NATL · Technology(calculating & accounting machines (no electronic computers)) · 9 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
NCR Atleos Corp reported revenue of $4.4 billion in fiscal 2025. Of the $1.8 billion its operations generated over 9 years, 137.3% went to acquisitions and 25.3% back into the business. On the accounting screens, it passes 5 of 8 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 0.73 is in the distress zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; 2 of the six cross-checks between its statements fire.
Revenue, fiscal 20254.4B
Operating margin11.0%gross margin —
Return on invested capital13.0%11.0% on average over 2 years
Free cash flow after stock pay205.0M4.7% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA3.0×net debt 2.3B
Piotroski F-score5/8tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
02B4B6B
2020
2021Revenue 3.5BOperating income 248.0M
2022Revenue 4.1BOperating income 269.0M
2023Revenue 4.2BOperating income 263.0M
2024
2024
2024
2024Revenue 4.3BOperating income 437.0M
2025Revenue 4.4BOperating income 478.0M
202020212022202320242024202420242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
8 yrs
Revenue
—
+0.8%
—
Operating income
—
+12.7%
—
Free cash flow per share
—
-2.0%
—
Shares
—
+1.4%
—
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow
-5%0%5%10%15%
2020
2021Operating 7.0%Net 5.2%Free cash flow 10.4%
2022Operating 6.5%Net 2.6%Free cash flow 5.2%
2023Operating 6.3%Net -3.6%Free cash flow 5.9%
2024
2024
2024
2024Operating 10.2%Net 1.9%Free cash flow 6.0%
2025Operating 11.0%Net 3.7%Free cash flow 5.5%
202020212022202320242024202420242025
Return on invested capital
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 8.6%
-20%-10%0%10%20%
2020
2021
2022
2023Return on invested capital -13.4%
2024
2024
2024
2024Return on invested capital 9.0%
2025Return on invested capital 13.0%
202020212022202320242024202420242025
Economic profit
Economic profit
-750M-500M-250M0250M
2020
2021
2022
2023Economic profit -718.6M
2024
2024
2024
2024Economic profit 10.7M
2025Economic profit 137.0M
202020212022202320242024202420242025
(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.
Return on equity
40.2%
Return on assets
2.9%
Asset turnover
0.77×
Research & development
1.6% of revenue
Overheads (SG&A)
11.8% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
-200M0200M400M
2020
2021Net income 186.0MFree cash flow 369.0MAfter stock-based pay 287.0M
2022Net income 108.0MFree cash flow 216.0MAfter stock-based pay 150.0M
2023Net income -150.0MFree cash flow 247.0MAfter stock-based pay 179.0M
2024
2024
2024
2024Net income 80.0MFree cash flow 257.0MAfter stock-based pay 219.0M
2025Net income 162.0MFree cash flow 239.0MAfter stock-based pay 205.0M
202020212022202320242024202420242025
Where 9 years of operating cash went, 2020–2025
1.8B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 25%450.0M
Acquisitions 137%2.4B
Dividends 0%0
Share buybacks 2%28.0M
More than it generated: funded with cash or new debt -64%-1.1B
Over the same years it paid 288.0M in stock. The buybacks did not even cover what was handed out in stock.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
-$4-$2$0$2$4$6
2020
2021Earnings per share $2.63Free cash flow per share $5.23
2022Earnings per share $1.53Free cash flow per share $3.06
2023Earnings per share $-2.12Free cash flow per share $3.50
2024
2024
2024
2024Earnings per share $1.08Free cash flow per share $3.46
2025Earnings per share $2.14Free cash flow per share $3.16
202020212022202320242024202420242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
70M72M74M76M
2020
2021Diluted shares 70.6M
2022Diluted shares 70.6M
2023Diluted shares 70.6M
2024
2024
2024
2024Diluted shares 74.2M
2025Diluted shares 75.6M
202020212022202320242024202420242025
Debt and liquidity
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
01B2B3B
2020
2021
2022
2023Net debt 2.7B
2024
2024
2024
2024Net debt 2.5B
2025Net debt 2.3B
202020212022202320242024202420242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
3.0×
Interest coverage
2× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
0.96 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
— collects in 46d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
5of 8 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✓Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforepassed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✓Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellpassed
✕More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforefailed
✕No new sharesShare count did not growfailed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✕Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforefailed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
0.73distress zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets -0.01 × 6.56-0.09
Retained earnings ÷ assets 0.05 × 3.26+0.17
Operating income ÷ assets 0.08 × 6.72+0.57
Equity ÷ liabilities 0.08 × 1.05+0.08
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-2.67below the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 0.94+0.86
Gross margin slipping 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.53
Soft assets 0.98+0.40
Sales growth 1.01+0.90
Slower depreciation 1.07+0.12
Overheads vs sales 0.97-0.17
Profit not in cash -0.03-0.16
Leverage rising 0.97-0.32
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
Capital spending (117M) is well below depreciation (277M).
