ELAN · Health care(pharmaceutical preparations) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Elanco Animal Health Inc reported revenue of $4.7 billion in fiscal 2025, after growing 5.5% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin narrowed from -0.8% in 2016 to -4.8%, and it earned -2.3% on its invested capital in the latest year. Of the $3.3 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 192.4% went to acquisitions and 45.7% back into the business. On the accounting screens, it passes 6 of 9 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 1.28 is in the grey zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; 3 of the six cross-checks between its statements fire.
Revenue, fiscal 20254.7B+5.5% a year over 9 years
Operating margin-4.8%gross margin 55.0%
Return on invested capital-2.3%-1.7% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow after stock pay216.0M4.6% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA7.1×net debt 3.2B
Piotroski F-score6/9tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
-2.0B02.0B4.0B6.0B
2016Revenue 2.9BOperating income -22.4M
2017Revenue 2.9BOperating income -232.6M
2018Revenue 3.1BOperating income 143.7M
2019Revenue 3.1BOperating income 157.0M
2020Revenue 3.3BOperating income -527.0M
2021Revenue 4.8BOperating income -335.0M
2022Revenue 4.4BOperating income 169.0M
2023Revenue 4.4BOperating income -918.0M
2024Revenue 4.4BOperating income 488.0M
2025Revenue 4.7BOperating income -224.0M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+2.2%
+7.6%
+5.5%
Free cash flow per share
-0.2%
—
—
Shares
+0.5%
+2.4%
—
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 8.9%
-10.0%-5.0%0.0%5.0%10.0%
2016
2017Return on invested capital -4.0%
2018Return on invested capital 1.4%
2019Return on invested capital 1.7%
2020Return on invested capital -4.2%
2021Return on invested capital -2.8%
2022Return on invested capital 1.4%
2023Return on invested capital -7.9%
2024Return on invested capital 3.2%
2025Return on invested capital -2.3%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Economic profit
-3.0B-2.0B-1.0B0
2016
2017Economic profit -1.0B
2018Economic profit -573.1M
2019Economic profit -565.5M
2020Economic profit -1.9B
2021Economic profit -1.6B
2022Economic profit -984.1M
2023Economic profit -2.0B
2024Economic profit -588.4M
2025Economic profit -1.1B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.
Return on equity
-3.5%
Return on assets
-1.7%
Asset turnover
0.35×
Research & development
7.8% of revenue
Overheads (SG&A)
30.3% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
-1.5B-1.0B-500.0M0500.0M
2016Net income -47.9MFree cash flow 45.6MAfter stock-based pay 25.2M
2017Net income -310.7MFree cash flow 75.2MAfter stock-based pay 50.2M
2018Net income 86.5MFree cash flow 352.8MAfter stock-based pay 326.8M
2019Net income 68.0MFree cash flow 84.0MAfter stock-based pay 35.0M
2020Net income -574.0MFree cash flow -176.0MAfter stock-based pay -223.0M
2021Net income -483.0MFree cash flow 324.0MAfter stock-based pay 258.0M
2022Net income -78.0MFree cash flow 281.0MAfter stock-based pay 222.0M
2023Net income -1.2BFree cash flow 131.0MAfter stock-based pay 85.0M
2024Net income 338.0MFree cash flow 394.0MAfter stock-based pay 339.0M
2025Net income -232.0MFree cash flow 284.0MAfter stock-based pay 216.0M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025
3.3B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 46%1.5B
Acquisitions 192%6.4B
Dividends 0%0
Share buybacks 0%0
More than it generated: funded with cash or new debt -138%-4.6B
Over the same years it paid 461.4M in stock.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$-3.00$-2.00$-1.00$0.00$1.00$2.00
2016
2017Earnings per share $-1.06Free cash flow per share $0.26
2018Earnings per share $0.28Free cash flow per share $1.12
2019Earnings per share $0.18Free cash flow per share $0.23
2020Earnings per share $-1.30Free cash flow per share $-0.40
2021Earnings per share $-0.99Free cash flow per share $0.67
2022Earnings per share $-0.16Free cash flow per share $0.58
2023Earnings per share $-2.50Free cash flow per share $0.27
2024Earnings per share $0.68Free cash flow per share $0.79
2025Earnings per share $-0.47Free cash flow per share $0.57
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
200.0M300.0M400.0M500.0M
2016
2017Diluted shares 293.3M
2018Diluted shares 313.7M
2019Diluted shares 370.3M
2020Diluted shares 441.4M
2021Diluted shares 487.2M
2022Diluted shares 488.3M
2023Diluted shares 492.3M
2024Diluted shares 497.3M
2025Diluted shares 496.4M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
