XEL · Utilities(electric & other services combined) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Of the $32.5 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 153.1% went back into the business and 26.4% to dividends; the share count rose 15.7%. On the accounting screens, it passes 4 of 7 Piotroski tests and its Altman Z'' of 0.84 is in the distress zone; 1 of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 2025—
Operating margin—gross margin —
Return on invested capital3.9%9.0% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow after stock pay-6.9B
Net debt ÷ EBITDA6.0×net debt 33.1B
Piotroski F-score4/7tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
05.0B10.0B15.0B
2017Revenue 11.4BOperating income 2.2B
2018
2018Revenue 11.5BOperating income 2.0B
2019Operating income 2.1B
2020Operating income 2.1B
2021Operating income 2.2B
2022Operating income 2.4B
2023Operating income 2.5B
2024Operating income 2.4B
2025Operating income 2.6B
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Operating income
+2.1%
+4.1%
+1.7%
Net income
+5.1%
+6.5%
+6.5%
Earnings per share
+2.6%
+4.2%
+4.8%
Dividend per share
+5.6%
+6.1%
+4.9%
Shares
+2.5%
+2.2%
+1.6%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
Needs a cost of capital, which comes from the valuation below.
Return on equity
8.5%
Return on assets
2.5%
Asset turnover
—
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
-7.5B-5.0B-2.5B02.5B
2017Net income 1.1BFree cash flow -118.0MAfter stock-based pay -175.0M
2018
2018Net income 1.3BFree cash flow -835.0MAfter stock-based pay -880.0M
2019Net income 1.4BFree cash flow -962.0MAfter stock-based pay -1.0B
2020Net income 1.5BFree cash flow -2.5BAfter stock-based pay -2.6B
2021Net income 1.6BFree cash flow -2.1BAfter stock-based pay -2.1B
2022Net income 1.7BFree cash flow -706.0MAfter stock-based pay -726.0M
2023Net income 1.8BFree cash flow -527.0MAfter stock-based pay -552.0M
2024Net income 1.9BFree cash flow -2.7BAfter stock-based pay -2.8B
2025Net income 2.0BFree cash flow -6.8BAfter stock-based pay -6.9B
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2017–2025
32.5B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 153%49.8B
Acquisitions 0%0
Dividends 26%8.6B
Share buybacks 0%4.0M
More than it generated: funded with cash or new debt -80%-25.9B
Over the same years it paid 388.0M in stock. The share count rose 15.7%. The buybacks did not even cover what was handed out in stock.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$-15.00$-10.00$-5.00$0.00$5.00
2017Earnings per share $2.26Free cash flow per share $-0.23Dividend per share $1.42
2018
2018Earnings per share $2.47Free cash flow per share $-1.63Dividend per share $1.43
2019Earnings per share $2.64Free cash flow per share $-1.85Dividend per share $1.52
2020Earnings per share $2.79Free cash flow per share $-4.77Dividend per share $1.62
2021Earnings per share $2.96Free cash flow per share $-3.81Dividend per share $1.73
2022Earnings per share $3.17Free cash flow per share $-1.29Dividend per share $1.85
2023Earnings per share $3.21Free cash flow per share $-0.95Dividend per share $1.98
2024Earnings per share $3.44Free cash flow per share $-4.84Dividend per share $2.09
2025Earnings per share $3.43Free cash flow per share $-11.59Dividend per share $2.18
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
500.0M525.0M550.0M575.0M600.0M
2017Diluted shares 509.0M
2018Diluted shares 508.9M
2018Diluted shares 511.0M
2019Diluted shares 520.0M
2020Diluted shares 528.0M
2021Diluted shares 540.0M
2022Diluted shares 547.0M
2023Diluted shares 552.0M
2024Diluted shares 563.0M
2025Diluted shares 589.0M
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
010.0B20.0B30.0B40.0B
2017Net debt 731.0M
2018
2018Net debt 891.0M
2019Net debt 347.0M
2020Net debt 455.0M
2021Net debt 839.0M
2022Net debt 702.0M
2023Net debt 656.0M
2024Net debt 27.8B
2025Net debt 33.1B
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
6.0×
Interest coverage
2× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
0.71 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
—
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
4of 7 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✕Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforefailed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✕Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellfailed
✓More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforepassed
✕No new sharesShare count did not growfailed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
–Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year before — not reportedno data
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
0.84distress zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets -0.03 × 6.56-0.17
Retained earnings ÷ assets 0.11 × 3.26+0.37
Operating income ÷ assets 0.03 × 6.72+0.21
Equity ÷ liabilities 0.41 × 1.05+0.43
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
The accounts lack too many of the lines it needs.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
Net debt is 6.0 times EBITDA.
Benign
A stable sector with predictable cash flows and comfortable maturities.
Worrying
Little room if earnings fall; the maturity schedule is what to check.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
The SEC accounts lack the lines needed for revenue, free cash flow or the share count, so there is no DCF for this company.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 6 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market—none in the period
Under pre-arranged plans—of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.