HRL · Consumer staples(meat packing plants) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-10-26
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Hormel Foods Corp reported revenue of $12.1 billion in fiscal 2025, after growing 2.7% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin narrowed from 13.9% in 2016 to 5.9%, and it earned 4.8% on its invested capital in the latest year. Of the $10.7 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 45.7% went to dividends and 27.0% back into the business. On the accounting screens, it passes 5 of 9 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 4.69 is in the safe zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; none of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 202512.1B+2.7% a year over 9 years
Operating margin5.9%gross margin 15.6%
Return on invested capital4.8%7.7% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow after stock pay508.7M4.2% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA2.2×net debt 2.2B
Piotroski F-score5/9tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
05.0B10.0B15.0B
2016Revenue 9.5BOperating income 1.3B
2017Revenue 9.2BOperating income 1.3B
2018Revenue 9.5BOperating income 1.2B
2019Revenue 9.5BOperating income 1.2B
2020Revenue 9.6BOperating income 1.1B
2021Revenue 11.4BOperating income 1.1B
2022Revenue 12.5BOperating income 1.3B
2023Revenue 12.1BOperating income 1.1B
2024Revenue 11.9BOperating income 1.1B
2025Revenue 12.1BOperating income 718.6M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
-1.0%
+4.7%
+2.7%
Operating income
-18.2%
-8.2%
-6.6%
Net income
-21.8%
-12.0%
-6.7%
Earnings per share
-21.8%
-12.2%
-6.8%
Free cash flow per share
-14.6%
-6.9%
-4.3%
Dividend per share
+4.3%
+5.2%
+8.6%
Shares
+0.1%
+0.1%
+0.2%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 8.5%
0.0%5.0%10.0%15.0%20.0%
2016Return on invested capital 19.1%
2017Return on invested capital 16.3%
2018Return on invested capital 16.2%
2019Return on invested capital 15.7%
2020Return on invested capital 11.6%
2021Return on invested capital 8.8%
2022Return on invested capital 9.5%
2023Return on invested capital 7.6%
2024Return on invested capital 7.6%
2025Return on invested capital 4.8%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Economic profit
-500.0M-250.0M0250.0M500.0M
2016Economic profit 497.7M
2017Economic profit 407.2M
2018Economic profit 484.9M
2019Economic profit 446.3M
2020Economic profit 242.8M
2021Economic profit 35.4M
2022Economic profit 110.9M
2023Economic profit -95.3M
2024Economic profit -88.0M
2025Economic profit -392.4M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.
Return on equity
6.1%
Return on assets
3.6%
Asset turnover
0.90×
Research & development
0.3% of revenue
Overheads (SG&A)
8.2% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
0500.0M1.0B1.5B
2016Net income 890.1MFree cash flow 784.5MAfter stock-based pay 766.7M
2017Net income 846.7MFree cash flow 812.6MAfter stock-based pay 797.0M
2018Net income 1.0BFree cash flow 852.1MAfter stock-based pay 831.5M
2019Net income 978.8MFree cash flow 629.2MAfter stock-based pay 609.5M
2020Net income 908.1MFree cash flow 760.5MAfter stock-based pay 738.1M
2021Net income 908.8MFree cash flow 769.5MAfter stock-based pay 744.8M
2022Net income 1,000.0MFree cash flow 856.1MAfter stock-based pay 831.1M
2023Net income 793.6MFree cash flow 777.6MAfter stock-based pay 753.6M
2024Net income 805.0MFree cash flow 1.0BAfter stock-based pay 987.1M
2025Net income 478.2MFree cash flow 534.3MAfter stock-based pay 508.7M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025
10.7B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 27%2.9B
Acquisitions 0%0
Dividends 46%4.9B
Share buybacks 4%448.1M
Kept, or used to pay down debt 23%2.5B
Over the same years it paid 218.8M in stock. The share count rose 1.5%. 229.4M of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$0.00$0.50$1.00$1.50$2.00
2016Earnings per share $1.64Free cash flow per share $1.45Dividend per share $0.55
2017Earnings per share $1.57Free cash flow per share $1.51Dividend per share $0.64
2018Earnings per share $1.86Free cash flow per share $1.57Dividend per share $0.71
2019Earnings per share $1.80Free cash flow per share $1.15Dividend per share $0.80
2020Earnings per share $1.66Free cash flow per share $1.39Dividend per share $0.89
2021Earnings per share $1.66Free cash flow per share $1.41Dividend per share $0.96
2022Earnings per share $1.82Free cash flow per share $1.56Dividend per share $1.02
2023Earnings per share $1.45Free cash flow per share $1.42Dividend per share $1.08
2024Earnings per share $1.47Free cash flow per share $1.84Dividend per share $1.12
2025Earnings per share $0.87Free cash flow per share $0.97Dividend per share $1.15
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
535.0M540.0M545.0M550.0M555.0M
2016Diluted shares 542.5M
