HTO · Utilities(water supply) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
H2O America reported revenue of $805.6 million in fiscal 2025, after growing 10.5% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin narrowed from 29.7% in 2016 to 22.0%, and it earned 4.6% on its invested capital in the latest year. Of the $1.5 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 25.5% went to dividends; the share count rose 70.5%. On the accounting screens, it passes 4 of 8 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 0.94 is in the distress zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; 1 of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 2025805.6M+10.5% a year over 9 years
Operating margin22.0%gross margin —
Return on invested capital4.6%4.6% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow—
Net debt ÷ EBITDA6.3×net debt 1.9B
Piotroski F-score4/8tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
0250.0M500.0M750.0M1.0B
2016Revenue 328.2MOperating income 97.4M
2017Revenue 381.8MOperating income 101.9M
2018Revenue 389.3MOperating income 73.4M
2019Revenue 447.7MOperating income 57.5M
2020Revenue 549.3MOperating income 117.7M
2021Revenue 559.6MOperating income 111.2M
2022Revenue 586.9MOperating income 131.0M
2023Revenue 678.2MOperating income 149.4M
2024Revenue 736.3MOperating income 170.5M
2025Revenue 805.6MOperating income 177.5M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+11.1%
+8.0%
+10.5%
Operating income
+10.7%
+8.6%
+6.9%
Net income
+11.6%
+10.8%
+7.6%
Earnings per share
+6.4%
+6.4%
+1.5%
Dividend per share
+5.3%
+5.6%
+8.5%
Shares
+4.9%
+4.1%
+6.1%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow
0.0%10.0%20.0%30.0%
2016Operating 29.7%Net 16.1%
2017Operating 26.7%Net 15.5%
2018Operating 18.9%Net 10.0%
2019Operating 12.8%Net 5.2%
2020Operating 21.4%Net 11.2%
2021Operating 19.9%Net 10.8%
2022Operating 22.3%Net 12.6%
2023Operating 22.0%Net 12.5%
2024Operating 23.2%Net 12.8%
2025Operating 22.0%Net 12.7%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Return on invested capital
Return on invested capital
0.0%2.0%4.0%6.0%8.0%
2016Return on invested capital 7.0%
2017Return on invested capital 7.2%
2018Return on invested capital 4.4%
2019Return on invested capital 1.9%
2020Return on invested capital 4.5%
2021Return on invested capital 3.8%
2022Return on invested capital 4.5%
2023Return on invested capital 5.0%
2024Return on invested capital 5.1%
2025Return on invested capital 4.6%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Needs a cost of capital, which comes from the valuation below.
Return on equity
6.7%
Return on assets
2.0%
Asset turnover
0.16×
Overheads (SG&A)
15.6% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
050.0M100.0M150.0M
2016Net income 52.8M
2017Net income 59.2M
2018Net income 38.8M
2019Net income 23.4M
2020Net income 61.5M
2021Net income 60.5M
2022Net income 73.8M
2023Net income 85.0M
2024Net income 94.0M
2025Net income 102.6M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025
1.5B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 0%0
Acquisitions 1%8.0M
Dividends 25%374.0M
Share buybacks 0%0
Kept, or used to pay down debt 74%1.1B
Over the same years it paid 39.2M in stock. The share count rose 70.5%.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$0.00$1.00$2.00$3.00
2016Earnings per share $2.57Dividend per share $0.80
2017Earnings per share $2.86Dividend per share $1.03
2018Earnings per share $1.82Dividend per share $1.08
2019Earnings per share $0.82Dividend per share $1.20
2020Earnings per share $2.14Dividend per share $1.27
2021Earnings per share $2.03Dividend per share $1.35
2022Earnings per share $2.43Dividend per share $1.43
2023Earnings per share $2.68Dividend per share $1.51
2024Earnings per share $2.87Dividend per share $1.59
2025Earnings per share $2.92Dividend per share $1.67
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
20.0M25.0M30.0M35.0M40.0M
2016Diluted shares 20.6M
2017Diluted shares 20.7M
2018Diluted shares 21.3M
2019Diluted shares 28.6M
2020Diluted shares 28.7M
2021Diluted shares 29.7M
2022Diluted shares 30.4M
2023Diluted shares 31.7M
2024Diluted shares 32.8M
2025Diluted shares 35.1M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
0500.0M1.0B1.5B2.0B
2016Net debt 427.1M
2017Net debt 423.3M
2018Net debt 10.7M
2019Net debt 1.3B
2020Net debt 1.4B
2021Net debt 1.5B
2022Net debt 1.5B
2023Net debt 1.6B
2024Net debt 1.7B
2025Net debt 1.9B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
6.3×
Interest coverage
2× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
0.70 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
— collects in 28d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
4of 8 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✕Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforefailed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✓Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellpassed
✕More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforefailed
✕No new sharesShare count did not growfailed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✕Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforefailed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
0.94distress zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets -0.02 × 6.56-0.11
Retained earnings ÷ assets 0.11 × 3.26+0.37
Operating income ÷ assets 0.03 × 6.72+0.23
Equity ÷ liabilities 0.43 × 1.05+0.45
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-2.69below the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 0.83+0.76
Gross margin slipping 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.53
Soft assets 1.00+0.41
Sales growth 1.09+0.98
Slower depreciation 1.00+0.12
Overheads vs sales 1.09-0.19
Profit not in cash -0.03-0.13
Leverage rising 0.98-0.32
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
Net debt is 6.3 times EBITDA.
Benign
A stable sector with predictable cash flows and comfortable maturities.
Worrying
Little room if earnings fall; the maturity schedule is what to check.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
The SEC accounts lack the lines needed for revenue, free cash flow or the share count, so there is no DCF for this company.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 5 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market$302,2262 purchase(s) by 1 insider(s)
Sold on the open market$102,3991 sale(s) by 1 insider(s)
Under pre-arranged plans0%of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.