CVCO · Other(mobile homes) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2026-03-28
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Cavco Industries, Inc. reported revenue of $2.2 billion in fiscal 2026, after growing 12.6% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin widened from 7.3% in 2017 to 10.2%. Of the $1.4 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 40.9% went to buybacks and 30.8% to acquisitions; the share count fell 12.7%. On the accounting screens, it passes 7 of 8 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 9.20 is in the safe zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; none of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 20262.2B+12.6% a year over 9 years
Operating margin10.2%gross margin 23.5%
Return on invested capital—
Free cash flow after stock pay219.3M9.8% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA—net debt —
Piotroski F-score7/8tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
01.0B2.0B3.0B
2017Revenue 773.8MOperating income 56.8M
2018Revenue 871.2MOperating income 73.8M
2019Revenue 962.7MOperating income 84.1M
2020Revenue 1.1BOperating income 84.9M
2021Revenue 1.1BOperating income 88.8M
2022Revenue 1.6BOperating income 202.5M
2023Revenue 2.1BOperating income 296.6M
2024Revenue 1.8BOperating income 179.0M
2025Revenue 2.0BOperating income 190.3M
2026Revenue 2.2BOperating income 228.6M
2017201820192020202120222023202420252026
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+1.6%
+15.2%
+12.6%
Operating income
-8.3%
+20.8%
+16.7%
Net income
-7.5%
+20.0%
+19.6%
Earnings per share
-3.8%
+23.8%
+21.5%
Free cash flow per share
+7.2%
+25.1%
+23.3%
Shares
-3.8%
-3.1%
-1.5%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 10.2%
0.0%5.0%10.0%15.0%
2017
2018
2019
2020
2021
2022
2023
2024
2025
2026
2017201820192020202120222023202420252026
Economic profit
Needs a cost of capital, which comes from the valuation below.
Return on equity
17.3%
Return on assets
12.8%
Asset turnover
1.51×
Overheads (SG&A)
13.3% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
0100.0M200.0M300.0M
2017Net income 38.0MFree cash flow 40.5MAfter stock-based pay 38.4M
2018Net income 61.5MFree cash flow 50.6MAfter stock-based pay 48.3M
2019Net income 68.6MFree cash flow 25.2MAfter stock-based pay 21.8M
2020Net income 75.1MFree cash flow 87.4MAfter stock-based pay 83.5M
2021Net income 76.6MFree cash flow 88.5MAfter stock-based pay 84.1M
2022Net income 197.7MFree cash flow 125.6MAfter stock-based pay 120.5M
2023Net income 240.6MFree cash flow 211.6MAfter stock-based pay 205.3M
2024Net income 157.8MFree cash flow 207.3MAfter stock-based pay 200.5M
2025Net income 171.0MFree cash flow 157.1MAfter stock-based pay 148.4M
2026Net income 190.6MFree cash flow 232.1MAfter stock-based pay 219.3M
2017201820192020202120222023202420252026
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2017–2026
1.4B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 14%198.2M
Acquisitions 31%439.1M
Dividends 0%0
Share buybacks 41%582.3M
Kept, or used to pay down debt 14%204.3M
Over the same years it paid 55.6M in stock. The share count fell 12.7%. 526.7M of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$0.00$10.00$20.00$30.00
2017Earnings per share $4.17Free cash flow per share $4.45
2018Earnings per share $6.68Free cash flow per share $5.50
2019Earnings per share $7.40Free cash flow per share $2.72
2020Earnings per share $8.10Free cash flow per share $9.43
2021Earnings per share $8.25Free cash flow per share $9.52
2022Earnings per share $21.34Free cash flow per share $13.55
2023Earnings per share $26.95Free cash flow per share $23.71
2024Earnings per share $18.37Free cash flow per share $24.12
2025Earnings per share $20.71Free cash flow per share $19.02
2026Earnings per share $23.98Free cash flow per share $29.21
2017201820192020202120222023202420252026
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
7.5M8.0M8.5M9.0M9.5M
2017Diluted shares 9.1M
2018Diluted shares 9.2M
2019Diluted shares 9.3M
2020Diluted shares 9.3M
2021Diluted shares 9.3M
2022Diluted shares 9.3M
2023Diluted shares 8.9M
2024Diluted shares 8.6M
2025Diluted shares 8.3M
2026Diluted shares 7.9M
2017201820192020202120222023202420252026
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
—
Interest coverage
422× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
2.46 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
