AEE · Utilities(electric & other services combined) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Ameren Corp reported revenue of $8.8 billion in fiscal 2025, after growing 4.2% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin widened from 21.8% in 2016 to 23.0%, and it earned 5.7% on its invested capital in the latest year. Of the $22.9 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 135.4% went back into the business and 24.4% to dividends; the share count rose 11.8%. On the accounting screens, it passes 6 of 8 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 0.86 is in the distress zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; 2 of the six cross-checks between its statements fire.
Revenue, fiscal 20258.8B+4.2% a year over 9 years
Operating margin23.0%gross margin —
Return on invested capital5.7%5.1% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow after stock pay-803.0M-9.1% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA5.3×net debt 19.2B
Piotroski F-score6/8tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
02.5B5.0B7.5B10.0B
2016Revenue 6.1BOperating income 1.3B
2017Revenue 6.2BOperating income 1.4B
2018Revenue 6.3BOperating income 1.4B
2019Revenue 5.9BOperating income 1.3B
2020Revenue 5.8BOperating income 1.3B
2021Revenue 6.4BOperating income 1.3B
2022Revenue 8.0BOperating income 1.5B
2023Revenue 7.5BOperating income 1.6B
2024Revenue 7.6BOperating income 1.5B
2025Revenue 8.8BOperating income 2.0B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+3.4%
+8.7%
+4.2%
Operating income
+10.2%
+9.3%
+4.9%
Net income
+10.6%
+10.7%
+9.4%
Earnings per share
+8.9%
+8.8%
+8.0%
Dividend per share
+6.3%
+7.3%
+5.7%
Shares
+1.6%
+1.8%
+1.3%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow
-40.0%-20.0%0.0%20.0%40.0%
2016Operating 21.8%Net 10.7%Free cash flow 0.7%
2017Operating 22.8%Net 8.5%Free cash flow -0.2%
2018Operating 21.6%Net 13.1%Free cash flow -1.8%
2019Operating 21.4%Net 14.1%Free cash flow -4.1%
2020Operating 22.4%Net 15.1%Free cash flow -26.0%
2021Operating 20.8%Net 15.6%Free cash flow -28.4%
2022Operating 19.0%Net 13.6%Free cash flow -13.7%
2023Operating 20.8%Net 15.4%Free cash flow -13.8%
2024Operating 19.9%Net 15.6%Free cash flow -20.4%
2025Operating 23.0%Net 16.6%Free cash flow -8.8%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Return on invested capital
Return on invested capital
0.0%2.0%4.0%6.0%8.0%
2016Return on invested capital 5.8%
2017Return on invested capital 4.5%
2018Return on invested capital 6.6%
2019Return on invested capital 6.0%
2020Return on invested capital 5.5%
2021Return on invested capital 5.1%
2022Return on invested capital 5.3%
2023Return on invested capital 4.9%
2024Return on invested capital 4.8%
2025Return on invested capital 5.7%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Needs a cost of capital, which comes from the valuation below.
Return on equity
10.9%
Return on assets
3.0%
Asset turnover
0.18×
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
-2.0B-1.0B01.0B2.0B
2016Net income 653.0MFree cash flow 41.0MAfter stock-based pay 24.0M
2017Net income 523.0MFree cash flow -14.0MAfter stock-based pay -31.0M
2018Net income 821.0MFree cash flow -116.0MAfter stock-based pay -136.0M
2019Net income 834.0MFree cash flow -241.0MAfter stock-based pay -261.0M
2020Net income 877.0MFree cash flow -1.5BAfter stock-based pay -1.5B
2021Net income 995.0MFree cash flow -1.8BAfter stock-based pay -1.8B
2022Net income 1.1BFree cash flow -1.1BAfter stock-based pay -1.1B
2023Net income 1.2BFree cash flow -1.0BAfter stock-based pay -1.1B
2024Net income 1.2BFree cash flow -1.6BAfter stock-based pay -1.6B
2025Net income 1.5BFree cash flow -775.0MAfter stock-based pay -803.0M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025
22.9B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 135%31.0B
Acquisitions 0%0
Dividends 24%5.6B
Share buybacks 0%75.0M
More than it generated: funded with cash or new debt -60%-13.8B
Over the same years it paid 223.0M in stock. The share count rose 11.8%. The buybacks did not even cover what was handed out in stock.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$-10.00$-5.00$0.00$5.00$10.00
2016Earnings per share $2.68Free cash flow per share $0.17Dividend per share $1.71
2017Earnings per share $2.14Free cash flow per share $-0.06Dividend per share $1.76
2018Earnings per share $3.34Free cash flow per share $-0.47Dividend per share $1.83
2019Earnings per share $3.38Free cash flow per share $-0.98Dividend per share $1.91
2020Earnings per share $3.53Free cash flow per share $-6.06Dividend per share $1.99
2021Earnings per share $3.86Free cash flow per share $-7.06Dividend per share $2.19
2022Earnings per share $4.16Free cash flow per share $-4.19Dividend per share $2.35
2023Earnings per share $4.39Free cash flow per share $-3.92Dividend per share $2.51
2024Earnings per share $4.44Free cash flow per share $-5.82Dividend per share $2.67
2025Earnings per share $5.37Free cash flow per share $-2.85Dividend per share $2.82
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
240.0M250.0M260.0M270.0M280.0M
2016Diluted shares 243.4M
2017Diluted shares 244.2M
2018Diluted shares 245.8M
2019Diluted shares 247.1M
2020Diluted shares 248.7M
2021Diluted shares 257.6M
2022Diluted shares 259.5M
2023Diluted shares 263.4M
2024Diluted shares 267.4M
2025Diluted shares 272.2M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
05.0B10.0B15.0B20.0B
2016Net debt 7.3B
2017Net debt 7.9B
2018Net debt 8.4B
2019Net debt 9.3B
2020Net debt 10.9B
2021Net debt 13.1B
2022Net debt 14.0B
2023Net debt 15.9B
2024Net debt 17.6B
2025Net debt 19.2B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
5.3×
Interest coverage
3× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
0.66 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
— collects in 28d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
6of 8 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✓Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforepassed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✓Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellpassed
✕More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforefailed
✕No new sharesShare count did not growfailed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
0.86distress zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets -0.03 × 6.56-0.18
Retained earnings ÷ assets 0.11 × 3.26+0.36
Operating income ÷ assets 0.04 × 6.72+0.28
Equity ÷ liabilities 0.38 × 1.05+0.40
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-2.43below the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 1.10+1.01
Gross margin slipping 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.53
Soft assets 1.01+0.41
Sales growth 1.15+1.03
Slower depreciation 1.02+0.12
Overheads vs sales 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)-0.17
Profit not in cash -0.04-0.18
Leverage rising 0.98-0.32
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
The effective tax rate is 8.5%.
Benign
A favourable geographic mix, or legitimate tax credits.
Worrying
Not sustainable; projecting it forward inflates the valuation.
Net debt is 5.3 times EBITDA.
Benign
A stable sector with predictable cash flows and comfortable maturities.
Worrying
Little room if earnings fall; the maturity schedule is what to check.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
With a free cash flow margin at or below zero in year ten, the business never generates cash for its owners and a DCF says nothing useful. Set a positive margin for year ten to see what it would take.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.