EXR · Real estate(real estate investment trusts) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Extra Space Storage Inc. reported revenue of $129.5 million in fiscal 2025, after growing 14.0% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin narrowed from 1150.3% in 2016 to 1091.1%. Of the $10.6 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 68.8% went to dividends and 22.3% back into the business; the share count rose 68.2%. On the accounting screens, it passes 5 of 7 Piotroski tests; 1 of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 2025129.5M+14.0% a year over 9 years
Operating margin1091.1%gross margin -609.1%
Return on invested capital—
Free cash flow after stock pay1.3B967.7% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA—net debt —
Piotroski F-score5/7tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
0500.0M1.0B1.5B
2016Revenue 39.8MOperating income 458.3M
2017Revenue 39.4MOperating income 654.4M
2018Revenue 41.8MOperating income 619.7M
2019Revenue 49.9MOperating income 635.0M
2020Revenue 52.1MOperating income 666.1M
2021Revenue 66.3MOperating income 976.0M
2022Revenue 83.9MOperating income 1.1B
2023Revenue 102.0MOperating income 1.2B
2024Revenue 120.9MOperating income 1.3B
2025Revenue 129.5MOperating income 1.4B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+15.6%
+20.0%
+14.0%
Operating income
+10.4%
+16.2%
+13.3%
Net income
+4.2%
+15.1%
+11.5%
Earnings per share
-8.9%
+4.3%
+5.2%
Free cash flow per share
+167.8%
—
—
Dividend per share
+4.5%
+12.4%
+9.3%
Shares
+14.4%
+10.3%
+5.9%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 10.2%
0.0%5.0%10.0%15.0%
2016
2017
2018
2019
2020
2021
2022
2023
2024
2025
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Needs a cost of capital, which comes from the valuation below.
Return on equity
7.3%
Return on assets
3.3%
Asset turnover
0.00×
Overheads (SG&A)
143.9% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
0500.0M1.0B1.5B
2016Net income 366.1M
2017Net income 479.0M
2018Net income 415.3M
2019Net income 420.0M
2020Net income 481.8M
2021Net income 827.6M
2022Net income 860.7MFree cash flow 44.9MAfter stock-based pay 23.5M
2023Net income 803.2MFree cash flow 1.3BAfter stock-based pay 1.2B
2024Net income 854.7MFree cash flow 1.4BAfter stock-based pay 1.4B
2025Net income 974.0MFree cash flow 1.3BAfter stock-based pay 1.3B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025
10.6B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 22%2.4B
Acquisitions 1%157.3M
Dividends 69%7.3B
Share buybacks 3%280.4M
Kept, or used to pay down debt 5%503.1M
Over the same years it paid 187.8M in stock. The share count rose 68.2%. 92.6M of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$0.00$2.00$4.00$6.00$8.00
2016Earnings per share $2.91Dividend per share $2.92
2017Earnings per share $3.57Dividend per share $2.93
2018Earnings per share $3.12Dividend per share $3.19
2019Earnings per share $3.08Dividend per share $3.36
2020Earnings per share $3.72Dividend per share $3.61
2021Earnings per share $5.91Dividend per share $4.29
2022Earnings per share $6.07Free cash flow per share $0.32Dividend per share $5.68
2023Earnings per share $4.75Free cash flow per share $7.49Dividend per share $6.18
2024Earnings per share $4.04Free cash flow per share $6.66Dividend per share $6.50
2025Earnings per share $4.60Free cash flow per share $6.08Dividend per share $6.49
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
125.0M150.0M175.0M200.0M225.0M
2016Diluted shares 125.9M
2017Diluted shares 134.2M
2018Diluted shares 133.2M
2019Diluted shares 136.4M
2020Diluted shares 129.6M
2021Diluted shares 140.0M
2022Diluted shares 141.7M
2023Diluted shares 169.2M
2024Diluted shares 211.6M
2025Diluted shares 211.9M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
—
Interest coverage
— operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
— current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
—
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
5of 7 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✓Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforepassed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
–Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fell — not reportedno data
–More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✕No new sharesShare count did not growfailed
✕Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year beforefailed
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
The accounts lack a line it needs (retained earnings, current assets or liabilities).
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
The accounts lack too many of the lines it needs.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
The effective tax rate is 4.4%.
Benign
A favourable geographic mix, or legitimate tax credits.
Worrying
Not sustainable; projecting it forward inflates the valuation.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
Value per share, with these assumptions$207.86discounted at 10.2% a year · 54% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
45.2×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
20.7×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
340.1×
Free cash flow yield
2.8%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today20.0B
Everything after, today24.0B
The whole business44.0B
Minus net debt-0
What belongs to shareholders44.0B
Divided among 211.9M shares: <strong>$207.86</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
02.0B4.0B6.0B
2016
2017
2018
2019
2020
2021
2022Reported 23.5M
2023Reported 1.2B
2024Reported 1.4B
2025Reported 1.3B
2026Projected 2.0B
2027Projected 2.3B
2028Projected 2.7B
2029Projected 3.1B
2030Projected 3.5B
2031Projected 3.8B
2032Projected 4.2B
2033Projected 4.4B
2034Projected 4.6B
2035Projected 4.7B
2016201820202022202420262028203020322034
Year by year
2026
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
Revenue
155.4M
183.4M
213.0M
243.1M
272.9M
300.9M
326.0M
346.8M
362.2M
371.3M
Growth
20.0%
18.1%
16.1%
14.2%
12.2%
10.3%
8.3%
6.4%
4.4%
2.5%
Cash margin
1276.6%
1276.6%
1276.6%
1276.6%
1276.6%
1276.6%
1276.6%
1276.6%
1276.6%
1276.6%
Free cash flow
2.0B
2.3B
2.7B
3.1B
3.5B
3.8B
4.2B
4.4B
4.6B
4.7B
Worth today
1.8B
1.9B
2.0B
2.1B
2.1B
2.1B
2.1B
2.0B
1.9B
1.8B
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
9.2%
215
228
242
259
279
9.7%
201
211
224
238
254
10.2%
188
197
208
220
234
10.7%
176
185
194
204
216
11.2%
166
173
182
191
201
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
16.0%
18.0%
20.0%
22.0%
24.0%
1021.3%
150
162
175
188
203
1149.0%
164
177
191
206
222
1276.6%
178
192
208
224
242
1404.3%
192
208
224
242
261
1532.0%
206
223
241
260
281
All the inputs moving at once
5,000 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 191.5%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$46.56
Median$53.08
90th percentile$61.13
$50.00$60.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$49.57</b> and <b>$57.07</b>; one in ten below $46.56, one in ten above $61.13.
Does the long run make sense?
10.4×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 10.4 times that year's EBITDA.
Free growthIn year 10 free cash flow is at or above after-tax operating profit, yet the model grows 2.5% forever. Growth needs reinvestment; this assumes it comes for free, which flatters the terminal value.
54%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
What lenders charge, after the tax saving on interest: 6.68% × (1 − 4.4%) = <strong>6.38%</strong>.
Weighted by how much of each the company uses (book value (no price given)): <strong>10.18%</strong>, the rate every future cash flow is discounted at.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.