M
2019Net income 70.0MFree cash flow 67.9MAfter stock-based pay 58.6M
2020Net income 124.3MFree cash flow 170.2MAfter stock-based pay 156.8M
2021Net income 109.6MFree cash flow 180.7MAfter stock-based pay 165.7M
2022Net income 95.9MFree cash flow 135.6MAfter stock-based pay 126.8M
2023Net income 147.7MFree cash flow 105.6MAfter stock-based pay 97.5M
2024Net income 147.6MFree cash flow 157.0MAfter stock-based pay 146.8M
2025Net income 159.9MFree cash flow 216.7MAfter stock-based pay 204.9M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025
1.1B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 7%74.8M
Acquisitions 28%319.9M
Dividends 1%14.4M
Share buybacks 18%206.0M
Kept, or used to pay down debt 46%517.7M
Over the same years it paid 90.2M in stock. The share count fell 3.2%. 115.8M of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$-1.00$0.00$1.00$2.00$3.00$4.00
2016Earnings per share $-0.27Free cash flow per share $0.03
2017Earnings per share $-0.46Free cash flow per share $-0.41
2018Earnings per share $0.77Free cash flow per share $0.70
2019Earnings per share $0.97Free cash flow per share $0.94
2020Earnings per share $1.74Free cash flow per share $2.39
2021Earnings per share $1.55Free cash flow per share $2.55
2022Earnings per share $1.39Free cash flow per share $1.96
2023Earnings per share $2.18Free cash flow per share $1.56Dividend per share $0.21
2024Earnings per share $2.19Free cash flow per share $2.33
2025Earnings per share $2.42Free cash flow per share $3.28
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
66.0M68.0M70.0M72.0M74.0M
2016Diluted shares 68.4M
2017Diluted shares 68.9M
2018Diluted shares 71.5M
2019Diluted shares 72.1M
2020Diluted shares 71.3M
2021Diluted shares 70.9M
2022Diluted shares 69.0M
2023Diluted shares 67.8M
2024Diluted shares 67.2M
2025Diluted shares 66.2M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
—
Interest coverage
30× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
5.06 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
—
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
7of 7 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✓Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforepassed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
–Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fell — not reportedno data
✓More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforepassed
✓No new sharesShare count did not growpassed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
9.58safe zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets 0.45 × 6.56+2.94
Retained earnings ÷ assets 0.58 × 3.26+1.88
Operating income ÷ assets 0.16 × 6.72+1.06
Equity ÷ liabilities 3.53 × 1.05+3.71
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-2.60below the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.92
Gross margin slipping 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.53
Soft assets 0.92+0.37
Sales growth 1.24+1.11
Slower depreciation 0.40+0.05
Overheads vs sales 0.90-0.16
Profit not in cash -0.05-0.24
Leverage rising 1.03-0.34
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
Capital spending (9M) is well below depreciation (42M).
Benign
Mature assets, or a business that has become less capital-intensive.
Worrying
Under-investing: today's profit is being held up by consuming tomorrow's capacity.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
The SEC accounts lack the lines needed for revenue, free cash flow or the share count, so there is no DCF for this company.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 5 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market$2.2M3 sale(s) by 3 insider(s)
Under pre-arranged plans33%of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Companies like this one
Same SEC industry (services-educational services) first, then the rest of other.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.