HUT · Financials(finance services) · 7 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Hut 8 Corp. reported revenue of $235.1 million in fiscal 2025. On the accounting screens, it passes 2 of 8 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 0.70 is in the distress zone and its Beneish M-score is above the -1.78 line; 2 of the six cross-checks between its statements fire.
Revenue, fiscal 2025235.1M
Operating margin-136.9%gross margin 54.2%
Return on invested capital—14.2% on average over 2 years
Free cash flow—
Net debt ÷ EBITDA—net debt —
Piotroski F-score2/8tests of improvement passed
Share counts are in today's shares. The SEC's filings restate only recent years after a split, so these jumps were read as splits and the older years scaled to match — otherwise per-share figures would compare different units:
2-for-1 before fiscal 2024.
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
-400M-200M0200M400M600M
2021
2022Revenue 73.7MOperating income -19.8M
2022
2023Revenue 82.2MOperating income -68.7M
2023Revenue 96.0MOperating income 9.4M
2024Revenue 162.4MOperating income 460.5M
2025Revenue 235.1MOperating income -322.0M
2021202220222023202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
6 yrs
Revenue
+42.0%
+26.1%
—
Shares
+8.3%
+9.2%
—
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow
-200%0%200%400%
2021
2022Gross 65.0%Operating -26.9%Net -43.1%
2022
2023Gross 47.5%Operating -83.6%Net -79.9%
2023Gross 43.6%Operating 9.8%Net 22.7%
2024Gross 46.6%Operating 283.6%Net 204.4%
2025Gross 54.2%Operating -136.9%Net -96.2%
2021202220222023202320242025
Return on invested capital
Return on invested capital
0%10%20%30%
2021
2022
2022
2023
2023Return on invested capital 1.4%
2024Return on invested capital 27.0%
2025
2021202220222023202320242025
Economic profit
Needs a cost of capital, which comes from the valuation below.
Return on equity
-15.9%
Return on assets
-8.2%
Asset turnover
0.09×
Overheads (SG&A)
52.2% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
-400M-200M0200M400M
2021
2022Net income -31.8M
2022
2023Net income -65.6M
2023Net income 21.9M
2024Net income 331.9M
2025Net income -226.1M
2021202220222023202320242025
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
-$4-$2$0$2$4
2021
2022Earnings per share $-0.47
2022
2023Earnings per share $-0.79
2023Earnings per share $0.22
2024Earnings per share $3.28
2025Earnings per share $-2.15
2021202220222023202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
60M70M80M90M100M110M
2021
2022Diluted shares 67.8M
2022
2023Diluted shares 82.9M
2023Diluted shares 98.2M
2024Diluted shares 101.0M
2025Diluted shares 105.3M
2021202220222023202320242025
Debt and liquidity
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
0100M200M300M
2021
2022
2022
2023
2023Net debt 156.9M
2024Net debt 215.5M
2025
2021202220222023202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
—
Interest coverage
-11× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
1.09 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
— collects in 48d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
2of 8 tests passed
✕ProfitableReturn on assets above zerofailed
✕Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zerofailed
✕Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforefailed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
–Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fell — not reportedno data
✕More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforefailed
✕No new sharesShare count did not growfailed
✓Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year beforepassed
✕Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforefailed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
0.70distress zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets 0.01 × 6.56+0.08
Retained earnings ÷ assets 0.00 × 3.26+0.01
Operating income ÷ assets -0.12 × 6.72-0.79
Equity ÷ liabilities 1.34 × 1.05+1.40
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-0.27above the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 3.08+2.83
Gross margin slipping 0.86+0.45
Soft assets 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.40
Sales growth 1.45+1.29
Slower depreciation 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.12
Overheads vs sales 1.16-0.20
Profit not in cash -0.03-0.15
Leverage rising 0.53-0.17
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
Receivables are growing 345% against revenue growing 45%.
Benign
A shift towards larger customers on longer terms, or sales concentrated at the end of the period.
Worrying
Sales are being made on looser credit, or revenue has been booked that may never be collected.
The effective tax rate is -17.3%.
Benign
A favourable geographic mix, or legitimate tax credits.
Worrying
Not sustainable; projecting it forward inflates the valuation.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
The SEC accounts lack the lines needed for revenue, free cash flow or the share count, so there is no DCF for this company.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 4 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market$1.8M3 sale(s) by 2 insider(s)
Under pre-arranged plans0%of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.