BHC · Health care(pharmaceutical preparations) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Bausch Health Companies Inc. reported revenue of $10.3 billion in fiscal 2025, after growing 0.7% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin widened from -5.9% in 2016 to 17.7%, and it earned 2.9% on its invested capital in the latest year. Of the $13.2 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 19.5% went back into the business and 16.2% to acquisitions; the share count rose 8.0%. On the accounting screens, it passes 6 of 8 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of -0.26 is in the distress zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; 2 of the six cross-checks between its statements fire.
Revenue, fiscal 202510.3B+0.7% a year over 9 years
Operating margin17.7%gross margin —
Return on invested capital2.9%2.5% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow after stock pay787.0M7.7% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA6.5×net debt 19.5B
Piotroski F-score6/8tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
-5B05B10B15B
2016Revenue 9.7BOperating income -566.0M
2017Revenue 8.7BOperating income 102.0M
2018Revenue 8.4BOperating income -2.4B
2019Revenue 8.6BOperating income -203.0M
2020Revenue 8.0BOperating income 676.0M
2021Revenue 8.4BOperating income 450.0M
2022Revenue 8.1BOperating income 454.0M
2023Revenue 8.8BOperating income 963.0M
2024Revenue 9.6BOperating income 1.5B
2025Revenue 10.3BOperating income 1.8B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+8.1%
+5.0%
+0.7%
Operating income
+58.7%
+21.8%
—
Free cash flow per share
—
+3.3%
-7.4%
Shares
+1.2%
+1.1%
+0.9%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 5.0%
-10%-5%0%5%10%
2016Return on invested capital -1.7%
2017Return on invested capital 1.1%
2018Return on invested capital -8.8%
2019Return on invested capital -0.8%
2020Return on invested capital 3.9%
2021Return on invested capital 2.2%
2022Return on invested capital 3.7%
2023Return on invested capital 7.1%
2024Return on invested capital -3.3%
2025Return on invested capital 2.9%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Economic profit
-4B-2B02B
2016Economic profit -2.2B
2017Economic profit -1.2B
2018Economic profit -3.7B
2019Economic profit -1.6B
2020Economic profit -277.6M
2021Economic profit -641.1M
2022Economic profit -259.3M
2023Economic profit 438.6M
2024Economic profit -1.7B
2025Economic profit -422.0M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.
Return on equity
—
Return on assets
0.6%
Asset turnover
0.39×
Research & development
6.1% of revenue
Overheads (SG&A)
33.5% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
-6B-4B-2B02B4B
2016Net income -2.4BFree cash flow 1.9BAfter stock-based pay 1.7B
2017Net income 2.4BFree cash flow 2.1BAfter stock-based pay 2.0B
2018Net income -4.1BFree cash flow 1.3BAfter stock-based pay 1.3B
2019Net income -1.8BFree cash flow 1.2BAfter stock-based pay 1.1B
2020Net income -560.0MFree cash flow 809.0MAfter stock-based pay 704.0M
2021Net income -948.0MFree cash flow 1.2BAfter stock-based pay 1.0B
2022Net income -225.0MFree cash flow -946.0MAfter stock-based pay -1.1B
2023Net income -592.0MFree cash flow 817.0MAfter stock-based pay 685.0M
2024Net income -46.0MFree cash flow 1.3BAfter stock-based pay 1.1B
2025Net income 157.0MFree cash flow 1.0BAfter stock-based pay 787.0M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025
13.2B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 19%2.6B
Acquisitions 16%2.1B
Dividends 0%0
Share buybacks 0%0
Kept, or used to pay down debt 64%8.5B
Over the same years it paid 1.3B in stock. The share count rose 8.0%.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
-$15-$10-$5$0$5$10
2016Earnings per share $-6.93Free cash flow per share $5.33
2017Earnings per share $6.83Free cash flow per share $6.02
2018Earnings per share $-11.80Free cash flow per share $3.83
2019Earnings per share $-5.08Free cash flow per share $3.50
2020Earnings per share $-1.58Free cash flow per share $2.28
2021Earnings per share $-2.64Free cash flow per share $3.22
2022Earnings per share $-0.62Free cash flow per share $-2.61
2023Earnings per share $-1.62Free cash flow per share $2.24
2024Earnings per share $-0.12Free cash flow per share $3.42
2025Earnings per share $0.42Free cash flow per share $2.67
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
340M350M360M370M380M
2016Diluted shares 347.3M
2017Diluted shares 351.8M
2018Diluted shares 351.3M
2019Diluted shares 352.1M
2020Diluted shares 355.0M
2021Diluted shares 358.9M
2022Diluted shares 362.0M
2023Diluted shares 364.9M
2024Diluted shares 368.0M
2025Diluted shares 375.0M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Debt and liquidity
