ADEA · Communication(cable & other pay television services) · 9 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Adeia Inc. reported revenue of $443.4 million in fiscal 2025. Of the $1.7 billion its operations generated over 9 years, 16.3% went to buybacks and 12.9% to dividends. On the accounting screens, it passes 8 of 8 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 3.74 is in the safe zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; none of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 2025443.4M
Operating margin39.5%gross margin —
Return on invested capital15.3%11.1% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow after stock pay121.6M27.4% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA2.0×net debt 345.3M
Piotroski F-score8/8tests of improvement passed
Share counts are in today's shares. The SEC's filings restate only recent years after a split, so these jumps were read as splits and the older years scaled to match — otherwise per-share figures would compare different units:
2-for-1 before fiscal 2020.
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
-200.0M0200.0M400.0M600.0M
2017
2018Revenue 406.1MOperating income 24.0M
2019Revenue 280.1MOperating income -68.7M
2020Revenue 515.9MOperating income 267.5M
2021Revenue 391.2MOperating income 119.0M
2022Revenue 438.9MOperating income 153.1M
2023Revenue 388.8MOperating income 136.2M
2024Revenue 376.0MOperating income 128.6M
2025Revenue 443.4MOperating income 175.0M
201720182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
8 yrs
Revenue
+0.3%
-3.0%
—
Operating income
+4.6%
-8.1%
—
Net income
—
-5.4%
—
Earnings per share
—
-10.9%
—
Free cash flow per share
-4.4%
-22.7%
—
Dividend per share
-0.2%
-12.1%
—
Shares
+1.6%
+6.1%
—
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 9.0%
-10.0%0.0%10.0%20.0%
2017
2018
2019Return on invested capital -9.6%
2020Return on invested capital 10.9%
2021Return on invested capital 5.3%
2022Return on invested capital 11.0%
2023Return on invested capital 12.2%
2024Return on invested capital 11.7%
2025Return on invested capital 15.3%
201720182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Economic profit
-200.0M-100.0M0100.0M
2017
2018
2019Economic profit -163.7M
2020Economic profit 43.1M
2021Economic profit -78.7M
2022Economic profit 20.6M
2023Economic profit 30.2M
2024Economic profit 24.1M
2025Economic profit 57.3M
201720182019202020212022202320242025
(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.
Return on equity
23.1%
Return on assets
10.7%
Asset turnover
0.43×
Research & development
15.2% of revenue
Overheads (SG&A)
27.0% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
-400.0M-200.0M0200.0M400.0M600.0M
2017
2018Net income -289,000Free cash flow 131.8MAfter stock-based pay 100.8M
2019Net income -62.5MFree cash flow 160.4MAfter stock-based pay 128.9M
2020Net income 146.8MFree cash flow 420.2MAfter stock-based pay 381.1M
2021Net income -55.5MFree cash flow 220.8MAfter stock-based pay 162.7M
2022Net income -295.9MFree cash flow 170.4MAfter stock-based pay 117.8M
2023Net income 67.4MFree cash flow 148.9MAfter stock-based pay 130.9M
2024Net income 64.6MFree cash flow 210.6MAfter stock-based pay 184.0M
2025Net income 111.1MFree cash flow 156.3MAfter stock-based pay 121.6M
201720182019202020212022202320242025
Where 9 years of operating cash went, 2017–2025
1.7B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 3%53.5M
Acquisitions 4%67.9M
Dividends 13%216.3M
Share buybacks 16%272.1M
Kept, or used to pay down debt 64%1.1B
Over the same years it paid 291.9M in stock. The buybacks did not even cover what was handed out in stock.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$-4.00$-2.00$0.00$2.00$4.00$6.00
2017
2018Earnings per share $-0.01Free cash flow per share $2.70Dividend per share $0.80
2019Earnings per share $-1.27Free cash flow per share $3.27Dividend per share $0.80
2020Earnings per share $1.75Free cash flow per share $5.01Dividend per share $0.37
2021Earnings per share $-0.52Free cash flow per share $2.06Dividend per share $0.20
2022Earnings per share $-2.75Free cash flow per share $1.58Dividend per share $0.19
2023Earnings per share $0.60Free cash flow per share $1.32Dividend per share $0.19
2024Earnings per share $0.57Free cash flow per share $1.86Dividend per share $0.19
2025Earnings per share $0.99Free cash flow per share $1.39Dividend per share $0.19
201720182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
40.0M60.0M80.0M100.0M120.0M
2017
2018Diluted shares 48.8M
2019Diluted shares 49.1M
2020Diluted shares 83.9M
