OPY · Financials(security brokers, dealers & flotation companies) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Oppenheimer Holdings Inc reported revenue of $1.4 billion in fiscal 2025, after growing 5.8% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin widened from -0.3% in 2016 to 14.8%. Of the $464.7 million its operations generated over 10 years, 33.7% went to buybacks and 19.2% to dividends; the share count fell 14.9%. On the accounting screens, it passes 5 of 6 Piotroski tests; 1 of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 20251.4B+5.8% a year over 9 years
Operating margin14.8%gross margin —
Return on invested capital—8.0% on average over 4 years
Free cash flow after stock pay151.4M10.6% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA—net debt —
Piotroski F-score5/6tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
-500.0M0500.0M1.0B1.5B
2016Revenue 857.8MOperating income -2.5M
2017Revenue 920.3MOperating income 47.9M
2018Revenue 891.6MOperating income 44.9M
2019Revenue 934.8MOperating income 74.9M
2020Revenue 1.1BOperating income 169.0M
2021Revenue 1.3BOperating income 224.6M
2022Revenue 1.0BOperating income 45.6M
2023Revenue 1.1BOperating income 46.8M
2024Revenue 1.2BOperating income 105.8M
2025Revenue 1.4BOperating income 211.2M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+10.8%
+4.8%
+5.8%
Operating income
+66.7%
+4.6%
—
Net income
+66.2%
+3.8%
—
Earnings per share
+71.9%
+7.0%
—
Free cash flow per share
+61.6%
—
—
Dividend per share
+6.0%
-13.9%
+4.7%
Shares
-3.3%
-2.9%
-1.8%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow
-10.0%0.0%10.0%20.0%
2016Operating -0.3%Net -0.1%Free cash flow -8.5%
2017Operating 5.2%Net 2.5%Free cash flow -2.4%
2018Operating 5.0%Net 3.2%Free cash flow 17.9%
2019Operating 8.0%Net 5.7%Free cash flow 7.4%
2020Operating 15.0%Net 10.9%Free cash flow -5.2%
2021Operating 17.0%Net 12.1%Free cash flow 16.6%
2022Operating 4.4%Net 3.1%Free cash flow 4.6%
2023Operating 4.4%Net 2.8%Free cash flow -3.3%
2024Operating 8.6%Net 5.8%Free cash flow -9.2%
2025Operating 14.8%Net 10.4%Free cash flow 12.9%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Return on invested capital
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 10.2%
0.0%5.0%10.0%15.0%20.0%
2016
2017
2018Return on invested capital 3.9%
2019Return on invested capital 7.1%
2020Return on invested capital 15.2%
2021Return on invested capital 16.8%
2022Return on invested capital 3.5%
2023Return on invested capital 3.4%
2024Return on invested capital 8.4%
2025
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Economic profit
-100.0M-50.0M050.0M100.0M
2016
2017
2018Economic profit -46.8M
2019Economic profit -22.5M
2020Economic profit 40.7M
2021Economic profit 62.6M
2022Economic profit -60.2M
2023Economic profit -61.4M
2024Economic profit -15.2M
2025
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.
Return on equity
15.1%
Return on assets
4.0%
Asset turnover
0.38×
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
-200.0M-100.0M0100.0M200.0M300.0M
2016Net income -1.2MFree cash flow -72.6MAfter stock-based pay -78.8M
2017Net income 22.8MFree cash flow -21.7MAfter stock-based pay -34.3M
2018Net income 28.9MFree cash flow 159.9MAfter stock-based pay 153.2M
2019Net income 53.0MFree cash flow 69.1MAfter stock-based pay 57.3M
2020Net income 123.0MFree cash flow -58.6MAfter stock-based pay -74.8M
2021Net income 159.0MFree cash flow 219.5MAfter stock-based pay 188.4M
2022Net income 32.4MFree cash flow 48.2MAfter stock-based pay 32.3M
2023Net income 30.2MFree cash flow -35.9MAfter stock-based pay -52.8M
2024Net income 71.6MFree cash flow -113.3MAfter stock-based pay -158.8M
2025Net income 148.4MFree cash flow 183.6MAfter stock-based pay 151.4M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025
464.7M generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 19%86.5M
Acquisitions 1%5.3M
Dividends 19%89.4M
Share buybacks 34%156.8M
Kept, or used to pay down debt 27%126.6M
Over the same years it paid 195.2M in stock. The share count fell 14.9%. The buybacks did not even cover what was handed out in stock.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$-20.00$-10.00$0.00$10.00$20.00
2016Earnings per share $-0.09Free cash flow per share $-5.43Dividend per share $0.44
2017Earnings per share $1.67Free cash flow per share $-1.59Dividend per share $0.43
2018Earnings per share $2.05Free cash flow per share $11.37Dividend per share $0.41
2019Earnings per share $3.82Free cash flow per share $4.99Dividend per share $0.43
2020Earnings per share $9.30Free cash flow per share $-4.43Dividend per share $1.41
2021Earnings per share $11.70Free cash flow per share $16.16Dividend per share $1.43
2022Earnings per share $2.57Free cash flow per share $3.82Dividend per share $0.56
2023Earnings per share $2.59Free cash flow per share $-3.08Dividend per share $0.55
2024Earnings per share $6.37Free cash flow per share $-10.09Dividend per share $0.61
