IRDM · Communication(communications services, nec) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Iridium Communications Inc. reported revenue of $871.7 million in fiscal 2025, after growing 8.1% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin narrowed from 40.7% in 2016 to 27.1%, and it earned 8.6% on its invested capital in the latest year. Of the $2.9 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 58.3% went back into the business and 43.0% to buybacks; the share count fell 13.6%. On the accounting screens, it passes 7 of 8 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 0.75 is in the distress zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; 2 of the six cross-checks between its statements fire.
Revenue, fiscal 2025871.7M+8.1% a year over 9 years
Operating margin27.1%gross margin —
Return on invested capital8.6%8.8% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow after stock pay248.2M28.5% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA3.7×net debt 1.7B
Piotroski F-score7/8tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
0250.0M500.0M750.0M1.0B
2016Revenue 433.6MOperating income 176.4M
2017Revenue 448.0MOperating income 115.5M
2018Revenue 523.0MOperating income 41.7M
2019Revenue 560.4MOperating income 10.1M
2020Revenue 583.4MOperating income 35.5M
2021Revenue 614.5MOperating income 46.3M
2022Revenue 721.0MOperating income 76.7M
2023Revenue 790.7MOperating income 81.6M
2024Revenue 830.7MOperating income 200.4M
2025Revenue 871.7MOperating income 236.0M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+6.5%
+8.4%
+8.1%
Operating income
+45.5%
+46.1%
+3.3%
Net income
+135.8%
—
+0.3%
Earnings per share
+151.1%
—
+2.0%
Free cash flow per share
+9.8%
+11.9%
—
Shares
-6.1%
-4.2%
-1.6%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 5.4%
0.0%10.0%20.0%30.0%
2016Return on invested capital 3.5%
2017Return on invested capital 0.2%
2018Return on invested capital 1.6%
2019Return on invested capital 0.4%
2020Return on invested capital 1.6%
2021Return on invested capital 2.7%
2022Return on invested capital 2.9%
2023Return on invested capital 22.5%
2024Return on invested capital 7.5%
2025Return on invested capital 8.6%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Economic profit
-200.0M0200.0M400.0M600.0M
2016Economic profit -60.8M
2017Economic profit -174.1M
2018Economic profit -136.8M
2019Economic profit -163.0M
2020Economic profit -116.1M
2021Economic profit -79.0M
2022Economic profit -67.5M
2023Economic profit 404.3M
2024Economic profit 49.5M
2025Economic profit 70.3M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.
Return on equity
24.7%
Return on assets
4.5%
Asset turnover
0.34×
Research & development
2.3% of revenue
Overheads (SG&A)
18.1% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
-200.0M0200.0M400.0M
2016Net income 111.0MFree cash flow -180.5MAfter stock-based pay -194.2M
2017Net income 233.9MFree cash flow -140.5MAfter stock-based pay -156.4M
2018Net income -13.4MFree cash flow -127.7MAfter stock-based pay -142.2M
2019Net income -162.0MFree cash flow 80.3MAfter stock-based pay 65.2M
2020Net income -56.1MFree cash flow 211.1MAfter stock-based pay 194.4M
2021Net income -9.3MFree cash flow 260.7MAfter stock-based pay 233.9M
2022Net income 8.7MFree cash flow 273.5MAfter stock-based pay 229.7M
2023Net income 15.4MFree cash flow 241.4MAfter stock-based pay 184.0M
2024Net income 112.8MFree cash flow 306.1MAfter stock-based pay 242.6M
2025Net income 114.4MFree cash flow 299.8MAfter stock-based pay 248.2M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025
2.9B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 58%1.7B
Acquisitions 0%0
Dividends 7%192.4M
Share buybacks 43%1.3B
More than it generated: funded with cash or new debt -8%-229.9M
Over the same years it paid 319.0M in stock. The share count fell 13.6%. 942.7M of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$-2.00$0.00$2.00$4.00
2016Earnings per share $0.89Free cash flow per share $-1.45
2017Earnings per share $1.83Free cash flow per share $-1.10
2018Earnings per share $-0.12Free cash flow per share $-1.17
2019Earnings per share $-1.29Free cash flow per share $0.64
2020Earnings per share $-0.42Free cash flow per share $1.58
2021Earnings per share $-0.07Free cash flow per share $1.95Dividend per share $0.00
2022Earnings per share $0.07Free cash flow per share $2.10Dividend per share $0.00
2023Earnings per share $0.12Free cash flow per share $1.90Dividend per share $0.51
2024Earnings per share $0.94Free cash flow per share $2.55Dividend per share $0.54
2025Earnings per share $1.06Free cash flow per share $2.78Dividend per share $0.58
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
100.0M110.0M120.0M130.0M140.0M
2016Diluted shares 124.9M
2017Diluted shares 128.1M
2018Diluted shares 109.0M
2019Diluted shares 125.2M
2020Diluted shares 133.5M
2021Diluted shares 133.5M
2022Diluted shares 130.1M
2023Diluted shares 127.2M
