SphinxRisk
Create account
EN

Usana Health Sciences Inc

USNA · Health care (medicinal chemicals & botanical products) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2026-01-03

Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›

Usana Health Sciences Inc reported revenue of $925.3 million in fiscal 2026, after shrinking 1.4% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin narrowed from 12.7% in 2017 to 4.0%. Of the $942.1 million its operations generated over 10 years, 65.2% went to buybacks and 22.3% to acquisitions; the share count fell 24.8%. On the accounting screens, it passes 6 of 8 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 7.37 is in the safe zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; 2 of the six cross-checks between its statements fire.

Revenue, fiscal 2026 925.3M -1.4% a year over 9 years
Operating margin 4.0% gross margin 78.3%
Return on invested capital —  
Free cash flow after stock pay -5.3M -0.6% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA — net debt —
Piotroski F-score 6/8 tests of improvement passed

Is it growing?

Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.

RevenueOperating income
Compound growth a year
3 yrs5 yrs9 yrs
Revenue-2.5%-4.0%-1.4%
Operating income-29.7%-26.7%-13.1%
Net income-46.3%-38.7%-17.8%
Earnings per share-45.6%-37.1%-15.1%
Free cash flow per share-54.4%-41.7%-22.4%
Shares-1.3%-2.7%-3.1%

Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.

Does it earn more than its capital costs?

Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.

GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow

Return on invested capital

Return on invested capital Cost of capital today · 10.2%

Economic profit

Needs a cost of capital, which comes from the valuation below.

Return on equity
2.0%
Return on assets
1.4%
Asset turnover
1.25×
Research & development
1.2% of revenue
Overheads (SG&A)
36.5% of revenue

Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?

Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.

Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay

Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2017–2026

942.1M generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.

  • Reinvested in the business 13% 117.9M
  • Acquisitions 22% 209.9M
  • Dividends 0% 0
  • Share buybacks 65% 614.2M
  • Kept, or used to pay down debt 0% 228,000

Over the same years it paid 131.0M in stock. The share count fell 24.8%. 483.2M of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.

Per share

Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share

Shares outstanding

Diluted shares

Debt and liquidity

Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.

Net debt ÷ EBITDA
—
Interest coverage
44× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
2.24 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
—

Three classic screens of the accounts

Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.

Piotroski F-score

Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.

6of 8 tests passed
  • ProfitableReturn on assets above zero passed
  • Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zero passed
  • Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year before failed
  • Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals) passed
  • Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fell — not reported no data
  • More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year before passed
  • No new sharesShare count did not grow passed
  • Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before failed
  • Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year before passed

Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.

Altman Z''-score

Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?

7.37safe zone
  • Working capital ÷ assets 0.22 × 6.56+1.41
  • Retained earnings ÷ assets 0.63 × 3.26+2.04
  • Operating income ÷ assets 0.05 × 6.72+0.34
  • Equity ÷ liabilities 3.40 × 1.05+3.57

Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.

Beneish M-score

Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?

-2.54below the -1.78 line
  • Receivables vs sales 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.92
  • Gross margin slipping 1.04+0.55
  • Soft assets 0.97+0.39
  • Sales growth 1.08+0.97
  • Slower depreciation 0.52+0.06
  • Overheads vs sales 1.18-0.20
  • Profit not in cash -0.02-0.07
  • Leverage rising 0.93-0.30

Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.

Where the statements disagree

Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.

Inventory is growing 47% against revenue growing 8%.

Benign

Stocking up for a launch, or securing supply.

Worrying

Demand is softening; discounts or write-downs tend to follow.

Capital spending (14M) is well below depreciation (33M).

Benign

Mature assets, or a business that has become less capital-intensive.

Worrying

Under-investing: today's profit is being held up by consuming tomorrow's capacity.

What is it worth, under which assumptions?

A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.

