OTIS · Technology(electronic & other electrical equipment (no computer equip)) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Otis Worldwide Corp reported revenue of $14.4 billion in fiscal 2025. Of the $12.6 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 33.3% went to buybacks and 23.1% to dividends. On the accounting screens, it passes 2 of 2 Piotroski tests and its Altman Z'' of 0.14 is in the distress zone; none of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 202514.4B
Operating margin14.8%gross margin —
Return on invested capital68.3%71.3% on average over 4 years
Free cash flow after stock pay1.4B9.5% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA2.9×net debt 6.6B
Piotroski F-score2/2tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
05.0B10.0B15.0B
2017
2018Revenue 12.9BOperating income 1.8B
2019Revenue 13.1BOperating income 1.8B
2020Revenue 12.8BOperating income 1.6B
2021Revenue 14.3BOperating income 2.1B
2022Revenue 13.7BOperating income 2.0B
2023Revenue 14.2BOperating income 2.2B
2024Revenue 14.3BOperating income 2.0B
2025
2025Revenue 14.4BOperating income 2.1B
2017201820192020202120222023202420252025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+0.5%
+0.2%
—
Operating income
-0.8%
+0.2%
—
Net income
-0.5%
+2.1%
—
Earnings per share
+1.1%
+3.9%
—
Free cash flow per share
+0.6%
-0.2%
—
Dividend per share
+8.0%
+12.5%
—
Shares
-1.6%
-1.8%
—
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow
0.0%5.0%10.0%15.0%20.0%
2017
2018Operating 14.2%Net 8.1%Free cash flow 10.7%
2019Operating 13.8%Net 8.5%Free cash flow 10.1%
2020Operating 12.8%Net 7.1%Free cash flow 10.2%
2021Operating 14.7%Net 8.7%Free cash flow 11.1%
2022Operating 14.9%Net 9.2%Free cash flow 10.6%
2023Operating 15.4%Net 9.9%Free cash flow 10.5%
2024Operating 14.1%Net 11.5%Free cash flow 10.1%
2025
2025Operating 14.8%Net 9.6%Free cash flow 10.0%
2017201820192020202120222023202420252025
Return on invested capital
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 3.9%
0.0%25.0%50.0%75.0%100.0%
2017
2018
2019Return on invested capital 72.4%
2020Return on invested capital 81.8%
2021Return on invested capital 42.1%
2022Return on invested capital 83.8%
2023Return on invested capital 83.0%
2024Return on invested capital 49.9%
2025
2025Return on invested capital 68.3%
2017201820192020202120222023202420252025
Economic profit
Economic profit
0500.0M1.0B1.5B2.0B
2017
2018
2019Economic profit 1.2B
2020Economic profit 1.1B
2021Economic profit 1.4B
2022Economic profit 1.4B
2023Economic profit 1.5B
2024Economic profit 1.6B
2025
2025Economic profit 1.5B
2017201820192020202120222023202420252025
(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.
Return on equity
—
Return on assets
13.0%
Asset turnover
1.35×
Research & development
1.1% of revenue
Overheads (SG&A)
13.7% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
0500.0M1.0B1.5B2.0B
2017
2018Net income 1.0BFree cash flow 1.4BAfter stock-based pay 1.3B
2019Net income 1.1BFree cash flow 1.3BAfter stock-based pay 1.3B
2020Net income 906.0MFree cash flow 1.3BAfter stock-based pay 1.2B
2021Net income 1.2BFree cash flow 1.6BAfter stock-based pay 1.5B
2022Net income 1.3BFree cash flow 1.4BAfter stock-based pay 1.4B
2023Net income 1.4BFree cash flow 1.5BAfter stock-based pay 1.4B
2024Net income 1.6BFree cash flow 1.4BAfter stock-based pay 1.4B
2025
2025Net income 1.4BFree cash flow 1.4BAfter stock-based pay 1.4B
2017201820192020202120222023202420252025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2017–2025
12.6B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 9%1.2B
Acquisitions 4%508.0M
Dividends 23%2.9B
Share buybacks 33%4.2B
Kept, or used to pay down debt 30%3.8B
Over the same years it paid 487.0M in stock. 3.7B of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$0.00$2.00$4.00$6.00
2017
2018Earnings per share $2.42Free cash flow per share $3.18Dividend per share $0.00
2019Earnings per share $2.58Free cash flow per share $3.06Dividend per share $0.00
2020Earnings per share $2.08Free cash flow per share $2.98Dividend per share $0.60
2021Earnings per share $2.89Free cash flow per share $3.69Dividend per share $0.91
2022Earnings per share $2.96Free cash flow per share $3.42Dividend per share $1.10
2023Earnings per share $3.39Free cash flow per share $3.59Dividend per share $1.30
2024Earnings per share $4.07Free cash flow per share $3.55Dividend per share $1.50
2025
2025Earnings per share $3.50Free cash flow per share $3.66Dividend per share $1.64
2017201820192020202120222023202420252025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
390.0M400.0M410.0M420.0M430.0M440.0M
2017
2018Diluted shares 433.1M
2019Diluted shares 433.1M
2020Diluted shares 434.6M
