SLB · Energy(oil & gas field services, nec) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
SLB Limited reported revenue of $35.7 billion in fiscal 2025, after growing 2.8% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin widened from 11.8% in 2016 to 13.6%, and it earned 10.9% on its invested capital in the latest year. Of the $54.1 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 34.6% went to dividends and 32.3% back into the business; the share count rose 5.9%. On the accounting screens, it passes 4 of 8 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 3.23 is in the safe zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; 1 of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 202535.7B+2.8% a year over 9 years
Operating margin13.6%gross margin —
Return on invested capital10.9%13.5% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow after stock pay4.5B12.5% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA1.3×net debt 9.7B
Piotroski F-score4/8tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
010.0B20.0B30.0B40.0B
2016Revenue 27.8BOperating income 3.3B
2017Revenue 30.4BOperating income 3.9B
2018Revenue 32.8BOperating income 4.2B
2019Revenue 32.9BOperating income 4.0B
2020Revenue 23.6BOperating income 2.4B
2021Revenue 22.9BOperating income 3.4B
2022Revenue 28.1BOperating income 5.0B
2023Revenue 33.1BOperating income 6.5B
2024Revenue 36.3BOperating income 6.2B
2025Revenue 35.7BOperating income 4.8B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+8.3%
+8.6%
+2.8%
Operating income
-1.1%
+15.1%
+4.5%
Net income
-0.7%
—
—
Earnings per share
-0.7%
—
—
Free cash flow per share
+31.6%
+20.5%
+0.8%
Dividend per share
+23.6%
-2.2%
-6.0%
Shares
+0.0%
+0.7%
+0.6%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 8.7%
0.0%5.0%10.0%15.0%20.0%
2016Return on invested capital 6.3%
2017Return on invested capital 9.7%
2018Return on invested capital 6.8%
2019Return on invested capital 10.6%
2020Return on invested capital 9.2%
2021Return on invested capital 9.7%
2022Return on invested capital 14.5%
2023Return on invested capital 17.0%
2024Return on invested capital 15.5%
2025Return on invested capital 10.9%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Economic profit
-2.0B-1.0B01.0B2.0B3.0B
2016Economic profit -1.4B
2017Economic profit 533.2M
2018Economic profit -928.8M
2019Economic profit 757.9M
2020Economic profit 138.0M
2021Economic profit 281.4M
2022Economic profit 1.6B
2023Economic profit 2.6B
2024Economic profit 2.2B
2025Economic profit 793.1M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.
Return on equity
12.9%
Return on assets
6.1%
Asset turnover
0.65×
Research & development
2.0% of revenue
Overheads (SG&A)
1.0% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
-15.0B-10.0B-5.0B05.0B
2016Net income -1.7BFree cash flow 4.2BAfter stock-based pay 3.9B
2017Net income -1.5BFree cash flow 3.6BAfter stock-based pay 3.2B
2018Net income 2.1BFree cash flow 3.6BAfter stock-based pay 3.2B
2019Net income -10.1BFree cash flow 3.7BAfter stock-based pay 3.3B
2020Net income -10.5BFree cash flow 1.8BAfter stock-based pay 1.4B
2021Net income 1.9BFree cash flow 3.5BAfter stock-based pay 3.2B
2022Net income 3.4BFree cash flow 2.1BAfter stock-based pay 1.8B
2023Net income 4.2BFree cash flow 4.7BAfter stock-based pay 4.4B
2024Net income 4.5BFree cash flow 4.7BAfter stock-based pay 4.4B
2025Net income 3.4BFree cash flow 4.8BAfter stock-based pay 4.5B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025
54.1B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 32%17.5B
Acquisitions 0%0
Dividends 35%18.7B
Share buybacks 0%0
Kept, or used to pay down debt 33%17.9B
Over the same years it paid 3.3B in stock. The share count rose 5.9%.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$-10.00$-5.00$0.00$5.00
2016Earnings per share $-1.24Free cash flow per share $3.10Dividend per share $1.95
2017Earnings per share $-1.08Free cash flow per share $2.56Dividend per share $2.00
2018Earnings per share $1.53Free cash flow per share $2.55Dividend per share $1.99
2019Earnings per share $-7.32Free cash flow per share $2.68Dividend per share $2.00
2020Earnings per share $-7.57Free cash flow per share $1.32Dividend per share $1.25
2021Earnings per share $1.32Free cash flow per share $2.46Dividend per share $0.49
2022Earnings per share $2.39Free cash flow per share $1.46Dividend per share $0.59
2023Earnings per share $2.91Free cash flow per share $3.26Dividend per share $0.91
2024Earnings per share $3.11Free cash flow per share $3.25Dividend per share $1.07
2025Earnings per share $2.35Free cash flow per share $3.34Dividend per share $1.11
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