2025Earnings per share $13.04Free cash flow per share $16.13Dividend per share $0.67
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
11.0M12.0M13.0M14.0M15.0M
2016Diluted shares 13.4M
2017Diluted shares 13.7M
2018Diluted shares 14.1M
2019Diluted shares 13.9M
2020Diluted shares 13.2M
2021Diluted shares 13.6M
2022Diluted shares 12.6M
2023Diluted shares 11.6M
2024Diluted shares 11.2M
2025Diluted shares 11.4M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
-100.0M0100.0M200.0M
2016Net debt 84.4M
2017Net debt 150.7M
2018Net debt 108.4M
2019Net debt 70.0M
2020Net debt 88.4M
2021Net debt -89.7M
2022Net debt 1.0M
2023Net debt 83.8M
2024Net debt -33.1M
2025
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
—
Interest coverage
— operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
— current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
—
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
5of 6 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✓Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforepassed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
–Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fell — not reportedno data
–More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✕No new sharesShare count did not growfailed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
The accounts lack a line it needs (retained earnings, current assets or liabilities).
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
The accounts lack too many of the lines it needs.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
Capital spending (5M) is well below depreciation (11M).
Benign
Mature assets, or a business that has become less capital-intensive.
Worrying
Under-investing: today's profit is being held up by consuming tomorrow's capacity.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
Value per share, with these assumptions$79.03discounted at 10.2% a year · 50% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
6.1×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
4.0×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
0.6×
Free cash flow yield
16.8%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today453.8M
Everything after, today445.8M
The whole business899.6M
Minus net debt-0
What belongs to shareholders899.6M
Divided among 11.4M shares: <strong>$79.03</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
-200.0M-100.0M0100.0M200.0M
2016Reported -78.8M
2017Reported -34.3M
2018Reported 153.2M
2019Reported 57.3M
2020Reported -74.8M
2021Reported 188.4M
2022Reported 32.3M
2023Reported -52.8M
2024Reported -158.8M
2025Reported 151.4M
2026Projected 63.9M
2027Projected 66.9M
2028Projected 69.9M
2029Projected 72.8M
2030Projected 75.6M
2031Projected 78.3M
2032Projected 80.9M
2033Projected 83.4M
2034Projected 85.7M
2035Projected 87.9M
2016201820202022202420262028203020322034
Year by year
2026
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
Revenue
1.5B
1.6B
1.6B
1.7B
1.8B
1.8B
1.9B
2.0B
2.0B
2.1B
Growth
5.0%
4.7%
4.4%
4.2%
3.9%
3.6%
3.3%
3.1%
2.8%
2.5%
Cash margin
4.3%
4.3%
4.3%
4.3%
4.3%
4.3%
4.3%
4.3%
4.3%
4.3%
Free cash flow
63.9M
66.9M
69.9M
72.8M
75.6M
78.3M
80.9M
83.4M
85.7M
87.9M
Worth today
58.0M
55.1M
52.2M
49.4M
46.6M
43.8M
41.1M
38.4M
35.9M
33.4M
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
9.2%
82
86
91
97
104
9.7%
76
80
85
90
95
10.2%
72
75
79
83
88
10.7%
68
71
74
78
82
11.2%
64
67
70
73
77
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
1.0%
3.0%
5.0%
7.0%
9.0%
3.4%
57
62
67
73
79
3.8%
62
67
73
79
86
4.3%
67
73
79
86
93
4.7%
72
78
85
92
100
5.1%
77
84
91
99
107
All the inputs moving at once
5,000 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 2.0%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$42.95
Median$79.09
90th percentile$124.90
$50.00$100.00$150.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$59.15</b> and <b>$101.12</b>; one in ten below $42.95, one in ten above $124.90.
Does the long run make sense?
3.7×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 3.7 times that year's EBITDA.
4%To grow 2.5% forever while reinvesting 59% of its after-tax operating profit, the business must earn 4% on the new capital — it has earned 8% on average over the last five years.
50%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
What lenders charge, after the tax saving on interest: 6.67% × (1 − 29.9%) = <strong>4.67%</strong>.
Weighted by how much of each the company uses (book value (no price given)): <strong>10.17%</strong>, the rate every future cash flow is discounted at.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 6 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market—none in the period
Under pre-arranged plans—of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Companies like this one
Same SEC industry (security brokers, dealers & flotation companies) first, then the rest of financials.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.