71 days collects in 18d, stock 63d, pays in 9d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
7of 8 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✓Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforepassed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
–Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fell — not reportedno data
✕More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforefailed
✓No new sharesShare count did not growpassed
✓Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year beforepassed
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
9.20safe zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets 0.33 × 6.56+2.15
Retained earnings ÷ assets 0.93 × 3.26+3.04
Operating income ÷ assets 0.15 × 6.72+1.03
Equity ÷ liabilities 2.84 × 1.05+2.99
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-2.71below the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 0.92+0.85
Gross margin slipping 0.98+0.52
Soft assets 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.40
Sales growth 1.11+0.99
Slower depreciation 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.12
Overheads vs sales 0.97-0.17
Profit not in cash -0.05-0.24
Leverage rising 1.04-0.34
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
None of the six cross-checks fires for the latest year: receivables and inventory move with revenue, profit turns into cash, investment keeps up with depreciation, the tax rate is ordinary and debt is moderate.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
Value per share, with these assumptions$404.64discounted at 10.2% a year · 53% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
16.9×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
12.8×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
1.4×
Free cash flow yield
6.8%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today1.5B
Everything after, today1.7B
The whole business3.2B
Minus net debt-0
What belongs to shareholders3.2B
Divided among 7.9M shares: <strong>$404.64</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
0100.0M200.0M300.0M400.0M
2017Reported 38.4M
2018Reported 48.3M
2019Reported 21.8M
2020Reported 83.5M
2021Reported 84.1M
2022Reported 120.5M
2023Reported 205.3M
2024Reported 200.5M
2025Reported 148.4M
2026Reported 219.3M
2027Projected 168.1M
2028Projected 191.0M
2029Projected 214.3M
2030Projected 237.6M
2031Projected 260.0M
2032Projected 280.9M
2033Projected 299.7M
2034Projected 315.5M
2035Projected 327.7M
2036Projected 335.9M
2017201920212023202520272029203120332035
Year by year
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
2036
Revenue
2.6B
2.9B
3.3B
3.6B
4.0B
4.3B
4.6B
4.8B
5.0B
5.2B
Growth
15.0%
13.6%
12.2%
10.8%
9.4%
8.1%
6.7%
5.3%
3.9%
2.5%
Cash margin
6.5%
6.5%
6.5%
6.5%
6.5%
6.5%
6.5%
6.5%
6.5%
6.5%
Free cash flow
168.1M
191.0M
214.3M
237.6M
260.0M
280.9M
299.7M
315.5M
327.7M
335.9M
Worth today
152.6M
157.4M
160.3M
161.3M
160.2M
157.1M
152.1M
145.4M
137.1M
127.5M
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
9.2%
418
442
470
502
539
9.7%
391
411
435
462
493
10.2%
366
384
405
428
454
10.7%
345
360
378
398
421
11.2%
325
339
355
372
391
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
11.0%
13.0%
15.0%
17.0%
19.0%
5.2%
293
316
341
368
397
5.9%
319
345
373
403
435
6.5%
346
374
405
437
472
7.2%
372
403
436
472
510
7.8%
399
432
468
506
548
All the inputs moving at once
5,000 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 2.0%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$265.62
Median$404.16
90th percentile$590.14
$200.00$400.00$600.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$328.26</b> and <b>$493.46</b>; one in ten below $265.62, one in ten above $590.14.
Does the long run make sense?
7.8×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 7.8 times that year's EBITDA.
14%To grow 2.5% forever while reinvesting 18% of its after-tax operating profit, the business must earn 14% on the new capital.
53%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
What lenders charge, after the tax saving on interest: 6.67% × (1 − 22.1%) = <strong>5.19%</strong>.
Weighted by how much of each the company uses (book value (no price given)): <strong>10.17%</strong>, the rate every future cash flow is discounted at.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 5 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market$219,5632 sale(s) by 2 insider(s)
Under pre-arranged plans0%of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.