Benign
Mature assets, or a business that has become less capital-intensive.
Worrying
Under-investing: today's profit is being held up by consuming tomorrow's capacity.
Net debt is 3.0 times EBITDA.
Benign
A stable sector with predictable cash flows and comfortable maturities.
Worrying
Little room if earnings fall; the maturity schedule is what to check.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
Value per share, with these assumptions$81.76discounted at 8.6% a year · 56% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
38.2×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
11.2×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
1.9×
Free cash flow yield
3.3%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today3.8B
Everything after, today4.7B
The whole business8.5B
Minus net debt-2.3B
What belongs to shareholders6.2B
Divided among 75.6M shares: <strong>$81.76</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
0200M400M600M800M
2020
2021Reported 287.0M
2022Reported 150.0M
2023Reported 179.0M
2024
2024
2024
2024Reported 219.0M
2025Reported 205.0M
2026Projected 528.2M
2027Projected 539.1M
2028Projected 550.5M
2029Projected 562.4M
2030Projected 574.9M
2031Projected 588.0M
2032Projected 601.7M
2033Projected 616.1M
2034Projected 631.1M
2035Projected 646.9M
2020202220242024202520272029203120332035
Year by year
2026
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
Revenue
4.4B
4.5B
4.6B
4.7B
4.8B
4.9B
5.1B
5.2B
5.3B
5.4B
Growth
2.0%
2.1%
2.1%
2.2%
2.2%
2.3%
2.3%
2.4%
2.4%
2.5%
Cash margin
11.9%
11.9%
11.9%
11.9%
11.9%
11.9%
11.9%
11.9%
11.9%
11.9%
Free cash flow
528.2M
539.1M
550.5M
562.4M
574.9M
588.0M
601.7M
616.1M
631.1M
646.9M
Worth today
486.3M
456.9M
429.4M
403.9M
380.1M
357.9M
337.1M
317.8M
299.7M
282.8M
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
7.6%
85
94
103
115
130
8.1%
77
84
92
101
113
8.6%
69
75
82
90
99
9.1%
63
68
73
80
88
9.6%
57
61
66
72
78
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
-2.0%
0.0%
2.0%
4.0%
6.0%
9.5%
50
57
64
72
81
10.7%
57
65
73
82
92
11.9%
64
73
82
92
102
13.1%
71
81
90
101
113
14.3%
79
89
99
111
123
All the inputs moving at once
5,000 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 2.0%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$52.22
Median$81.92
90th percentile$128.09
$50.00$100.00$150.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$64.73</b> and <b>$103.31</b>; one in ten below $52.22, one in ten above $128.09.
Does the long run make sense?
11.5×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 11.5 times that year's EBITDA.
Free growthIn year 10 free cash flow is at or above after-tax operating profit, yet the model grows 2.5% forever. Growth needs reinvestment; this assumes it comes for free, which flatters the terminal value.
56%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 5 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market—none in the period
Under pre-arranged plans—of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.