HCI · Financials(fire, marine & casualty insurance) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
HCI Group, Inc. reported revenue of $900.9 million in fiscal 2025, after growing 14.6% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin widened from 21.9% in 2016 to 48.7%. Of the $1.4 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 10.4% went to dividends and 8.1% to buybacks; the share count rose 18.4%. On the accounting screens, it passes 5 of 6 Piotroski tests; 1 of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 2025900.9M+14.6% a year over 9 years
Operating margin48.7%gross margin —
Return on invested capital—
Free cash flow after stock pay429.8M47.7% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA—net debt —
Piotroski F-score5/6tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
-250.0M0250.0M500.0M750.0M1.0B
2016Revenue 264.4MOperating income 57.9M
2017Revenue 244.4MOperating income 1.1M
2018Revenue 231.3MOperating income 45.0M
2019Revenue 242.5MOperating income 49.1M
2020Revenue 310.4MOperating income 48.7M
2021Revenue 407.9MOperating income 17.6M
2022Revenue 499.6MOperating income -60.6M
2023Revenue 550.7MOperating income 117.8M
2024Revenue 750.1MOperating income 173.4M
2025Revenue 900.9MOperating income 438.5M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+21.7%
+23.7%
+14.6%
Operating income
—
+55.2%
+25.2%
Net income
—
+61.1%
+29.6%
Earnings per share
—
+52.2%
+27.2%
Free cash flow per share
—
+36.2%
+17.5%
Dividend per share
-4.6%
+2.7%
+3.0%
Shares
+13.5%
+5.8%
+1.9%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 10.2%
0.0%5.0%10.0%15.0%
2016Return on invested capital 9.4%
2017Return on invested capital 0.4%
2018
2019
2020
2021
2022
2023
2024
2025
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Economic profit
-60.0M-40.0M-20.0M0
2016Economic profit -3.0M
2017Economic profit -42.1M
2018
2019
2020
2021
2022
2023
2024
2025
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.
Return on equity
28.7%
Return on assets
11.8%
Asset turnover
0.36×
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
-200.0M0200.0M400.0M600.0M
2016Net income 29.0MFree cash flow 87.4MAfter stock-based pay 83.2M
2017Net income -6.9MFree cash flow 14.3MAfter stock-based pay 9.8M
2018Net income 17.7MFree cash flow 26.4MAfter stock-based pay 21.8M
2019Net income 26.6MFree cash flow 51.2MAfter stock-based pay 44.7M
2020Net income 27.6MFree cash flow 70.9MAfter stock-based pay 62.7M
2021Net income 1.9MFree cash flow 93.2MAfter stock-based pay 79.4M
2022Net income -58.5MFree cash flow -6.4MAfter stock-based pay -21.5M
2023Net income 79.0MFree cash flow 224.2MAfter stock-based pay 214.8M
2024Net income 110.0MFree cash flow 327.8MAfter stock-based pay 317.6M
2025Net income 299.0MFree cash flow 440.8MAfter stock-based pay 429.8M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025
1.4B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 3%38.6M
Acquisitions 1%11.7M
Dividends 10%142.3M
Share buybacks 8%111.0M
Kept, or used to pay down debt 78%1.1B
Over the same years it paid 87.3M in stock. The share count rose 18.4%. 23.7M of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$-2,000.00$0.00$2,000.00$4,000.00$6,000.00
2016Earnings per share $2.67Free cash flow per share $8.04Dividend per share $1.14
2017Earnings per share $-0.79Free cash flow per share $1.63Dividend per share $1.59
2018Earnings per share $2.25Free cash flow per share $3.34Dividend per share $1.43
2019Earnings per share $2,595.82Free cash flow per share $4,997.07Dividend per share $1,270.95
2020Earnings per share $2.85Free cash flow per share $7.31Dividend per share $1.31
2021Earnings per share $0.22Free cash flow per share $10.86Dividend per share $1.64
2022Earnings per share $-6.64Free cash flow per share $-0.72Dividend per share $1.73
2023Earnings per share $7.16Free cash flow per share $20.30Dividend per share $1.24
2024Earnings per share $8.67Free cash flow per share $25.84Dividend per share $1.31
2025Earnings per share $23.22Free cash flow per share $34.23Dividend per share $1.50
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
05.0M10.0M15.0M
2016Diluted shares 10.9M
2017Diluted shares 8.8M
2018Diluted shares 7.9M
2019Diluted shares 10,238
2020Diluted shares 9.7M
2021Diluted shares 8.6M
2022Diluted shares 8.8M
2023Diluted shares 11.0M
2024Diluted shares 12.7M
2025Diluted shares 12.9M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
-150.0M-100.0M-50.0M0
2016Net debt -141.7M
2017Net debt -18.0M
2018
2019
2020
2021
2022
2023
2024
2025
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
—
Interest coverage
48× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
— current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
—
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
5of 6 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✓Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforepassed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
–Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fell — not reportedno data
–More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✕No new sharesShare count did not growfailed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
The accounts lack a line it needs (retained earnings, current assets or liabilities).
