HRTG · Financials(fire, marine & casualty insurance) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Heritage Insurance Holdings, Inc. reported revenue of $847.3 million in fiscal 2025, after growing 7.6% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin widened from 12.9% in 2016 to 31.5%, and it earned 34.5% on its invested capital in the latest year. Of the $842.3 million its operations generated over 10 years, 29.8% went to acquisitions and 15.5% to buybacks; the share count rose 4.4%. On the accounting screens, it passes 5 of 7 Piotroski tests; none of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 2025847.3M+7.6% a year over 9 years
Operating margin31.5%gross margin —
Return on invested capital34.5%-2.4% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow after stock pay168.8M19.9% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDANet cash480.8M more cash than debt
Piotroski F-score5/7tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
-500.0M0500.0M1.0B
2016Revenue 439.0MOperating income 56.8M
2017Revenue 406.6MOperating income 49.5M
2018Revenue 480.2MOperating income 69.5M
2019Revenue 511.3MOperating income 49.6M
2020Revenue 593.4MOperating income 10.2M
2021Revenue 631.6MOperating income -68.1M
2022Revenue 662.5MOperating income -157.4M
2023Revenue 735.5MOperating income 63.2M
2024Revenue 817.0MOperating income 93.6M
2025Revenue 847.3MOperating income 267.2M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+8.6%
+7.4%
+7.6%
Operating income
—
+92.2%
+18.8%
Net income
—
+83.8%
+21.5%
Earnings per share
—
+80.1%
+20.9%
Free cash flow per share
—
-1.5%
+8.3%
Shares
+5.5%
+2.0%
+0.5%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 9.8%
-75.0%-50.0%-25.0%0.0%25.0%50.0%
2016Return on invested capital 7.9%
2017Return on invested capital 15.9%
2018Return on invested capital 8.4%
2019Return on invested capital 6.0%
2020Return on invested capital -4.0%
2021Return on invested capital -14.9%
2022Return on invested capital -64.8%
2023Return on invested capital 16.2%
2024Return on invested capital 17.1%
2025Return on invested capital 34.5%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Economic profit
-200.0M-100.0M0100.0M200.0M
2016Economic profit -8.2M
2017Economic profit 34.2M
2018Economic profit -8.0M
2019Economic profit -22.2M
2020Economic profit -77.9M
2021Economic profit -114.8M
2022Economic profit -194.1M
2023Economic profit 21.7M
2024Economic profit 29.7M
2025Economic profit 144.2M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.
Return on equity
38.7%
Return on assets
8.9%
Asset turnover
0.39×
Overheads (SG&A)
11.0% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
-200.0M-100.0M0100.0M200.0M
2016Net income 33.9MFree cash flow 81.3MAfter stock-based pay 76.5M
2017Net income -1.1MFree cash flow 7.1MAfter stock-based pay 2.3M
2018Net income 27.2MFree cash flow 94.1MAfter stock-based pay 88.8M
2019Net income 28.6MFree cash flow 114.7MAfter stock-based pay 109.3M
2020Net income 9.3MFree cash flow 169.5MAfter stock-based pay 164.8M
2021Net income -74.7MFree cash flow 59.1MAfter stock-based pay 58.0M
2022Net income -154.4MFree cash flow -42.8MAfter stock-based pay -44.8M
2023Net income 45.3MFree cash flow 60.5MAfter stock-based pay 59.2M
2024Net income 61.5MFree cash flow 78.9MAfter stock-based pay 75.6M
2025Net income 195.6MFree cash flow 174.2MAfter stock-based pay 168.8M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025
842.3M generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 5%45.8M
Acquisitions 30%251.2M
Dividends 6%46.7M
Share buybacks 16%130.9M
Kept, or used to pay down debt 44%367.6M
Over the same years it paid 38.1M in stock. The share count rose 4.4%. 92.8M of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$-10.00$-5.00$0.00$5.00$10.00
2016Earnings per share $1.14Free cash flow per share $2.74Dividend per share $0.23
2017Earnings per share $-0.04Free cash flow per share $0.27Dividend per share $0.31
2018Earnings per share $1.04Free cash flow per share $3.60Dividend per share $0.24
2019Earnings per share $0.98Free cash flow per share $3.92Dividend per share $0.24
2020Earnings per share $0.33Free cash flow per share $6.05Dividend per share $0.24
2021Earnings per share $-2.69Free cash flow per share $2.13Dividend per share $0.24
2022Earnings per share $-5.86Free cash flow per share $-1.63Dividend per share $0.18
2023Earnings per share $1.73Free cash flow per share $2.31Dividend per share $0.00
2024Earnings per share $2.01Free cash flow per share $2.57
2025Earnings per share $6.32Free cash flow per share $5.63
