WMB · Energy(natural gas transmission) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Williams Companies, Inc. reported revenue of $14.9 billion in fiscal 2025, after growing 7.9% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin widened from 9.2% in 2016 to 28.2%. Of the $43.4 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 56.6% went back into the business and 42.5% to dividends; the share count rose 63.2%. On the accounting screens, it passes 6 of 7 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of -0.23 is in the distress zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; none of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 202514.9B+7.9% a year over 9 years
Operating margin28.2%gross margin —
Return on invested capital—
Free cash flow after stock pay912.0M6.1% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA—net debt —
Piotroski F-score6/7tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
05.0B10.0B15.0B20.0B
2016Revenue 7.5BOperating income 689.0M
2017Revenue 8.0BOperating income 927.0M
2018Revenue 8.6BOperating income 768.0M
2019Revenue 8.1BOperating income 1.9B
2020Revenue 7.7BOperating income 2.2B
2021Revenue 12.8BOperating income 2.6B
2022Revenue 17.8BOperating income 3.0B
2023Revenue 12.0BOperating income 4.3B
2024Revenue 12.6BOperating income 3.3B
2025Revenue 14.9BOperating income 4.2B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
-5.7%
+14.3%
+7.9%
Operating income
+11.6%
+13.8%
+22.2%
Net income
+8.5%
+65.5%
—
Earnings per share
+8.4%
+65.2%
—
Free cash flow per share
-27.5%
-15.1%
-12.8%
Dividend per share
+5.6%
+4.5%
+1.9%
Shares
+0.1%
+0.2%
+5.6%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow
-20.0%0.0%20.0%40.0%
2016Operating 9.2%Net -5.7%Free cash flow 28.1%
2017Operating 11.5%Net 27.1%Free cash flow 8.6%
2018Operating 8.9%Net -1.8%Free cash flow 0.4%
2019Operating 23.6%Net 10.4%Free cash flow 19.5%
2020Operating 28.8%Net 2.8%Free cash flow 29.5%
2021Operating 20.6%Net 11.9%Free cash flow 21.2%
2022Operating 17.0%Net 11.5%Free cash flow 14.8%
2023Operating 35.9%Net 26.5%Free cash flow 28.5%
2024Operating 26.4%Net 17.6%Free cash flow 19.0%
2025Operating 28.2%Net 17.6%Free cash flow 6.7%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Return on invested capital
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 10.2%
0.0%5.0%10.0%15.0%
2016
2017
2018
2019
2020
2021
2022
2023
2024
2025
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Needs a cost of capital, which comes from the valuation below.
Return on equity
20.4%
Return on assets
4.5%
Asset turnover
0.25×
Overheads (SG&A)
4.8% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
-1.0B01.0B2.0B3.0B4.0B
2016Net income -424.0MFree cash flow 2.1BAfter stock-based pay 2.0B
2017Net income 2.2BFree cash flow 690.0MAfter stock-based pay 612.0M
2018Net income -155.0MFree cash flow 37.0MAfter stock-based pay -18.0M
2019Net income 850.0MFree cash flow 1.6BAfter stock-based pay 1.5B
2020Net income 211.0MFree cash flow 2.3BAfter stock-based pay 2.2B
2021Net income 1.5BFree cash flow 2.7BAfter stock-based pay 2.6B
2022Net income 2.0BFree cash flow 2.6BAfter stock-based pay 2.6B
2023Net income 3.2BFree cash flow 3.4BAfter stock-based pay 3.3B
2024Net income 2.2BFree cash flow 2.4BAfter stock-based pay 2.3B
2025Net income 2.6BFree cash flow 1.0BAfter stock-based pay 912.0M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025
43.4B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 57%24.5B
Acquisitions 13%5.6B
Dividends 42%18.4B
Share buybacks 0%139.0M
More than it generated: funded with cash or new debt -12%-5.3B
Over the same years it paid 738.0M in stock. The share count rose 63.2%. The buybacks did not even cover what was handed out in stock.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$-1.00$0.00$1.00$2.00$3.00
2016Earnings per share $-0.56Free cash flow per share $2.80Dividend per share $1.68
2017Earnings per share $2.62Free cash flow per share $0.83Dividend per share $1.20
2018Earnings per share $-0.16Free cash flow per share $0.04Dividend per share $1.42
2019Earnings per share $0.70Free cash flow per share $1.30Dividend per share $1.52
2020Earnings per share $0.17Free cash flow per share $1.86Dividend per share $1.60
2021Earnings per share $1.25Free cash flow per share $2.22Dividend per share $1.64
2022Earnings per share $1.68Free cash flow per share $2.16Dividend per share $1.69
2023Earnings per share $2.60Free cash flow per share $2.80Dividend per share $1.78
2024Earnings per share $1.82Free cash flow per share $1.96Dividend per share $1.89
2025Earnings per share $2.14Free cash flow per share $0.82Dividend per share $1.99