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
010B20B30B
2016Net debt 29.3B
2017Net debt 24.7B
2018Net debt 23.6B
2019Net debt 22.7B
2020Net debt 23.3B
2021Net debt 22.1B
2022Net debt 20.2B
2023Net debt 21.4B
2024Net debt 20.4B
2025Net debt 19.5B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
6.5×
Interest coverage
1× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
1.47 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
— collects in 84d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
6of 8 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✓Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforepassed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✕Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellfailed
✓More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforepassed
✕No new sharesShare count did not growfailed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
-0.26distress zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets 0.07 × 6.56+0.49
Retained earnings ÷ assets -0.37 × 3.26-1.20
Operating income ÷ assets 0.07 × 6.72+0.46
Equity ÷ liabilities -0.02 × 1.05-0.02
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-2.60below the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 1.03+0.95
Gross margin slipping 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.53
Soft assets 0.96+0.39
Sales growth 1.07+0.95
Slower depreciation 1.13+0.13
Overheads vs sales 0.98-0.17
Profit not in cash -0.05-0.22
Leverage rising 0.97-0.32
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
Capital spending (397M) is well below depreciation (1,208M).
Benign
Mature assets, or a business that has become less capital-intensive.
Worrying
Under-investing: today's profit is being held up by consuming tomorrow's capacity.
Net debt is 6.5 times EBITDA.
Benign
A stable sector with predictable cash flows and comfortable maturities.
Worrying
Little room if earnings fall; the maturity schedule is what to check.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
79% of the value comes from after year 10: this valuation rests mostly on the long run, which is exactly what is least known.
Value per share, with these assumptions$66.37discounted at 5.0% a year · 79% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
158.5×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
14.7×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
4.3×
Free cash flow yield
3.2%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today9.3B
Everything after, today35.1B
The whole business44.4B
Minus net debt-19.5B
What belongs to shareholders24.9B
Divided among 375.0M shares: <strong>$66.37</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
-2B-1B01B2B3B
2016Reported 1.7B
2017Reported 2.0B
2018Reported 1.3B
2019Reported 1.1B
2020Reported 704.0M
2021Reported 1.0B
2022Reported -1.1B
2023Reported 685.0M
2024Reported 1.1B
2025Reported 787.0M
2026Projected 1.0B
2027Projected 1.1B
2028Projected 1.1B
2029Projected 1.2B
2030Projected 1.2B
2031Projected 1.2B
2032Projected 1.3B
2033Projected 1.3B
2034Projected 1.4B
2035Projected 1.4B
2016201820202022202420262028203020322034
Year by year
2026
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
Revenue
10.8B
11.3B
11.8B
12.3B
12.8B
13.2B
13.7B
14.1B
14.5B
14.8B
Growth
5.0%
4.7%
4.4%
4.2%
3.9%
3.6%
3.3%
3.1%
2.8%
2.5%
Cash margin
9.4%
9.4%
9.4%
9.4%
9.4%
9.4%
9.4%
9.4%
9.4%
9.4%
Free cash flow
1.0B
1.1B
1.1B
1.2B
1.2B
1.2B
1.3B
1.3B
1.4B
1.4B
Worth today
969.6M
967.0M
961.8M
954.1M
943.9M
931.3M
916.5M
899.4M
880.3M
859.3M
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
4.0%
71
99
145
238
511
4.5%
50
68
96
142
232
5.0%
35
48
66
93
138
5.5%
24
34
47
64
91
6.0%
16
23
32
45
62
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
1.0%
3.0%
5.0%
7.0%
9.0%
7.6%
29
37
45
54
64
8.5%
38
46
56
66
77
9.4%
47
56
66
78
90
10.4%
55
66
77
89
102
11.3%
64
75
88
101
115
All the inputs moving at once
4,571 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 2.0%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$15.94
Median$60.45
90th percentile$157.55
$0.00$100.00$200.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$33.73</b> and <b>$101.51</b>; one in ten below $15.94, one in ten above $157.55.
Does the long run make sense?
13.1×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 13.1 times that year's EBITDA.
14%To grow 2.5% forever while reinvesting 18% of its after-tax operating profit, the business must earn 14% on the new capital — it has earned 3% on average over the last five years.
79%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 4 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market$258,8941 sale(s) by 1 insider(s)
Under pre-arranged plans100%of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.