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
26.0M28.0M30.0M32.0M
2016Diluted shares 29.6M
2017Diluted shares 26.8M
2018Diluted shares 26.1M
2019Diluted shares 29.2M
2020Diluted shares 28.0M
2021Diluted shares 27.8M
2022Diluted shares 26.3M
2023Diluted shares 26.3M
2024Diluted shares 30.7M
2025Diluted shares 30.9M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
-600.0M-400.0M-200.0M0200.0M
2016Net debt -32.9M
2017Net debt 30.7M
2018Net debt -101.3M
2019Net debt -139.1M
2020Net debt -320.0M
2021Net debt -238.6M
2022Net debt -151.9M
2023Net debt -343.9M
2024Net debt -336.3M
2025Net debt -480.8M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
-1.8×
Interest coverage
34× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
— current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
—
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
5of 7 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✓Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforepassed
✕Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)failed
✓Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellpassed
–More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✕No new sharesShare count did not growfailed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
The accounts lack a line it needs (retained earnings, current assets or liabilities).
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
The accounts lack too many of the lines it needs.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
None of the six cross-checks fires for the latest year: receivables and inventory move with revenue, profit turns into cash, investment keeps up with depreciation, the tax rate is ordinary and debt is moderate.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
Value per share, with these assumptions$74.72discounted at 9.8% a year · 52% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
11.8×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
6.7×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
2.2×
Free cash flow yield
7.3%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today878.9M
Everything after, today952.7M
The whole business1.8B
Plus net cash480.8M
What belongs to shareholders2.3B
Divided among 30.9M shares: <strong>$74.72</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
-100.0M0100.0M200.0M
2016Reported 76.5M
2017Reported 2.3M
2018Reported 88.8M
2019Reported 109.3M
2020Reported 164.8M
2021Reported 58.0M
2022Reported -44.8M
2023Reported 59.2M
2024Reported 75.6M
2025Reported 168.8M
2026Projected 114.8M
2027Projected 122.7M
2028Projected 130.6M
2029Projected 138.2M
2030Projected 145.5M
2031Projected 152.4M
2032Projected 158.7M
2033Projected 164.5M
2034Projected 169.5M
2035Projected 173.7M
2016201820202022202420262028203020322034
Year by year
2026
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
Revenue
910.9M
974.1M
1.0B
1.1B
1.2B
1.2B
1.3B
1.3B
1.3B
1.4B
Growth
7.5%
6.9%
6.4%
5.8%
5.3%
4.7%
4.2%
3.6%
3.1%
2.5%
Cash margin
12.6%
12.6%
12.6%
12.6%
12.6%
12.6%
12.6%
12.6%
12.6%
12.6%
Free cash flow
114.8M
122.7M
130.6M
138.2M
145.5M
152.4M
158.7M
164.5M
169.5M
173.7M
Worth today
104.5M
101.8M
98.6M
95.0M
91.1M
86.8M
82.4M
77.7M
72.9M
68.1M
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
8.8%
77
80
84
89
95
9.3%
73
76
79
83
88
9.8%
69
72
75
78
82
10.3%
66
68
71
74
77
10.8%
63
65
67
70
73
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
3.5%
5.5%
7.5%
9.5%
11.5%
10.1%
58
62
66
70
74
11.3%
62
66
70
75
80
12.6%
66
70
75
80
85
13.9%
70
74
79
85
90
15.1%
73
78
84
90
96
All the inputs moving at once
5,000 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 2.0%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$60.29
Median$74.86
90th percentile$96.09
$60.00$80.00$100.00$120.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$66.48</b> and <b>$84.65</b>; one in ten below $60.29, one in ten above $96.09.
Does the long run make sense?
5.5×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 5.5 times that year's EBITDA.
5%To grow 2.5% forever while reinvesting 47% of its after-tax operating profit, the business must earn 5% on the new capital — it has earned -2% on average over the last five years.
52%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 3 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market$1.2M6 sale(s) by 3 insider(s)
Under pre-arranged plans33%of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Companies like this one
Same SEC industry (fire, marine & casualty insurance) first, then the rest of financials.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.