-2.0B02.0B4.0B6.0B
2016
2017Net debt -323.4M
2018Net debt 2.0B
2019Net debt 2.0B
2020Net debt 5.6B
2021Net debt 5.7B
2022Net debt 5.5B
2023Net debt 5.4B
2024Net debt 3.9B
2025Net debt 3.2B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
7.1×
Interest coverage
— operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
2.17 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
303 days collects in 68d, stock 299d, pays in 63d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
6of 9 tests passed
✕ProfitableReturn on assets above zerofailed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✕Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforefailed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✓Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellpassed
✕More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforefailed
✓No new sharesShare count did not growpassed
✓Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year beforepassed
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
1.28grey zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets 0.14 × 6.56+0.91
Retained earnings ÷ assets -0.16 × 3.26-0.53
Operating income ÷ assets -0.02 × 6.72-0.11
Equity ÷ liabilities 0.96 × 1.05+1.01
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-2.66below the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 1.02+0.94
Gross margin slipping 1.00+0.53
Soft assets 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.40
Sales growth 1.06+0.95
Slower depreciation 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.12
Overheads vs sales 1.02-0.18
Profit not in cash -0.06-0.28
Leverage rising 0.90-0.30
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
Capital spending (276M) is well below depreciation (680M).
Benign
Mature assets, or a business that has become less capital-intensive.
Worrying
Under-investing: today's profit is being held up by consuming tomorrow's capacity.
The effective tax rate is -3.6%.
Benign
A favourable geographic mix, or legitimate tax credits.
Worrying
Not sustainable; projecting it forward inflates the valuation.
Net debt is 7.1 times EBITDA.
Benign
A stable sector with predictable cash flows and comfortable maturities.
Worrying
Little room if earnings fall; the maturity schedule is what to check.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
Value per share, with these assumptions$-4.17discounted at 8.9% a year · 56% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
—
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
2.5×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
0.2×
Free cash flow yield
—
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today500.0M
Everything after, today647.0M
The whole business1.1B
Minus net debt-3.2B
What belongs to shareholders-2.1B
Divided among 496.4M shares: <strong>$-4.17</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
-400.0M-200.0M0200.0M400.0M
2016Reported 25.2M
2017Reported 50.2M
2018Reported 326.8M
2019Reported 35.0M
2020Reported -223.0M
2021Reported 258.0M
2022Reported 222.0M
2023Reported 85.0M
2024Reported 339.0M
2025Reported 216.0M
2026Projected 62.5M
2027Projected 66.8M
2028Projected 71.1M
2029Projected 75.3M
2030Projected 79.2M
2031Projected 83.0M
2032Projected 86.4M
2033Projected 89.6M
2034Projected 92.3M
2035Projected 94.6M
2016201820202022202420262028203020322034
Year by year
2026
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
Revenue
5.1B
5.4B
5.8B
6.1B
6.4B
6.7B
7.0B
7.3B
7.5B
7.7B
Growth
7.5%
6.9%
6.4%
5.8%
5.3%
4.7%
4.2%
3.6%
3.1%
2.5%
Cash margin
1.2%
1.2%
1.2%
1.2%
1.2%
1.2%
1.2%
1.2%
1.2%
1.2%
Free cash flow
62.5M
66.8M
71.1M
75.3M
79.2M
83.0M
86.4M
89.6M
92.3M
94.6M
Worth today
57.4M
56.4M
55.1M
53.5M
51.7M
49.8M
47.6M
45.3M
42.9M
40.4M
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
7.9%
-4
-4
-4
-3
-3
8.4%
-4
-4
-4
-4
-4
8.9%
-4
-4
-4
-4
-4
9.4%
-5
-4
-4
-4
-4
9.9%
-5
-5
-4
-4
-4
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
3.5%
5.5%
7.5%
9.5%
11.5%
1.0%
-5
-5
-5
-4
-4
1.1%
-5
-5
-4
-4
-4
1.2%
-5
-4
-4
-4
-4
1.4%
-4
-4
-4
-4
-4
1.5%
-4
-4
-4
-4
-3
All the inputs moving at once
5,000 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 2.0%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$-7.94
Median$-4.16
90th percentile$0.04
$-10.00$-5.00$0.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$-6.11</b> and <b>$-2.03</b>; one in ten below $-7.94, one in ten above $0.04.
Does the long run make sense?
2.0×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 2.0 times that year's EBITDA.
56%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.