2021Diluted shares 107.3M
2022Diluted shares 107.6M
2023Diluted shares 112.8M
2024Diluted shares 113.1M
2025Diluted shares 112.7M
201720182019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
0200.0M400.0M600.0M800.0M
2017
2018
2019Net debt 260.1M
2020Net debt 669.2M
2021Net debt 685.1M
2022Net debt 614.8M
2023Net debt 531.1M
2024Net debt 396.6M
2025Net debt 345.3M
201720182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
2.0×
Interest coverage
4× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
3.81 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
— collects in 24d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
8of 8 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✓Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforepassed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✓Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellpassed
✓More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforepassed
✓No new sharesShare count did not growpassed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
3.74safe zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets 0.22 × 6.56+1.42
Retained earnings ÷ assets 0.09 × 3.26+0.29
Operating income ÷ assets 0.17 × 6.72+1.13
Equity ÷ liabilities 0.86 × 1.05+0.90
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-2.81below the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 0.71+0.65
Gross margin slipping 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.53
Soft assets 0.92+0.37
Sales growth 1.18+1.05
Slower depreciation 1.02+0.12
Overheads vs sales 0.98-0.17
Profit not in cash -0.05-0.21
Leverage rising 0.96-0.31
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
None of the six cross-checks fires for the latest year: receivables and inventory move with revenue, profit turns into cash, investment keeps up with depreciation, the tax rate is ordinary and debt is moderate.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
Value per share, with these assumptions$9.19discounted at 9.0% a year · 52% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
9.3×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
7.8×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
3.1×
Free cash flow yield
11.7%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today662.9M
Everything after, today718.4M
The whole business1.4B
Minus net debt-345.3M
What belongs to shareholders1.0B
Divided among 112.7M shares: <strong>$9.19</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
0100.0M200.0M300.0M400.0M
2017
2018Reported 100.8M
2019Reported 128.9M
2020Reported 381.1M
2021Reported 162.7M
2022Reported 117.8M
2023Reported 130.9M
2024Reported 184.0M
2025Reported 121.6M
2026Projected 106.8M
2027Projected 104.2M
2028Projected 102.4M
2029Projected 101.2M
2030Projected 100.6M
2031Projected 100.7M
2032Projected 101.3M
2033Projected 102.6M
2034Projected 104.6M
2035Projected 107.2M
2017201920212023202520272029203120332035
Year by year
2026
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
Revenue
430.1M
419.8M
412.3M
407.5M
405.3M
405.5M
408.2M
413.4M
421.2M
431.8M
Growth
-3.0%
-2.4%
-1.8%
-1.2%
-0.6%
0.1%
0.7%
1.3%
1.9%
2.5%
Cash margin
24.8%
24.8%
24.8%
24.8%
24.8%
24.8%
24.8%
24.8%
24.8%
24.8%
Free cash flow
106.8M
104.2M
102.4M
101.2M
100.6M
100.7M
101.3M
102.6M
104.6M
107.2M
Worth today
98.0M
87.8M
79.1M
71.7M
65.5M
60.1M
55.5M
51.6M
48.2M
45.4M
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
8.0%
10
10
11
13
14
8.5%
9
9
10
11
12
9.0%
8
9
9
10
11
9.5%
7
8
8
9
10
10.0%
7
7
8
8
9
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
-7.0%
-5.0%
-3.0%
-1.0%
1.0%
19.9%
6
7
7
8
9
22.3%
6
7
8
9
10
24.8%
7
8
9
10
11
27.3%
8
9
10
11
13
29.8%
9
10
11
12
14
All the inputs moving at once
5,000 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 3.7%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$6.20
Median$9.23
90th percentile$13.84
$5.00$10.00$15.00$20.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$7.47</b> and <b>$11.33</b>; one in ten below $6.20, one in ten above $13.84.
Does the long run make sense?
9.8×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 9.8 times that year's EBITDA.
12%To grow 2.5% forever while reinvesting 20% of its after-tax operating profit, the business must earn 12% on the new capital — it has earned 11% on average over the last five years.
52%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 6 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market$3.2M1 sale(s) by 1 insider(s)
Under pre-arranged plans0%of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.