NWSA · Communication(newspapers: publishing or publishing & printing) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2026-06-30
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
News Corp reported revenue of $9.0 billion in fiscal 2026, after growing 0.0% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin widened from -12.1% in 2018 to 11.6%, and it earned 7.1% on its invested capital in the latest year. Of the $9.5 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 40.2% went back into the business and 31.3% to acquisitions; the share count fell 4.2%. On the accounting screens, it passes 5 of 8 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 2.39 is in the grey zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; none of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 20269.0B+0.0% a year over 9 years
Operating margin11.6%gross margin —
Return on invested capital7.1%5.1% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow after stock pay734.0M8.1% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDANet cash106.0M more cash than debt
Piotroski F-score5/8tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
-5B05B10B15B
2018Revenue 9.0BOperating income -1.1B
2018
2019Revenue 10.1BOperating income 354.0M
2020Revenue 9.0BOperating income -1.5B
2021Revenue 9.4BOperating income 450.0M
2022Revenue 10.4BOperating income 812.0M
2023Revenue 8.0BOperating income 380.0M
2024Revenue 8.3BOperating income 585.0M
2025Revenue 8.5BOperating income 923.0M
2026Revenue 9.0BOperating income 1.0B
2018201820192020202120222023202420252026
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+4.1%
-0.7%
+0.0%
Operating income
+40.1%
+18.4%
—
Net income
+56.7%
+11.7%
—
Earnings per share
+58.6%
+13.0%
—
Free cash flow per share
+4.1%
+0.3%
+8.9%
Dividend per share
+6.7%
+5.9%
+3.4%
Shares
-1.2%
-1.2%
-0.5%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow
-20%-10%0%10%20%
2018Operating -12.1%Net -16.8%Free cash flow 4.4%
2018
2019Operating 3.5%Net 1.5%Free cash flow 3.5%
2020Operating -16.9%Net -14.1%Free cash flow 3.8%
2021Operating 4.8%Net 3.5%Free cash flow 9.1%
2022Operating 7.8%Net 6.0%Free cash flow 8.2%
2023Operating 4.7%Net 1.9%Free cash flow 9.3%
2024Operating 7.1%Net 3.2%Free cash flow 9.0%
2025Operating 10.9%Net 14.0%Free cash flow 6.8%
2026Operating 11.6%Net 6.3%Free cash flow 9.0%
2018201820192020202120222023202420252026
Return on invested capital
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 9.2%
-20%-10%0%10%
2018Return on invested capital -12.8%
2018
2019Return on invested capital 2.2%
2020Return on invested capital -17.5%
2021Return on invested capital 3.7%
2022Return on invested capital 6.7%
2023Return on invested capital 2.1%
2024Return on invested capital 3.7%
2025Return on invested capital 6.0%
2026Return on invested capital 7.1%
2018201820192020202120222023202420252026
Economic profit
Economic profit
-3B-2B-1B0
2018Economic profit -2.5B
2018
2019Economic profit -747.8M
2020Economic profit -2.4B
2021Economic profit -580.1M
2022Economic profit -279.7M
2023Economic profit -787.8M
2024Economic profit -562.3M
2025Economic profit -340.6M
2026Economic profit -225.3M
2018201820192020202120222023202420252026
(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.
Return on equity
6.7%
Return on assets
3.7%
Asset turnover
0.58×
Overheads (SG&A)
38.9% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
-2B-1B01B2B
2018Net income -1.5BFree cash flow 393.0MAfter stock-based pay 317.0M
2018
2019Net income 155.0MFree cash flow 356.0MAfter stock-based pay 283.0M
2020Net income -1.3BFree cash flow 342.0MAfter stock-based pay 273.0M
2021Net income 330.0MFree cash flow 847.0MAfter stock-based pay 719.0M
2022Net income 623.0MFree cash flow 855.0MAfter stock-based pay 796.0M
2023Net income 149.0MFree cash flow 745.0MAfter stock-based pay 658.0M
2024Net income 266.0MFree cash flow 741.0MAfter stock-based pay 650.0M
2025Net income 1.2BFree cash flow 571.0MAfter stock-based pay 487.0M
2026Net income 573.0MFree cash flow 811.0MAfter stock-based pay 734.0M
2018201820192020202120222023202420252026
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2018–2026
9.5B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 40%3.8B
Acquisitions 31%3.0B
Dividends 16%1.6B
Share buybacks 14%1.3B
More than it generated: funded with cash or new debt -2%-176.0M
Over the same years it paid 744.0M in stock. The share count fell 4.2%. 586.0M of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
-$4-$2$0$2$4
2018Earnings per share $-2.60Free cash flow per share $0.67Dividend per share $0.27
2018
2019Earnings per share $0.26Free cash flow per share $0.61Dividend per share $0.27
2020Earnings per share $-2.16Free cash flow per share $0.58Dividend per share $0.27
2021Earnings per share $0.56Free cash flow per share $1.43Dividend per share $0.27
2022Earnings per share $1.05Free cash flow per share $1.44Dividend per share $0.30
2023Earnings per share $0.26Free cash flow per share $1.29Dividend per share $0.30
2024Earnings per share $0.46Free cash flow per share $1.29Dividend per share $0.30