Revenue
M $

revenue of fiscal 2026

%

revenue grew -4.0% a year over the last 5 years; it fades to the terminal rate by the last year

yrs

ten years for growth to fade to the terminal rate

Cash from each sale
%

free cash flow to the firm after stock-based pay ÷ revenue, last 3 fiscal years together

%

the margin in year ten; by default the business keeps today's

The long run
%

growth forever after year ten, below the risk-free rate: no company outgrows the economy forever

The discount rate
%

10-year US Treasury par yield (U.S. Treasury), 2026-09-28

not measured on this public page, which uses only public filings: 1.0 assumes it moves like the market. Sign in to measure it from prices

%

the extra return demanded for holding shares; it cannot be measured, and 4–6% is the common range

%

no interest line: the risk-free rate + 1.5 points

%

effective rate in the last fiscal year, 72.4%, kept within 0–35%

The price
$

Type the price you see at your broker. It is used only for the reverse questions: what that price implies.

Back to the defaults

SEC from the filings Treasury the 10-year yield measured from prices assumption cannot be measured yours you changed it

Value per share, with these assumptions $10.09 discounted at 10.2% a year · 46% of it from after year 10
$1.0980% of 5,000 simulations$20.37
Cautious $6.63 -8.0% growth · 1.7% margin · 11.2% discount · 2.0% forever
Your assumptions $10.09 -4.0% growth · 2.0% margin · 10.2% discount · 2.5% forever
Generous $16.15 0.0% growth · 2.3% margin · 9.2% discount · 3.0% forever

Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.

What the value implies, in the usual multiples

At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings17.4×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA2.7×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue0.2×
Free cash flow yield-2.8%

From cash flows to a value per share

10 years of cash flow, today101.9M
Everything after, today85.5M
The whole business187.4M
Minus net debt-0
What belongs to shareholders187.4M

Divided among 18.6M shares: <strong>$10.09</strong> each.

The projection next to its history

Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.

ReportedProjected
Year by year
2027202820292030203120322033203420352036
Revenue888.2M859.1M837.2M821.8M812.7M809.5M812.2M820.8M835.4M856.3M
Growth-4.0%-3.3%-2.6%-1.8%-1.1%-0.4%0.3%1.1%1.8%2.5%
Cash margin2.0%2.0%2.0%2.0%2.0%2.0%2.0%2.0%2.0%2.0%
Free cash flow17.7M17.2M16.7M16.4M16.2M16.2M16.2M16.4M16.7M17.1M
Worth today16.1M14.1M12.5M11.1M10.0M9.0M8.2M7.5M6.9M6.5M

If the least-known inputs move

Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.

The discount rate and growth forever

discount ↓ · forever →1.5%2.0%2.5%3.0%3.5%
9.2% 10 11 12 12 13
9.7% 10 10 11 11 12
10.2% 9 10 10 11 11
10.7% 9 9 10 10 10
11.2% 8 9 9 9 10

Year-one growth and the final margin

margin ↓ · growth →-8.0%-6.0%-4.0%-2.0%0.0%
1.6% 7 8 9 9 10
1.8% 8 9 9 10 11
2.0% 9 9 10 11 12
2.2% 9 10 11 12 13
2.4% 10 11 12 13 14

All the inputs moving at once

5,000 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 2.0%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.

Half of the simulations land between <b>$5.33</b> and <b>$15.34</b>; one in ten below $1.09, one in ten above $20.37.

Does the long run make sense?

  • 3.5×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 3.5 times that year's EBITDA.
  • 10%To grow 2.5% forever while reinvesting 24% of its after-tax operating profit, the business must earn 10% on the new capital.
  • 46%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
The discount rate, taken apart
  1. What shareholders demand (CAPM): 5.24% risk-free + 1.00 beta × 5.0% premium = <strong>10.24%</strong>.
  2. What lenders charge, after the tax saving on interest: 6.74% × (1 − 35.0%) = <strong>4.38%</strong>.
  3. Weighted by how much of each the company uses (book value (no price given)): <strong>10.24%</strong>, the rate every future cash flow is discounted at.

What it has filed lately

The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.

What its own directors and officers did

Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 6 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.

Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market—none in the period
Under pre-arranged plans—of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
Other lines80 awards · 6 option exercises · 2 tax withholdings
DateWhoWhatSharesPriceValueHolds after
23 Jul 2026 Ding XiaDirector Exercised options 1,632 — — 8,882
23 Jul 2026 Ding XiaDirector Shares withheld for taxes 604 $20.92 $12,636 8,278
23 Jul 2026 Fleming John TurmanDirector Exercised options 1,632 — — 5,862
23 Jul 2026 Pelosi PeggieDirector Exercised options 1,632 — — 6,996
23 Jul 2026 Pelosi PeggieDirector Shares withheld for taxes 935 $20.92 $19,560 6,061
23 Jul 2026 Fuller Gilbert ADirector Exercised options 1,632 — — 1,632
23 Jul 2026 Nixon J ScottDirector Exercised options 1,632 — — 11,445
23 Jul 2026 Winssinger Frederic JDirector Exercised options 1,632 — — 9,733

A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.

Companies like this one

Same SEC industry (medicinal chemicals & botanical products) first, then the rest of health care.

Every figure, year by year

10 fiscal years · 30 measures
2017201820192021202120222022202320242026
Size
Revenue1.0B1.2B1.1B—1.1B1.2B998.6M921.0M854.5M925.3M
Revenue growth—+13.6%-10.8%——+4.6%-15.8%-7.8%-7.2%+8.3%
Operating income132.5M188.4M146.2M—176.5M170.2M107.6M93.1M66.3M37.4M
Net income62.5M126.2M100.5M—124.7M116.5M69.3M63.8M42.0M10.8M
Margins
Gross margin82.9%83.1%82.3%—81.6%81.6%80.6%80.8%81.1%78.3%
Operating margin12.7%15.8%13.8%—15.6%14.3%10.8%10.1%7.8%4.0%
Net margin6.0%10.6%9.5%—11.0%9.8%6.9%6.9%4.9%1.2%
Free cash flow margin10.6%11.8%10.4%—12.8%9.1%9.4%6.1%6.0%0.9%
R&D ÷ revenue0.9%0.9%1.0%—0.9%0.9%1.2%1.2%1.4%1.2%
SG&A ÷ revenue25.3%23.1%25.2%—23.0%23.5%26.3%27.9%30.8%36.5%
Cash
Free cash flow110.6M140.7M110.2M—145.3M108.5M93.5M56.1M50.9M8.5M
Stock-based pay15.5M15.0M15.5M—14.4M14.3M13.3M14.6M14.6M13.8M
Free cash flow after stock pay95.1M125.7M94.6M—130.9M94.2M80.2M41.6M36.4M-5.3M
Free cash flow to the firm64.4M108.7M111.4M—148.6M103.7M100.5M60.8M34.6M1.5M
Free cash flow ÷ net income1.8×1.1×1.1×—1.2×0.9×1.3×0.9×1.2×0.8×
Capex ÷ revenue1.3%1.0%1.6%—1.3%1.1%1.0%1.6%1.2%1.5%
Returns
Return on invested capital——————————
Return on equity17.2%32.3%28.6%—28.2%29.5%16.0%12.8%7.9%2.0%
Return on assets12.0%22.8%19.4%—19.5%20.2%11.6%10.1%5.6%1.4%
Asset turnover2.0×2.1×2.1×—1.8×2.1×1.7×1.5×1.1×1.2×
Economic profit——————————
Per share
Earnings per share$2.53$5.12$4.41—$5.86$5.73$3.59$3.30$2.19$0.58
Free cash flow per share$4.47$5.71$4.83—$6.84$5.33$4.84$2.90$2.66$0.46
Dividend per share——————————
Payout ratio——————————
Book value per share$15.12$16.60$16.24—$20.99$20.37$22.62$25.99$27.91$29.16
Diluted shares24.7M24.6M22.8M—21.3M20.3M19.3M19.3M19.2M18.6M
Balance sheet
Net debt——————————
Net debt ÷ EBITDA——————————
Interest coverage2880.5×5232.0×2215.0×—348.1×2985.8×560.5×355.2×236.0×44.5×
Current ratio2.4×2.6×2.4×—2.5×2.3×2.7×3.5×2.0×2.2×
Cash conversion cycle (days)——————————
Scores
Piotroski F-score—840275556
Altman Z''8.489.628.52—8.768.528.8110.237.367.37
Beneish M—-2.63-2.63——-2.47-2.87-2.55-1.99-2.54

Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.