CINF · Financials(fire, marine & casualty insurance) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Cincinnati Financial Corp reported revenue of $12.6 billion in fiscal 2025, after growing 9.8% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin widened from 15.9% in 2016 to 24.0%, and it earned 14.6% on its invested capital in the latest year. Of the $17.9 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 22.7% went to dividends and 8.6% to buybacks; the share count fell 5.3%. On the accounting screens, it passes 5 of 7 Piotroski tests; 1 of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 202512.6B+9.8% a year over 9 years
Operating margin24.0%gross margin —
Return on invested capital14.6%12.0% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow3.1B24.5% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDANet cash641.0M more cash than debt
Piotroski F-score5/7tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
-5B05B10B15B
2016Revenue 5.4BOperating income 865.0M
2017Revenue 5.7BOperating income 783.0M
2018Revenue 5.4BOperating income 304.0M
2019Revenue 7.9BOperating income 2.5B
2020Revenue 7.5BOperating income 1.6B
2021Revenue 9.6BOperating income 3.8B
2022Revenue 6.6BOperating income -641.0M
2023Revenue 10.0BOperating income 2.3B
2024Revenue 11.3BOperating income 2.9B
2025Revenue 12.6BOperating income 3.0B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+24.4%
+10.9%
+9.8%
Operating income
—
+14.3%
+15.0%
Net income
—
+14.5%
+16.8%
Earnings per share
—
+15.2%
+17.5%
Free cash flow per share
+15.2%
+16.7%
+12.8%
Dividend per share
+7.7%
+7.6%
+6.8%
Shares
-0.2%
-0.6%
-0.6%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow
-20%0%20%40%
2016Operating 15.9%Net 10.8%Free cash flow 20.2%
2017Operating 13.7%Net 18.2%Free cash flow 18.1%
2018Operating 5.6%Net 5.3%Free cash flow 21.5%
2019Operating 31.9%Net 25.2%Free cash flow 14.9%
2020Operating 20.6%Net 16.1%Free cash flow 19.5%
2021Operating 39.0%Net 30.8%Free cash flow 20.4%
2022Operating -9.8%Net -7.4%Free cash flow 31.0%
2023Operating 23.3%Net 18.4%Free cash flow 20.3%
2024Operating 25.7%Net 20.2%Free cash flow 23.2%
2025Operating 24.0%Net 18.9%Free cash flow 24.5%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Return on invested capital
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 10.0%
-10%0%10%20%30%
2016Return on invested capital 8.0%
2017Return on invested capital 4.9%
2018Return on invested capital 3.0%
2019Return on invested capital 19.1%
2020Return on invested capital 10.9%
2021Return on invested capital 22.2%
2022Return on invested capital -7.3%
2023Return on invested capital 14.6%
2024Return on invested capital 15.9%
2025Return on invested capital 14.6%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Economic profit
-2B-1B01B2B
2016Economic profit -155.9M
2017Economic profit -458.8M
2018Economic profit -602.6M
2019Economic profit 973.5M
2020Economic profit 100.9M
2021Economic profit 1.7B
2022Economic profit -2.0B
2023Economic profit 596.6M
2024Economic profit 860.5M
2025Economic profit 763.7M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.
Return on equity
15.0%
Return on assets
5.8%
Asset turnover
0.31×
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
-1B01B2B3B4B
2016Net income 591.0MFree cash flow 1.1BAfter stock-based pay 1.1B
2017Net income 1.0BFree cash flow 1.0BAfter stock-based pay 1.0B
2018Net income 287.0MFree cash flow 1.2BAfter stock-based pay 1.1B
2019Net income 2.0BFree cash flow 1.2BAfter stock-based pay 1.2B
2020Net income 1.2BFree cash flow 1.5BAfter stock-based pay 1.4B
2021Net income 3.0BFree cash flow 2.0BAfter stock-based pay 1.9B
2022Net income -487.0MFree cash flow 2.0B
2023Net income 1.8BFree cash flow 2.0B
2024Net income 2.3BFree cash flow 2.6B
2025Net income 2.4BFree cash flow 3.1B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025
17.9B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 1%183.0M
Acquisitions 0%0
Dividends 23%4.1B
Share buybacks 9%1.5B
Kept, or used to pay down debt 68%12.1B
Over the same years it paid 171.0M in stock. The share count fell 5.3%. 1.4B of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
-$10$0$10$20
2016Earnings per share $3.55Free cash flow per share $6.62Dividend per share $1.84
2017Earnings per share $6.30Free cash flow per share $6.24Dividend per share $2.41
2018Earnings per share $1.74Free cash flow per share $7.06Dividend per share $2.04
2019Earnings per share $12.10Free cash flow per share $7.17Dividend per share $2.15
2020Earnings per share $7.49Free cash flow per share $9.06Dividend per share $2.31
2021Earnings per share $18.24Free cash flow per share $12.08Dividend per share $2.43
2022Earnings per share $-3.07Free cash flow per share $12.83Dividend per share $2.66
2023Earnings per share $11.66Free cash flow per share $12.87Dividend per share $2.87
2024Earnings per share $14.52Free cash flow per share $16.65Dividend per share $3.11
2025Earnings per share $15.17Free cash flow per share $19.61Dividend per share $3.33