2025Earnings per share $2.07Free cash flow per share $1.00Dividend per share $0.32
2026Earnings per share $1.03Free cash flow per share $1.45Dividend per share $0.37
2018201820192020202120222023202420252026
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
550M560M570M580M590M600M
2018Diluted shares 582.7M
2018
2019Diluted shares 587.9M
2020Diluted shares 587.9M
2021Diluted shares 593.4M
2022Diluted shares 592.5M
2023Diluted shares 578.8M
2024Diluted shares 573.5M
2025Diluted shares 569.9M
2026Diluted shares 558.4M
2018201820192020202120222023202420252026
Debt and liquidity
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
-0.5B00.5B1.0B1.5B
2018Net debt -82.0M
2018
2019Net debt -190.0M
2020Net debt -258.0M
2021Net debt 77.0M
2022Net debt 1.2B
2023Net debt 1.2B
2024Net debt 230.0M
2025Net debt -441.0M
2026Net debt -106.0M
2018201820192020202120222023202420252026
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
-0.1×
Interest coverage
— operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
1.62 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
— collects in 71d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
5of 8 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✕Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforefailed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✕Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellfailed
✕More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforefailed
✓No new sharesShare count did not growpassed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
2.39grey zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets 0.11 × 6.56+0.73
Retained earnings ÷ assets -0.02 × 3.26-0.07
Operating income ÷ assets 0.07 × 6.72+0.45
Equity ÷ liabilities 1.21 × 1.05+1.28
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-2.57below the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 1.05+0.97
Gross margin slipping 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.53
Soft assets 1.03+0.42
Sales growth 1.07+0.95
Slower depreciation 1.00+0.11
Overheads vs sales 1.00-0.17
Profit not in cash -0.04-0.20
Leverage rising 1.04-0.34
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
None of the six cross-checks fires for the latest year: receivables and inventory move with revenue, profit turns into cash, investment keeps up with depreciation, the tax rate is ordinary and debt is moderate.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
Value per share, with these assumptions$11.71discounted at 9.2% a year · 52% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
11.4×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
4.2×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
0.7×
Free cash flow yield
11.2%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today3.1B
Everything after, today3.3B
The whole business6.4B
Plus net cash106.0M
What belongs to shareholders6.5B
Divided among 558.4M shares: <strong>$11.71</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
0200M400M600M800M
2018Reported 317.0M
2018
2019Reported 283.0M
2020Reported 273.0M
2021Reported 719.0M
2022Reported 796.0M
2023Reported 658.0M
2024Reported 650.0M
2025Reported 487.0M
2026Reported 734.0M
2027Projected 475.1M
2028Projected 474.3M
2029Projected 475.1M
2030Projected 477.5M
2031Projected 481.5M
2032Projected 487.1M
2033Projected 494.4M
2034Projected 503.5M
2035Projected 514.4M
2036Projected 527.2M
2018201920212023202520272029203120332035
Year by year
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
2036
Revenue
9.0B
9.0B
9.0B
9.0B
9.1B
9.2B
9.3B
9.5B
9.7B
10.0B
Growth
-0.5%
-0.2%
0.2%
0.5%
0.8%
1.2%
1.5%
1.8%
2.2%
2.5%
Cash margin
5.3%
5.3%
5.3%
5.3%
5.3%
5.3%
5.3%
5.3%
5.3%
5.3%
Free cash flow
475.1M
474.3M
475.1M
477.5M
481.5M
487.1M
494.4M
503.5M
514.4M
527.2M
Worth today
435.1M
397.7M
364.8M
335.7M
309.9M
287.1M
266.9M
248.8M
232.8M
218.5M
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
8.2%
12
13
14
15
16
8.7%
11
12
13
13
14
9.2%
11
11
12
12
13
9.7%
10
10
11
12
12
10.2%
9
10
10
11
11
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
-4.5%
-2.5%
-0.5%
1.5%
3.5%
4.2%
8
9
10
11
12
4.8%
9
10
11
12
13
5.3%
10
11
12
13
14
5.8%
11
12
13
14
15
6.3%
11
12
13
15
16
All the inputs moving at once
5,000 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 2.0%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$7.20
Median$11.69
90th percentile$17.79
$10.00$20.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$9.27</b> and <b>$14.60</b>; one in ten below $7.20, one in ten above $17.79.
Does the long run make sense?
4.8×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 4.8 times that year's EBITDA.
7%To grow 2.5% forever while reinvesting 36% of its after-tax operating profit, the business must earn 7% on the new capital — it has earned 5% on average over the last five years.
52%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 1 filings by 1 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market$526,3941 sale(s) by 1 insider(s)
Under pre-arranged plans0%of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.