MGEE · Utilities(electric, gas & sanitary services) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Of the $1.8 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 105.3% went back into the business and 29.6% to dividends; the share count rose 5.5%. On the accounting screens, it passes 5 of 7 Piotroski tests and its Altman Z'' of 1.82 is in the grey zone; none of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 2025—
Operating margin—gross margin —
Return on invested capital—
Free cash flow after stock pay-83.3M
Net debt ÷ EBITDA—net debt 808.2M
Piotroski F-score5/7tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
050M100M150M200M
2016Operating income 123.9M
2017Operating income 124.6M
2018Operating income 114.2M
2019Operating income 110.9M
2020Operating income 110.0M
2021Operating income 117.3M
2022Operating income 137.7M
2023Operating income 146.4M
2024Operating income 146.3M
2025Operating income 170.7M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Operating income
+7.4%
+9.2%
+3.6%
Net income
+7.0%
+8.0%
+6.7%
Earnings per share
+6.6%
+7.4%
+6.1%
Dividend per share
+5.2%
+4.9%
+4.9%
Shares
+0.4%
+0.5%
+0.6%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
Return on invested capital
Economic profit
Needs a cost of capital, which comes from the valuation below.
Return on equity
10.4%
Return on assets
4.3%
Asset turnover
—
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
-100M0100M200M
2016Net income 75.6MFree cash flow 64.2MAfter stock-based pay 61.1M
2017Net income 97.6MFree cash flow 23.2MAfter stock-based pay 22.2M
2018Net income 84.2MFree cash flow -59.2MAfter stock-based pay -60.3M
2019Net income 86.9MFree cash flow -33.6MAfter stock-based pay -36.6M
2020Net income 92.4MFree cash flow -30.7MAfter stock-based pay -32.0M
2021Net income 105.8MFree cash flow -15.6MAfter stock-based pay -18.5M
2022Net income 111.0MFree cash flow -21.3MAfter stock-based pay -22.6M
2023Net income 117.7MFree cash flow 15.5MAfter stock-based pay 12.8M
2024Net income 120.6MFree cash flow 40.9MAfter stock-based pay 36.4M
2025Net income 135.9MFree cash flow -80.0MAfter stock-based pay -83.3M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025
1.8B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 105%1.9B
Acquisitions 0%0
Dividends 30%534.7M
Share buybacks 0%0
More than it generated: funded with cash or new debt -35%-631.2M
Over the same years it paid 24.2M in stock. The share count rose 5.5%.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
-$4-$2$0$2$4
2016Earnings per share $2.18Free cash flow per share $1.85Dividend per share $1.21
2017Earnings per share $2.82Free cash flow per share $0.67Dividend per share $1.26
2018Earnings per share $2.43Free cash flow per share $-1.71Dividend per share $1.32
2019Earnings per share $2.51Free cash flow per share $-0.97Dividend per share $1.38
2020Earnings per share $2.60Free cash flow per share $-0.86Dividend per share $1.45
2021Earnings per share $2.92Free cash flow per share $-0.43Dividend per share $1.51
2022Earnings per share $3.07Free cash flow per share $-0.59Dividend per share $1.59
2023Earnings per share $3.25Free cash flow per share $0.43Dividend per share $1.67
2024Earnings per share $3.33Free cash flow per share $1.13Dividend per share $1.75
2025Earnings per share $3.72Free cash flow per share $-2.19Dividend per share $1.85
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
34.5M35.0M35.5M36.0M36.5M37.0M
2016Diluted shares 34.7M
2017Diluted shares 34.7M
2018Diluted shares 34.7M
2019Diluted shares 34.7M
2020Diluted shares 35.6M
2021Diluted shares 36.2M
2022Diluted shares 36.2M
2023Diluted shares 36.2M
2024Diluted shares 36.2M
2025Diluted shares 36.6M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Debt and liquidity
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
00.25B0.50B0.75B1.00B
2016Net debt 291.2M
2017Net debt 314.7M
2018Net debt 414.8M
2019Net debt 519.9M
2020Net debt 479.3M
2021Net debt 601.7M
2022Net debt 628.0M
2023Net debt 712.8M
2024Net debt 747.7M
2025Net debt 808.2M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
—
Interest coverage
5× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
0.77 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
—
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
5of 7 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✓Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforepassed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✓Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellpassed
✕More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforefailed
✕No new sharesShare count did not growfailed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
–Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year before — not reportedno data
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
1.82grey zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets -0.02 × 6.56-0.14
Retained earnings ÷ assets 0.26 × 3.26+0.86
Operating income ÷ assets 0.05 × 6.72+0.36
Equity ÷ liabilities 0.70 × 1.05+0.74
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
The accounts lack too many of the lines it needs.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
None of the six cross-checks fires for the latest year: receivables and inventory move with revenue, profit turns into cash, investment keeps up with depreciation, the tax rate is ordinary and debt is moderate.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
The SEC accounts lack the lines needed for revenue, free cash flow or the share count, so there is no DCF for this company.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 3 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market$71,4853 purchase(s) by 1 insider(s)
Sold on the open market—none in the period
Under pre-arranged plans—of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.