2021Diluted shares 431.4M
2022Diluted shares 423.0M
2023Diluted shares 414.6M
2024Diluted shares 404.4M
2025
2025Diluted shares 394.9M
2017201820192020202120222023202420252025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
-2.5B02.5B5.0B7.5B
2017
2018
2019Net debt -1.4B
2020Net debt 3.5B
2021Net debt 5.7B
2022Net debt 5.4B
2023Net debt 5.6B
2024Net debt 6.0B
2025Net debt 135.0M
2025Net debt 6.6B
2017201820192020202120222023202420252025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
2.9×
Interest coverage
10× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
0.85 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
— collects in 93d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
2of 2 tests passed
–ProfitableReturn on assets above zero — not reportedno data
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
–Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
–Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fell — not reportedno data
–More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year before — not reportedno data
–No new sharesShare count did not grow — not reportedno data
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
–Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year before — not reportedno data
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
0.14distress zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets -0.11 × 6.56-0.71
Retained earnings ÷ assets -0.04 × 3.26-0.13
Operating income ÷ assets 0.20 × 6.72+1.35
Equity ÷ liabilities -0.34 × 1.05-0.36
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
The accounts lack too many of the lines it needs.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
None of the six cross-checks fires for the latest year: receivables and inventory move with revenue, profit turns into cash, investment keeps up with depreciation, the tax rate is ordinary and debt is moderate.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
87% of the value comes from after year 10: this valuation rests mostly on the long run, which is exactly what is least known.
Value per share, with these assumptions$267.16discounted at 3.9% a year · 87% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
76.2×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
48.6×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
7.8×
Free cash flow yield
1.3%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today14.6B
Everything after, today97.6B
The whole business112.1B
Minus net debt-6.6B
What belongs to shareholders105.5B
Divided among 394.9M shares: <strong>$267.16</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
0500.0M1.0B1.5B2.0B
2017
2018Reported 1.3B
2019Reported 1.3B
2020Reported 1.2B
2021Reported 1.5B
2022Reported 1.4B
2023Reported 1.4B
2024Reported 1.4B
2025
2025Reported 1.4B
2026Projected 1.7B
2027Projected 1.7B
2028Projected 1.7B
2029Projected 1.7B
2030Projected 1.8B
2031Projected 1.8B
2032Projected 1.8B
2033Projected 1.8B
2034Projected 1.9B
2035Projected 1.9B
2017201920212023202520262028203020322034
Year by year
2026
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
Revenue
14.4B
14.5B
14.6B
14.7B
14.8B
15.0B
15.3B
15.6B
15.9B
16.3B
Growth
0.0%
0.3%
0.6%
0.8%
1.1%
1.4%
1.7%
1.9%
2.2%
2.5%
Cash margin
11.9%
11.9%
11.9%
11.9%
11.9%
11.9%
11.9%
11.9%
11.9%
11.9%
Free cash flow
1.7B
1.7B
1.7B
1.7B
1.8B
1.8B
1.8B
1.8B
1.9B
1.9B
Worth today
1.6B
1.6B
1.5B
1.5B
1.5B
1.4B
1.4B
1.4B
1.3B
1.3B
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
2.9%
278
434
992
—
—
3.4%
200
272
426
973
—
3.9%
155
196
267
418
955
4.4%
125
152
192
262
410
4.9%
104
123
149
189
257
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
-4.0%
-2.0%
0.0%
2.0%
4.0%
9.5%
173
193
214
237
261
10.7%
195
217
241
266
294
11.9%
217
241
267
295
326
13.1%
239
265
294
325
359
14.2%
261
289
320
354
391
All the inputs moving at once
3,276 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 2.0%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$105.45
Median$192.96
90th percentile$336.94
$200.00$400.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$140.96</b> and <b>$263.63</b>; one in ten below $105.45, one in ten above $336.94.
Does the long run make sense?
54.7×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 54.7 times that year's EBITDA.
Free growthIn year 10 free cash flow is at or above after-tax operating profit, yet the model grows 2.5% forever. Growth needs reinvestment; this assumes it comes for free, which flatters the terminal value.
87%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 5 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market—none in the period
Under pre-arranged plans—of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.