KROS · Health care(pharmaceutical preparations) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Keros Therapeutics, Inc. reported revenue of $244.1 million in fiscal 2025. On the accounting screens, it passes 2 of 2 Piotroski tests and its Altman Z'' of 11.55 is in the safe zone; 1 of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 2025244.1M
Operating margin27.7%gross margin —
Return on invested capital—
Free cash flow after stock pay77.3M31.7% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA—net debt —
Piotroski F-score2/2tests of improvement passed
Share counts are in today's shares. The SEC's filings restate only recent years after a split, so these jumps were read as splits and the older years scaled to match — otherwise per-share figures would compare different units:
1-for-2 before fiscal 2025; 10-for-1 before fiscal 2020.
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
-400.0M-200.0M0200.0M400.0M
2018
2019Revenue 10.0MOperating income -10.6M
2020Revenue 0Operating income -46.7M
2021Revenue 20.1MOperating income -56.4M
2022Revenue 0Operating income -114.8M
2023Revenue 151,000Operating income -169.9M
2024Revenue 3.5MOperating income -210.8M
2025
2025
2025Revenue 244.1MOperating income 67.6M
2018201920202021202220232024202520252025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+309.7%
—
—
Shares
+0.4%
+8.4%
—
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 10.2%
0.0%5.0%10.0%15.0%
2018
2019
2020
2021
2022
2023
2024
2025
2025
2025
2018201920202021202220232024202520252025
Economic profit
Needs a cost of capital, which comes from the valuation below.
Return on equity
28.7%
Return on assets
25.7%
Asset turnover
0.72×
Research & development
53.1% of revenue
Overheads (SG&A)
19.2% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
-200.0M-100.0M0100.0M200.0M
2018
2019Net income -12.3MFree cash flow -16.3MAfter stock-based pay -16.3M
2020Net income -45.4MFree cash flow -37.2MAfter stock-based pay -41.3M
2021Net income -58.7MFree cash flow -63.2MAfter stock-based pay -74.9M
2022Net income -104.7MFree cash flow -71.3MAfter stock-based pay -90.0M
2023Net income -153.0MFree cash flow -127.0MAfter stock-based pay -155.7M
2024Net income -187.4MFree cash flow -162.8MAfter stock-based pay -197.7M
2025
2025
2025Net income 87.0MFree cash flow 106.0MAfter stock-based pay 77.3M
2018201920202021202220232024202520252025
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$-6.00$-4.00$-2.00$0.00$2.00$4.00
2018
2019Earnings per share $-1.02Free cash flow per share $-1.34
2020Earnings per share $-2.93Free cash flow per share $-2.40
2021Earnings per share $-2.52Free cash flow per share $-2.71
2022Earnings per share $-4.15Free cash flow per share $-2.82
2023Earnings per share $-5.20Free cash flow per share $-4.31
2024Earnings per share $-5.00Free cash flow per share $-4.35
2025
2025
2025Earnings per share $2.30Free cash flow per share $2.80
2018201920202021202220232024202520252025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
10.0M20.0M30.0M40.0M
2018
2019Diluted shares 12.1M
2020Diluted shares 15.5M
2021Diluted shares 23.3M
2022Diluted shares 25.2M
2023Diluted shares 29.4M
2024Diluted shares 37.4M
2025
2025
2025Diluted shares 37.9M
2018201920202021202220232024202520252025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
—
Interest coverage
— operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
15.45 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
— collects in 5d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
2of 2 tests passed
–ProfitableReturn on assets above zero — not reportedno data
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
–Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
–Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fell — not reportedno data
–More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year before — not reportedno data
–No new sharesShare count did not grow — not reportedno data
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
–Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year before — not reportedno data
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
11.55safe zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets 0.87 × 6.56+5.73
Retained earnings ÷ assets -1.43 × 3.26-4.65
Operating income ÷ assets 0.20 × 6.72+1.34
Equity ÷ liabilities 8.69 × 1.05+9.12
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
The accounts lack too many of the lines it needs.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
The effective tax rate is 5.3%.
Benign
A favourable geographic mix, or legitimate tax credits.
Worrying
Not sustainable; projecting it forward inflates the valuation.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
Value per share, with these assumptions$30.02discounted at 10.2% a year · 56% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
13.1×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
16.5×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
4.7×
Free cash flow yield
6.8%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today500.8M
Everything after, today635.6M
The whole business1.1B
Minus net debt-0
What belongs to shareholders1.1B
Divided among 37.9M shares: <strong>$30.02</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
-200.0M-100.0M0100.0M200.0M
2018
2019Reported -16.3M
2020Reported -41.3M
2021Reported -74.9M
2022Reported -90.0M
2023Reported -155.7M
2024Reported -197.7M
2025
2025
2025Reported 77.3M
2026Projected 44.1M
2027Projected 54.0M
2028Projected 64.8M
2029Projected 76.1M
2030Projected 87.5M
2031Projected 98.4M
2032Projected 108.3M
2033Projected 116.4M
2034Projected 122.2M
2035Projected 125.3M
2018202020222024202520262028203020322034
Year by year
2026
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
Revenue
305.1M
373.7M
448.5M
526.9M
606.0M
681.7M
749.9M
806.1M
846.5M
867.6M
Growth
25.0%
22.5%
20.0%
17.5%
15.0%
12.5%
10.0%
7.5%
5.0%
2.5%
Cash margin
14.4%
14.4%
14.4%
14.4%
14.4%
14.4%
14.4%
14.4%
14.4%
14.4%
Free cash flow
44.1M
54.0M
64.8M
76.1M
87.5M
98.4M
108.3M
116.4M
122.2M
125.3M
Worth today
40.0M
44.5M
48.4M
51.6M
53.9M
55.1M
55.0M
53.6M
51.1M
47.6M
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
9.2%
31
33
35
38
40
9.7%
29
31
32
34
37
10.2%
27
28
30
32
34
10.7%
25
27
28
29
31
11.2%
24
25
26
27
29
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
21.0%
23.0%
25.0%
27.0%
29.0%
11.6%
22
23
25
27
29
13.0%
24
26
28
30
32
14.4%
26
28
30
32
35
15.9%
28
30
32
35
38
17.3%
30
32
35
38
41
All the inputs moving at once
5,000 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 2.2%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$22.68
Median$30.05
90th percentile$40.68
$20.00$30.00$40.00$50.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$25.83</b> and <b>$35.04</b>; one in ten below $22.68, one in ten above $40.68.
Does the long run make sense?
6.8×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 6.8 times that year's EBITDA.
6%To grow 2.5% forever while reinvesting 45% of its after-tax operating profit, the business must earn 6% on the new capital.
56%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
What lenders charge, after the tax saving on interest: 6.67% × (1 − 5.3%) = <strong>6.32%</strong>.
Weighted by how much of each the company uses (book value (no price given)): <strong>10.17%</strong>, the rate every future cash flow is discounted at.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 5 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market$20,8802 purchase(s) by 1 insider(s)
Sold on the open market$101,1364 sale(s) by 4 insider(s)
Under pre-arranged plans25%of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Companies like this one
Same SEC industry (pharmaceutical preparations) first, then the rest of health care.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.