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
157.5M160.0M162.5M165.0M167.5M
2016Diluted shares 166.5M
2017Diluted shares 166.0M
2018Diluted shares 164.5M
2019Diluted shares 165.1M
2020Diluted shares 162.4M
2021Diluted shares 162.7M
2022Diluted shares 158.8M
2023Diluted shares 158.1M
2024Diluted shares 157.8M
2025Diluted shares 157.7M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Debt and liquidity
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
-800M-600M-400M-200M0200M
2016Net debt 10.0M
2017Net debt 130.0M
2018Net debt 4.0M
2019Net debt 21.0M
2020Net debt -112.0M
2021Net debt -350.0M
2022Net debt -475.0M
2023Net debt -117.0M
2024Net debt -193.0M
2025Net debt -641.0M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
-0.2×
Interest coverage
57× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
— current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
—
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
5of 7 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✕Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforefailed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✓Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellpassed
–More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓No new sharesShare count did not growpassed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✕Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforefailed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
The accounts lack a line it needs (retained earnings, current assets or liabilities).
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
The accounts lack too many of the lines it needs.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
Capital spending (20M) is well below depreciation (36M).
Benign
Mature assets, or a business that has become less capital-intensive.
Worrying
Under-investing: today's profit is being held up by consuming tomorrow's capacity.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
Value per share, with these assumptions$307.43discounted at 10.0% a year · 52% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
20.3×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
15.6×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
3.8×
Free cash flow yield
6.4%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today22.8B
Everything after, today25.1B
The whole business47.8B
Plus net cash641.0M
What belongs to shareholders48.5B
Divided among 157.7M shares: <strong>$307.43</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
02B4B6B
2016Reported 1.1B
2017Reported 1.0B
2018Reported 1.1B
2019Reported 1.2B
2020Reported 1.4B
2021Reported 1.9B
2022
2023
2024
2025
2026Projected 2.8B
2027Projected 3.0B
2028Projected 3.3B
2029Projected 3.6B
2030Projected 3.8B
2031Projected 4.1B
2032Projected 4.3B
2033Projected 4.5B
2034Projected 4.7B
2035Projected 4.8B
2016201820202022202420262028203020322034
Year by year
2026
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
Revenue
14.0B
15.4B
16.8B
18.2B
19.5B
20.8B
21.9B
22.8B
23.6B
24.2B
Growth
11.0%
10.1%
9.1%
8.2%
7.2%
6.3%
5.3%
4.4%
3.4%
2.5%
Cash margin
19.7%
19.7%
19.7%
19.7%
19.7%
19.7%
19.7%
19.7%
19.7%
19.7%
Free cash flow
2.8B
3.0B
3.3B
3.6B
3.8B
4.1B
4.3B
4.5B
4.7B
4.8B
Worth today
2.5B
2.5B
2.5B
2.5B
2.4B
2.3B
2.2B
2.1B
2.0B
1.8B
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
9.0%
318
336
356
381
409
9.5%
297
312
330
351
374
10.0%
279
292
307
325
345
10.5%
262
274
288
303
320
11.0%
248
258
270
283
298
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
7.0%
9.0%
11.0%
13.0%
15.0%
15.8%
223
241
261
281
303
17.7%
243
263
284
307
331
19.7%
263
284
307
332
359
21.7%
282
306
331
358
387
23.6%
302
327
354
384
415
All the inputs moving at once
5,000 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 3.0%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$235.07
Median$308.03
90th percentile$414.77
$200.00$300.00$400.00$500.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$266.01</b> and <b>$356.87</b>; one in ten below $235.07, one in ten above $414.77.
Does the long run make sense?
11.1×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 11.1 times that year's EBITDA.
Free growthIn year 10 free cash flow is at or above after-tax operating profit, yet the model grows 2.5% forever. Growth needs reinvestment; this assumes it comes for free, which flatters the terminal value.
52%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
What lenders charge, after the tax saving on interest: 6.71% × (1 − 19.7%) = <strong>5.39%</strong>.
Weighted by how much of each the company uses (book value (no price given)): <strong>10.01%</strong>, the rate every future cash flow is discounted at.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 5 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market$171,6401 purchase(s) by 1 insider(s)
Sold on the open market$1.3M1 sale(s) by 1 insider(s)
Under pre-arranged plans0%of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.