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
600.0M800.0M1.0B1.2B1.4B
2016Diluted shares 750.7M
2017Diluted shares 828.5M
2018Diluted shares 973.6M
2019Diluted shares 1.2B
2020Diluted shares 1.2B
2021Diluted shares 1.2B
2022Diluted shares 1.2B
2023Diluted shares 1.2B
2024Diluted shares 1.2B
2025Diluted shares 1.2B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
—
Interest coverage
3× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
0.53 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
— collects in 51d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
6of 7 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✓Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforepassed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
–Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fell — not reportedno data
✓More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforepassed
✕No new sharesShare count did not growfailed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
-0.23distress zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets -0.05 × 6.56-0.32
Retained earnings ÷ assets -0.21 × 3.26-0.68
Operating income ÷ assets 0.07 × 6.72+0.48
Equity ÷ liabilities 0.28 × 1.05+0.29
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-2.65below the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 0.95+0.87
Gross margin slipping 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.53
Soft assets 0.94+0.38
Sales growth 1.18+1.05
Slower depreciation 1.02+0.12
Overheads vs sales 0.86-0.15
Profit not in cash -0.06-0.26
Leverage rising 1.07-0.35
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
None of the six cross-checks fires for the latest year: receivables and inventory move with revenue, profit turns into cash, investment keeps up with depreciation, the tax rate is ordinary and debt is moderate.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
Value per share, with these assumptions$40.32discounted at 10.2% a year · 53% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
18.9×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
7.5×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
3.3×
Free cash flow yield
1.8%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today23.3B
Everything after, today26.1B
The whole business49.4B
Minus net debt-0
What belongs to shareholders49.4B
Divided among 1.2B shares: <strong>$40.32</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
-2.0B02.0B4.0B6.0B
2016Reported 2.0B
2017Reported 612.0M
2018Reported -18.0M
2019Reported 1.5B
2020Reported 2.2B
2021Reported 2.6B
2022Reported 2.6B
2023Reported 3.3B
2024Reported 2.3B
2025Reported 912.0M
2026Projected 2.6B
2027Projected 3.0B
2028Projected 3.3B
2029Projected 3.7B
2030Projected 4.0B
2031Projected 4.3B
2032Projected 4.6B
2033Projected 4.8B
2034Projected 5.0B
2035Projected 5.2B
2016201820202022202420262028203020322034
Year by year
2026
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
Revenue
17.1B
19.3B
21.6B
23.9B
26.0B
28.1B
29.9B
31.5B
32.7B
33.5B
Growth
14.5%
13.2%
11.8%
10.5%
9.2%
7.8%
6.5%
5.2%
3.8%
2.5%
Cash margin
15.4%
15.4%
15.4%
15.4%
15.4%
15.4%
15.4%
15.4%
15.4%
15.4%
Free cash flow
2.6B
3.0B
3.3B
3.7B
4.0B
4.3B
4.6B
4.8B
5.0B
5.2B
Worth today
2.4B
2.4B
2.5B
2.5B
2.5B
2.4B
2.3B
2.2B
2.1B
2.0B
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
9.2%
42
44
47
50
54
9.7%
39
41
43
46
49
10.2%
37
38
40
43
45
10.7%
34
36
38
40
42
11.2%
32
34
35
37
39
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
10.5%
12.5%
14.5%
16.5%
18.5%
12.3%
29
32
34
37
40
13.9%
32
34
37
40
43
15.4%
34
37
40
44
47
16.9%
37
40
43
47
51
18.5%
40
43
47
50
55
All the inputs moving at once
5,000 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 2.3%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$30.70
Median$40.40
90th percentile$54.45
$40.00$60.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$34.80</b> and <b>$46.88</b>; one in ten below $30.70, one in ten above $54.45.
Does the long run make sense?
4.7×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 4.7 times that year's EBITDA.
9%To grow 2.5% forever while reinvesting 28% of its after-tax operating profit, the business must earn 9% on the new capital.
53%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
What lenders charge, after the tax saving on interest: 6.68% × (1 − 23.6%) = <strong>5.10%</strong>.
Weighted by how much of each the company uses (book value (no price given)): <strong>10.18%</strong>, the rate every future cash flow is discounted at.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.