CPK · Energy(natural gas transmisison & distribution) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Chesapeake Utilities Corp reported revenue of $930.0 million in fiscal 2025, after growing 7.2% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin widened from 17.2% in 2016 to 27.5%, and it earned 6.1% on its invested capital in the latest year. Of the $1.6 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 142.0% went back into the business and 21.1% to dividends; the share count rose 50.4%. On the accounting screens, it passes 6 of 8 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 1.16 is in the grey zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; 1 of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 2025930.0M+7.2% a year over 9 years
Operating margin27.5%gross margin —
Return on invested capital6.1%6.3% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow after stock pay-223.4M-24.0% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA4.2×net debt 1.5B
Piotroski F-score6/8tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
0250.0M500.0M750.0M1.0B
2016Revenue 498.9MOperating income 86.0M
2017Revenue 449.6MOperating income 89.7M
2018Revenue 490.3MOperating income 94.8M
2019Revenue 479.6MOperating income 106.3M
2020Revenue 488.2MOperating income 112.7M
2021Revenue 570.0MOperating income 131.1M
2022Revenue 680.7MOperating income 142.9M
2023Revenue 670.6MOperating income 150.8M
2024Revenue 787.2MOperating income 228.2M
2025Revenue 930.0MOperating income 255.9M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+11.0%
+13.8%
+7.2%
Operating income
+21.4%
+17.8%
+12.9%
Net income
+16.0%
+14.4%
+13.6%
Earnings per share
+5.8%
+7.0%
+8.5%
Dividend per share
+9.3%
+9.8%
+9.7%
Shares
+9.7%
+7.0%
+4.6%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow
-40.0%-20.0%0.0%20.0%40.0%
2016Operating 17.2%Net 9.0%Free cash flow -13.2%
2017Operating 20.0%Net 12.9%Free cash flow -14.5%
2018Operating 19.3%Net 11.5%Free cash flow -25.1%
2019Operating 22.2%Net 13.6%Free cash flow -17.0%
2020Operating 23.1%Net 14.6%Free cash flow -1.4%
2021Operating 23.0%Net 14.6%Free cash flow -6.4%
2022Operating 21.0%Net 13.2%Free cash flow 4.5%
2023Operating 22.5%Net 13.0%Free cash flow 2.2%
2024Operating 29.0%Net 15.1%Free cash flow -14.7%
2025Operating 27.5%Net 15.1%Free cash flow -23.1%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Return on invested capital
Return on invested capital
0.0%5.0%10.0%15.0%
2016Return on invested capital 8.8%
2017Return on invested capital 10.4%
2018Return on invested capital 8.2%
2019Return on invested capital 7.5%
2020Return on invested capital 6.9%
2021Return on invested capital 7.2%
2022Return on invested capital 7.2%
2023Return on invested capital 4.7%
2024Return on invested capital 6.2%
2025Return on invested capital 6.1%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Needs a cost of capital, which comes from the valuation below.
Return on equity
8.8%
Return on assets
3.5%
Asset turnover
0.23×
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
-300.0M-200.0M-100.0M0100.0M200.0M
2016Net income 44.7MFree cash flow -65.7MAfter stock-based pay -68.1M
2017Net income 58.1MFree cash flow -65.2MAfter stock-based pay -67.7M
2018Net income 56.6MFree cash flow -123.0MAfter stock-based pay -125.8M
2019Net income 65.2MFree cash flow -81.8MAfter stock-based pay -86.0M
2020Net income 71.5MFree cash flow -6.6MAfter stock-based pay -11.4M
2021Net income 83.5MFree cash flow -36.4MAfter stock-based pay -42.4M
2022Net income 89.8MFree cash flow 30.6MAfter stock-based pay 24.2M
2023Net income 87.2MFree cash flow 14.9MAfter stock-based pay 7.3M
2024Net income 118.6MFree cash flow -115.9MAfter stock-based pay -124.3M
2025Net income 140.3MFree cash flow -214.9MAfter stock-based pay -223.4M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025
1.6B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 142%2.2B
Acquisitions 0%0
Dividends 21%332.9M
Share buybacks 3%44.4M
More than it generated: funded with cash or new debt -66%-1.0B
Over the same years it paid 53.6M in stock. The share count rose 50.4%. The buybacks did not even cover what was handed out in stock.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$-10.00$-5.00$0.00$5.00$10.00
2016Earnings per share $2.86Free cash flow per share $-4.21Dividend per share $1.12
2017Earnings per share $3.55Free cash flow per share $-3.98Dividend per share $1.22
2018Earnings per share $3.45Free cash flow per share $-7.49Dividend per share $1.34
2019Earnings per share $3.96Free cash flow per share $-4.97Dividend per share $1.50
2020Earnings per share $4.26Free cash flow per share $-0.39Dividend per share $1.62
2021Earnings per share $4.73Free cash flow per share $-2.07Dividend per share $1.79
2022Earnings per share $5.04Free cash flow per share $1.72Dividend per share $1.98
2023Earnings per share $4.73Free cash flow per share $0.81Dividend per share $2.17
2024Earnings per share $5.26Free cash flow per share $-5.14Dividend per share $2.41
2025Earnings per share $5.97Free cash flow per share $-9.15Dividend per share $2.58
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
14.0M16.0M18.0M20.0M22.0M24.0M
2016Diluted shares 15.6M
2017Diluted shares 16.4M
2018Diluted shares 16.4M
2019Diluted shares 16.4M
2020Diluted shares 16.8M
2021Diluted shares 17.6M
2022Diluted shares 17.8M
2023Diluted shares 18.4M
2024Diluted shares 22.5M
2025Diluted shares 23.5M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
0500.0M1.0B1.5B
2016Net debt 144.9M
2017Net debt 201.2M
2018Net debt 321.9M
2019Net debt 478.8M
2020Net debt 518.6M
2021Net debt 562.9M
2022Net debt 593.7M
2023Net debt 1.2B
2024Net debt 1.3B
2025Net debt 1.5B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
4.2×
Interest coverage
4× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
0.45 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
— collects in 40d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
6of 8 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✓Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforepassed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✓Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellpassed
✕More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforefailed
✕No new sharesShare count did not growfailed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
1.16grey zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets -0.07 × 6.56-0.48
Retained earnings ÷ assets 0.16 × 3.26+0.51
Operating income ÷ assets 0.06 × 6.72+0.43
Equity ÷ liabilities 0.67 × 1.05+0.70
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-2.37below the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 1.12+1.03
Gross margin slipping 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.53
Soft assets 0.90+0.36
Sales growth 1.18+1.05
Slower depreciation 0.82+0.09
Overheads vs sales 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)-0.17
Profit not in cash -0.02-0.11
Leverage rising 0.99-0.32
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
Net debt is 4.2 times EBITDA.
Benign
A stable sector with predictable cash flows and comfortable maturities.
Worrying
Little room if earnings fall; the maturity schedule is what to check.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
With a free cash flow margin at or below zero in year ten, the business never generates cash for its owners and a DCF says nothing useful. Set a positive margin for year ten to see what it would take.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 6 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market$1.5M4 sale(s) by 2 insider(s)
Under pre-arranged plans0%of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Companies like this one
Same SEC industry (natural gas transmisison & distribution) first, then the rest of energy.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.