2017Diluted shares 539.1M
2018Diluted shares 543.9M
2019Diluted shares 545.2M
2020Diluted shares 546.6M
2021Diluted shares 547.6M
2022Diluted shares 549.6M
2023Diluted shares 549.0M
2024Diluted shares 548.8M
2025Diluted shares 550.5M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
-1.0B01.0B2.0B3.0B
2016Net debt -165.1M
2017Net debt -194.1M
2018Net debt 165.7M
2019Net debt -422.9M
2020Net debt -410.7M
2021Net debt 2.7B
2022Net debt 2.3B
2023Net debt 2.6B
2024Net debt 2.1B
2025Net debt 2.2B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
2.2×
Interest coverage
9× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
2.47 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
60 days collects in 24d, stock 62d, pays in 26d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
5of 9 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✕Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforefailed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✕Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellfailed
✓More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforepassed
✕No new sharesShare count did not growfailed
✕Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year beforefailed
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
4.69safe zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets 0.15 × 6.56+0.99
Retained earnings ÷ assets 0.56 × 3.26+1.83
Operating income ÷ assets 0.05 × 6.72+0.36
Equity ÷ liabilities 1.44 × 1.05+1.51
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-2.60below the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 0.94+0.87
Gross margin slipping 1.09+0.57
Soft assets 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.40
Sales growth 1.02+0.91
Slower depreciation 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.12
Overheads vs sales 0.98-0.17
Profit not in cash -0.03-0.13
Leverage rising 1.00-0.33
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
None of the six cross-checks fires for the latest year: receivables and inventory move with revenue, profit turns into cash, investment keeps up with depreciation, the tax rate is ordinary and debt is moderate.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
Value per share, with these assumptions$19.00discounted at 8.5% a year · 58% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
21.9×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
12.9×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
1.0×
Free cash flow yield
4.9%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today5.4B
Everything after, today7.3B
The whole business12.6B
Minus net debt-2.2B
What belongs to shareholders10.5B
Divided among 550.5M shares: <strong>$19.00</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
0250.0M500.0M750.0M1.0B
2016Reported 766.7M
2017Reported 797.0M
2018Reported 831.5M
2019Reported 609.5M
2020Reported 738.1M
2021Reported 744.8M
2022Reported 831.1M
2023Reported 753.6M
2024Reported 987.1M
2025Reported 508.7M
2026Projected 706.2M
2027Projected 736.4M
2028Projected 766.2M
2029Projected 795.6M
2030Projected 824.3M
2031Projected 852.3M
2032Projected 879.3M
2033Projected 905.2M
2034Projected 929.8M
2035Projected 953.0M
2016201820202022202420262028203020322034
Year by year
2026
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
Revenue
12.7B
13.2B
13.7B
14.3B
14.8B
15.3B
15.8B
16.2B
16.7B
17.1B
Growth
4.5%
4.3%
4.1%
3.8%
3.6%
3.4%
3.2%
2.9%
2.7%
2.5%
Cash margin
5.6%
5.6%
5.6%
5.6%
5.6%
5.6%
5.6%
5.6%
5.6%
5.6%
Free cash flow
706.2M
736.4M
766.2M
795.6M
824.3M
852.3M
879.3M
905.2M
929.8M
953.0M
Worth today
651.1M
626.0M
600.6M
575.0M
549.3M
523.6M
498.1M
472.8M
447.8M
423.2M
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
7.5%
20
22
24
26
30
8.0%
18
19
21
23
26
8.5%
16
18
19
21
23
9.0%
15
16
17
19
20
9.5%
14
15
16
17
18
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
0.5%
2.5%
4.5%
6.5%
8.5%
4.5%
12
14
15
17
19
5.0%
14
15
17
19
21
5.6%
15
17
19
21
23
6.1%
17
19
21
23
25
6.7%
18
20
23
25
28
All the inputs moving at once
5,000 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 2.0%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$9.87
Median$18.98
90th percentile$31.97
$20.00$40.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$13.93</b> and <b>$25.07</b>; one in ten below $9.87, one in ten above $31.97.
Does the long run make sense?
11.8×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 11.8 times that year's EBITDA.
Free growthIn year 10 free cash flow is at or above after-tax operating profit, yet the model grows 2.5% forever. Growth needs reinvestment; this assumes it comes for free, which flatters the terminal value.
58%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 5 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market$495,1591 sale(s) by 1 insider(s)
Under pre-arranged plans0%of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.