2024Diluted shares 119.8M
2025Diluted shares 107.8M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
0500.0M1.0B1.5B2.0B
2016Net debt 1.4B
2017Net debt 1.4B
2018Net debt 1.7B
2019Net debt 1.6B
2020Net debt 1.4B
2021Net debt 1.3B
2022Net debt 1.3B
2023Net debt 1.4B
2024Net debt 1.7B
2025Net debt 1.7B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
3.7×
Interest coverage
16× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
2.48 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
— collects in 39d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
7of 8 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✓Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforepassed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✕Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellfailed
✓More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforepassed
✓No new sharesShare count did not growpassed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
0.75distress zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets 0.07 × 6.56+0.43
Retained earnings ÷ assets -0.17 × 3.26-0.54
Operating income ÷ assets 0.09 × 6.72+0.63
Equity ÷ liabilities 0.22 × 1.05+0.23
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-3.06below the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 0.90+0.83
Gross margin slipping 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.53
Soft assets 0.98+0.40
Sales growth 1.05+0.94
Slower depreciation 0.93+0.11
Overheads vs sales 0.89-0.15
Profit not in cash -0.11-0.53
Leverage rising 1.02-0.33
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
Capital spending (100M) is well below depreciation (210M).
Benign
Mature assets, or a business that has become less capital-intensive.
Worrying
Under-investing: today's profit is being held up by consuming tomorrow's capacity.
Net debt is 3.7 times EBITDA.
Benign
A stable sector with predictable cash flows and comfortable maturities.
Worrying
Little room if earnings fall; the maturity schedule is what to check.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
77% of the value comes from after year 10: this valuation rests mostly on the long run, which is exactly what is least known.
Value per share, with these assumptions$158.05discounted at 5.4% a year · 77% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
149.0×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
41.9×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
21.5×
Free cash flow yield
1.5%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today4.3B
Everything after, today14.4B
The whole business18.7B
Minus net debt-1.7B
What belongs to shareholders17.0B
Divided among 107.8M shares: <strong>$158.05</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
-250.0M0250.0M500.0M750.0M
2016Reported -194.2M
2017Reported -156.4M
2018Reported -142.2M
2019Reported 65.2M
2020Reported 194.4M
2021Reported 233.9M
2022Reported 229.7M
2023Reported 184.0M
2024Reported 242.6M
2025Reported 248.2M
2026Projected 443.8M
2027Projected 478.6M
2028Projected 512.9M
2029Projected 546.3M
2030Projected 578.1M
2031Projected 608.0M
2032Projected 635.4M
2033Projected 659.7M
2034Projected 680.6M
2035Projected 697.6M
2016201820202022202420262028203020322034
Year by year
2026
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
Revenue
945.8M
1.0B
1.1B
1.2B
1.2B
1.3B
1.4B
1.4B
1.5B
1.5B
Growth
8.5%
7.8%
7.2%
6.5%
5.8%
5.2%
4.5%
3.8%
3.2%
2.5%
Cash margin
46.9%
46.9%
46.9%
46.9%
46.9%
46.9%
46.9%
46.9%
46.9%
46.9%
Free cash flow
443.8M
478.6M
512.9M
546.3M
578.1M
608.0M
635.4M
659.7M
680.6M
697.6M
Worth today
421.0M
430.6M
437.7M
442.1M
443.8M
442.7M
438.8M
432.2M
422.9M
411.1M
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
4.4%
165
198
250
337
517
4.9%
138
161
194
245
330
5.4%
118
135
158
191
240
5.9%
102
115
132
155
187
6.4%
90
100
113
130
152
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
4.5%
6.5%
8.5%
10.5%
12.5%
37.5%
104
115
127
140
154
42.2%
117
129
143
157
172
46.9%
130
143
158
174
191
51.6%
143
158
174
191
210
56.3%
156
172
189
208
228
All the inputs moving at once
4,770 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 7.0%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$93.40
Median$154.60
90th percentile$289.59
$200.00$400.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$117.62</b> and <b>$211.15</b>; one in ten below $93.40, one in ten above $289.59.
Does the long run make sense?
32.1×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 32.1 times that year's EBITDA.
Free growthIn year 10 free cash flow is at or above after-tax operating profit, yet the model grows 2.5% forever. Growth needs reinvestment; this assumes it comes for free, which flatters the terminal value.
77%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 4 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market$362,7292 sale(s) by 1 insider(s)
Under pre-arranged plans0%of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.