1.4B1.4B1.4B1.4B1.4B
2016Diluted shares 1.4B
2017Diluted shares 1.4B
2018Diluted shares 1.4B
2019Diluted shares 1.4B
2020Diluted shares 1.4B
2021Diluted shares 1.4B
2022Diluted shares 1.4B
2023Diluted shares 1.4B
2024Diluted shares 1.4B
2025Diluted shares 1.4B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
05.0B10.0B15.0B20.0B
2016Net debt 18.4B
2017Net debt 14.9B
2018Net debt 14.6B
2019Net debt 14.8B
2020Net debt 16.0B
2021Net debt 13.3B
2022Net debt 10.6B
2023Net debt 10.8B
2024Net debt 11.0B
2025Net debt 9.7B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
1.3×
Interest coverage
9× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
1.33 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
— collects in 89d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
4of 8 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✕Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforefailed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✓Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellpassed
✕More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforefailed
✕No new sharesShare count did not growfailed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✕Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforefailed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
3.23safe zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets 0.09 × 6.56+0.57
Retained earnings ÷ assets 0.33 × 3.26+1.07
Operating income ÷ assets 0.09 × 6.72+0.59
Equity ÷ liabilities 0.95 × 1.05+0.99
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-2.59below the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 1.10+1.01
Gross margin slipping 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.53
Soft assets 1.06+0.43
Sales growth 0.98+0.88
Slower depreciation 1.02+0.12
Overheads vs sales 0.90-0.15
Profit not in cash -0.06-0.27
Leverage rising 0.92-0.30
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
Capital spending (1,694M) is well below depreciation (2,643M).
Benign
Mature assets, or a business that has become less capital-intensive.
Worrying
Under-investing: today's profit is being held up by consuming tomorrow's capacity.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
Value per share, with these assumptions$54.67discounted at 8.7% a year · 58% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
23.3×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
11.8×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
2.5×
Free cash flow yield
5.7%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today37.2B
Everything after, today51.1B
The whole business88.3B
Minus net debt-9.7B
What belongs to shareholders78.6B
Divided among 1.4B shares: <strong>$54.67</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
02.0B4.0B6.0B8.0B
2016Reported 3.9B
2017Reported 3.2B
2018Reported 3.2B
2019Reported 3.3B
2020Reported 1.4B
2021Reported 3.2B
2022Reported 1.8B
2023Reported 4.4B
2024Reported 4.4B
2025Reported 4.5B
2026Projected 4.5B
2027Projected 4.8B
2028Projected 5.2B
2029Projected 5.5B
2030Projected 5.8B
2031Projected 6.2B
2032Projected 6.4B
2033Projected 6.7B
2034Projected 6.9B
2035Projected 7.1B
2016201820202022202420262028203020322034
Year by year
2026
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
Revenue
38.7B
41.8B
44.8B
47.7B
50.5B
53.1B
55.5B
57.6B
59.4B
60.9B
Growth
8.5%
7.8%
7.2%
6.5%
5.8%
5.2%
4.5%
3.8%
3.2%
2.5%
Cash margin
11.6%
11.6%
11.6%
11.6%
11.6%
11.6%
11.6%
11.6%
11.6%
11.6%
Free cash flow
4.5B
4.8B
5.2B
5.5B
5.8B
6.2B
6.4B
6.7B
6.9B
7.1B
Worth today
4.1B
4.1B
4.0B
4.0B
3.9B
3.7B
3.6B
3.4B
3.3B
3.1B
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
7.7%
57
61
67
74
82
8.2%
52
56
60
66
72
8.7%
48
51
55
59
64
9.2%
44
47
50
54
58
9.7%
41
43
46
49
53
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
4.5%
6.5%
8.5%
10.5%
12.5%
9.3%
37
41
45
49
54
10.4%
41
45
50
55
60
11.6%
45
50
55
60
66
12.8%
49
54
60
65
71
13.9%
53
59
65
71
77
All the inputs moving at once
5,000 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 2.0%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$38.00
Median$54.73
90th percentile$80.58
$50.00$75.00$100.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$45.10</b> and <b>$66.75</b>; one in ten below $38.00, one in ten above $80.58.
Does the long run make sense?
9.2×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 9.2 times that year's EBITDA.
Free growthIn year 10 free cash flow is at or above after-tax operating profit, yet the model grows 2.5% forever. Growth needs reinvestment; this assumes it comes for free, which flatters the terminal value.
58%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.