SphinxRisk
Create account
EN

Liquidia Corp

LQDA · Health care (pharmaceutical preparations) · 8 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31

Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›

Liquidia Corp reported revenue of $158.3 million in fiscal 2025. On the accounting screens, it passes 3 of 7 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of -4.36 is in the distress zone and its Beneish M-score is above the -1.78 line; 2 of the six cross-checks between its statements fire.

Revenue, fiscal 2025 158.3M  
Operating margin -32.5% gross margin —
Return on invested capital —  
Free cash flow after stock pay -69.5M -43.9% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA — net debt —
Piotroski F-score 3/7 tests of improvement passed

Share counts are in today's shares. The SEC's filings restate only recent years after a split, so these jumps were read as splits and the older years scaled to match — otherwise per-share figures would compare different units: 2-for-1 before fiscal 2020.

Is it growing?

Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.

RevenueOperating income
Compound growth a year
3 yrs5 yrs7 yrs
Revenue+115.0%+192.5%—
Shares+12.2%+20.5%—

Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.

Does it earn more than its capital costs?

Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.

GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow

Return on invested capital

Economic profit

Needs a cost of capital, which comes from the valuation below.

Return on equity
-154.0%
Return on assets
-21.0%
Asset turnover
0.48×
Research & development
24.8% of revenue
Overheads (SG&A)
99.3% of revenue

Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?

Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.

Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay

Per share

Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share

Shares outstanding

Diluted shares

How strong is the balance sheet?

Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.

Net debt
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
—
Interest coverage
-2× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
2.01 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
— collects in 125d

Three classic screens of the accounts

Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.

Piotroski F-score

Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.

3of 7 tests passed
  • ProfitableReturn on assets above zero failed
  • Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zero failed
  • Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year before passed
  • Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals) passed
  • Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fell — not reported no data
  • More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year before failed
  • No new sharesShare count did not grow failed
  • Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reported no data
  • Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year before passed

Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.

Altman Z''-score

Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?

-4.36distress zone
  • Working capital ÷ assets 0.42 × 6.56+2.75
  • Retained earnings ÷ assets -1.91 × 3.26-6.23
  • Operating income ÷ assets -0.16 × 6.72-1.05
  • Equity ÷ liabilities 0.16 × 1.05+0.17

Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.

Beneish M-score

Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?

6.69above the -1.78 line
  • Receivables vs sales 1.76+1.62
  • Gross margin slipping 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.53
  • Soft assets 0.81+0.33
  • Sales growth 11.31+10.09
  • Slower depreciation 1.83+0.21
  • Overheads vs sales 0.17-0.03
  • Profit not in cash -0.10-0.47
  • Leverage rising 2.28-0.75

Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.

Where the statements disagree

Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.

Receivables are growing 1889% against revenue growing 1031%.

Benign

A shift towards larger customers on longer terms, or sales concentrated at the end of the period.

Worrying

Sales are being made on looser credit, or revenue has been booked that may never be collected.

Inventory is growing 9776% against revenue growing 1031%.

Benign

Stocking up for a launch, or securing supply.

Worrying

Demand is softening; discounts or write-downs tend to follow.

What is it worth, under which assumptions?

A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.

Revenue
M $

revenue of fiscal 2025

%

revenue grew +192.5% a year over the last 5 years; it fades to the terminal rate by the last year

yrs

ten years for growth to fade to the terminal rate

Cash from each sale
%

no cash flow lines to measure it

%

the margin in year ten; by default the business keeps today's

The long run
%

growth forever after year ten, below the risk-free rate: no company outgrows the economy forever

The discount rate
%

10-year US Treasury par yield (U.S. Treasury), 2026-09-25

not measured on this public page, which uses only public filings: 1.0 assumes it moves like the market. Sign in to measure it from prices

%

the extra return demanded for holding shares; it cannot be measured, and 4–6% is the common range

%

no interest line: the risk-free rate + 1.5 points

%

no tax line: the US federal rate, 21%

The price
$

Type the price you see at your broker. It is used only for the reverse questions: what that price implies.

Back to the defaults

SEC from the filings Treasury the 10-year yield measured from prices assumption cannot be measured yours you changed it

The SEC accounts lack the lines needed for revenue, free cash flow or the share count, so there is no DCF for this company.

What it has filed lately

The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.

What its own directors and officers did

Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 6 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.

Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market$16.5M10 sale(s) by 6 insider(s)
Under pre-arranged plans60%of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
Other lines120 awards · 12 option exercises · 0 tax withholdings
DateWhoWhatSharesPriceValueHolds after
14 Sep 2026 Singh RamanDirector Exercised options 8,468 $9.31 $78,799 53,105
14 Sep 2026 Singh RamanDirector Sold on the open market 8,468 $66.16 $560,243 44,637
11 Sep 2026 Singh RamanDirector Exercised options 8,468 $9.31 $78,799 53,661
11 Sep 2026 Singh RamanDirector Sold on the open market 9,024 $68.62 $619,210 44,637
11 Sep 2026 Singh RamanDirector Exercised options 556 $8.63 $4,798 45,193
1 Sep 2026 Krepp SarahChief Human Resource Officer Sold on the open market · pre-arranged plan 274 $67.76 $18,566 117,308
21 Aug 2026 Adair JasonChief Business Officer Exercised options 9,000 $9.31 $83,790 225,438
21 Aug 2026 Adair JasonChief Business Officer Exercised options 11,799 $9.31 $109,849 237,237
21 Aug 2026 Adair JasonChief Business Officer Exercised options 10,762 $14.20 $152,820 247,999
21 Aug 2026 Adair JasonChief Business Officer Exercised options 238 $14.20 $3,380 248,237
21 Aug 2026 Adair JasonChief Business Officer Sold on the open market · pre-arranged plan 31,799 $69.09 $2.2M 216,438
21 Aug 2026 Adair JasonChief Business Officer Sold on the open market · pre-arranged plan 41,832 $69.09 $2.9M 174,606
20 Aug 2026 Rielly-Gauvin KatherineDirector Sold on the open market · pre-arranged plan 18,393 $72.23 $1.3M 44,637
20 Aug 2026 Rielly-Gauvin KatherineDirector Exercised options 11,727 $2.51 $29,435 56,364
20 Aug 2026 Rielly-Gauvin KatherineDirector Exercised options 6,666 $2.59 $17,265 63,030
19 Aug 2026 Rielly-Gauvin KatherineDirector Exercised options 23,455 $2.51 $58,872 68,092
19 Aug 2026 Rielly-Gauvin KatherineDirector Exercised options 13,334 $2.59 $34,535 81,426
19 Aug 2026 Rielly-Gauvin KatherineDirector Sold on the open market · pre-arranged plan 36,789 $74.99 $2.8M 44,637
19 Aug 2026 Saggar RajeevChief Medical Officer Sold on the open market 50,000 $74.06 $3.7M 142,265
19 Aug 2026 Saggar RajeevChief Medical Officer Exercised options 50,000 $3.73 $186,500 192,265
17 Aug 2026 Saggar RajeevChief Medical Officer Sold on the open market 29,534 $76.84 $2.3M 142,265
27 Jul 2026 Boyle DanaChief Accounting Officer Sold on the open market · pre-arranged plan 1,600 $87.53 $140,048 167,919

A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.

Companies like this one

Same SEC industry (pharmaceutical preparations) first, then the rest of health care.

Every figure, year by year

8 fiscal years · 30 measures
20182019202020212022202320242025
Size
Revenue—8.1M739,62812.9M15.9M17.5M14.0M158.3M
Revenue growth——-90.8%+1637.8%+24.0%+9.7%-20.0%+1031.2%
Operating income—-46.8M-59.1M-33.8M-38.8M-73.4M-121.3M-51.4M
Net income—-47.6M-59.8M-34.6M-41.0M-78.5M-128.3M-68.9M
Margins
Gross margin——67.9%76.5%82.1%83.5%58.0%—
Operating margin—-580.1%-7989.0%-263.0%-243.3%-419.6%-866.6%-32.5%
Net margin—-589.5%-8080.1%-269.0%-257.4%-448.9%-916.6%-43.5%
Free cash flow margin—-621.1%-7422.2%-265.6%-183.1%-245.0%-702.9%-25.3%
R&D ÷ revenue—501.6%4356.6%159.6%122.0%247.3%341.8%24.8%
SG&A ÷ revenue—168.4%3700.3%179.8%203.4%255.8%582.8%99.3%
Cash
Free cash flow—-50.1M-54.9M-34.1M-29.2M-42.9M-98.4M-40.0M
Stock-based pay—3.4M4.0M6.7M9.3M10.1M18.8M29.5M
Free cash flow after stock pay—-53.5M-58.9M-40.9M-38.5M-52.9M-117.2M-69.5M
Free cash flow to the firm————————
Free cash flow ÷ net income—1.1×0.9×1.0×0.7×0.5×0.8×0.6×
Capex ÷ revenue—22.9%101.7%0.8%3.7%7.4%35.4%2.7%
Returns
Return on invested capital————————
Return on equity—-136.2%-84.1%-53.0%-45.4%-166.0%-161.6%-154.0%
Return on assets—-69.1%-60.0%-36.9%-31.7%-66.3%-55.7%-21.0%
Asset turnover—0.1×0.0×0.1×0.1×0.1×0.1×0.5×
Economic profit————————
Per share
Earnings per share—$-1.29$-1.76$-0.70$-0.67$-1.21$-1.63$-0.80
Free cash flow per share—$-1.36$-1.62$-0.69$-0.48$-0.66$-1.25$-0.47
Dividend per share————————
Payout ratio————————
Book value per share—$1.24$1.64$1.25$1.40$0.69$0.94$0.51
Diluted shares—37.0M33.9M49.7M61.0M65.0M78.7M86.1M
Balance sheet
Net debt—15.9M-55.0M-47.1M-73.4M———
Net debt ÷ EBITDA—-0.4×1.0×1.7×2.1×———
Interest coverage—-34.1×-68.9×-44.4×-16.6×-11.7×-8.3×-2.1×
Current ratio—3.3×5.6×8.4×11.3×4.8×4.4×2.0×
Cash conversion cycle (days)——————-205—
Scores
Piotroski F-score—0554323
Altman Z''—-9.92-6.79-7.01-3.79-11.33-6.79-4.36
Beneish M——-5.1312.24-2.63-3.99-3.586.69

Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.