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
The accounts lack too many of the lines it needs.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
Capital spending (4M) is well below depreciation (11M).
Benign
Mature assets, or a business that has become less capital-intensive.
Worrying
Under-investing: today's profit is being held up by consuming tomorrow's capacity.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
Value per share, with these assumptions$516.28discounted at 10.2% a year · 56% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
22.2×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
14.8×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
7.4×
Free cash flow yield
6.5%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today2.9B
Everything after, today3.7B
The whole business6.6B
Minus net debt-0
What belongs to shareholders6.6B
Divided among 12.9M shares: <strong>$516.28</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
-200.0M0200.0M400.0M600.0M800.0M
2016Reported 83.2M
2017Reported 9.8M
2018Reported 21.8M
2019Reported 44.7M
2020Reported 62.7M
2021Reported 79.4M
2022Reported -21.5M
2023Reported 214.8M
2024Reported 317.6M
2025Reported 429.8M
2026Projected 265.5M
2027Projected 322.8M
2028Projected 384.9M
2029Projected 449.7M
2030Projected 514.7M
2031Projected 576.7M
2032Projected 632.4M
2033Projected 678.5M
2034Projected 711.6M
2035Projected 729.4M
2016201820202022202420262028203020322034
Year by year
2026
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
Revenue
1.1B
1.4B
1.6B
1.9B
2.2B
2.4B
2.7B
2.9B
3.0B
3.1B
Growth
24.0%
21.6%
19.2%
16.8%
14.4%
12.1%
9.7%
7.3%
4.9%
2.5%
Cash margin
23.8%
23.8%
23.8%
23.8%
23.8%
23.8%
23.8%
23.8%
23.8%
23.8%
Free cash flow
265.5M
322.8M
384.9M
449.7M
514.7M
576.7M
632.4M
678.5M
711.6M
729.4M
Worth today
241.0M
266.0M
287.9M
305.3M
317.1M
322.5M
321.1M
312.6M
297.6M
276.9M
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
9.2%
535
566
603
645
695
9.7%
498
525
557
592
634
10.2%
466
489
516
547
582
10.7%
437
458
481
507
538
11.2%
411
429
450
473
499
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
20.0%
22.0%
24.0%
26.0%
28.0%
19.0%
373
402
433
466
502
21.4%
408
440
475
511
551
23.8%
444
479
516
557
600
26.1%
479
517
558
602
649
28.5%
514
555
600
647
697
All the inputs moving at once
5,000 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 3.6%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$390.34
Median$516.88
90th percentile$699.73
$400.00$600.00$800.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$444.32</b> and <b>$602.60</b>; one in ten below $390.34, one in ten above $699.73.
Does the long run make sense?
6.4×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 6.4 times that year's EBITDA.
7%To grow 2.5% forever while reinvesting 35% of its after-tax operating profit, the business must earn 7% on the new capital.
56%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
What lenders charge, after the tax saving on interest: 6.67% × (1 − 25.4%) = <strong>4.98%</strong>.
Weighted by how much of each the company uses (book value (no price given)): <strong>10.17%</strong>, the rate every future cash flow is discounted at.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 6 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market—none in the period
Under pre-arranged plans—of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.