SD · Energy(crude petroleum & natural gas) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Sandridge Energy Inc reported revenue of $156.4 million in fiscal 2025, after shrinking 8.8% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin widened from 11.1% in 2017 to 39.0%. Of the $1.0 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 35.0% went back into the business and 21.5% to dividends; the share count rose 13.0%. On the accounting screens, it passes 7 of 7 Piotroski tests and its Altman Z'' of 3.10 is in the safe zone; 1 of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 2025156.4M-8.8% a year over 9 years
Operating margin39.0%gross margin —
Return on invested capital—
Free cash flow after stock pay38.8M24.8% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA—net debt —
Piotroski F-score7/7tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
-500M-250M0250M500M
2017Revenue 357.3MOperating income 39.6M
2018Revenue 349.4MOperating income -10.4M
2019Revenue 266.8MOperating income -446.8M
2020Revenue 115.0MOperating income -273.5M
2021Revenue 168.9MOperating income 114.1M
2022Revenue 254.3MOperating income 175.5M
2023Revenue 148.6MOperating income 64.2M
2024
2024Revenue 125.3MOperating income 33.2M
2025Revenue 156.4MOperating income 61.0M
2017201820192020202120222023202420242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+1.7%
-1.5%
-8.8%
Operating income
-1.7%
-11.8%
+4.9%
Net income
+4.9%
-9.7%
+4.5%
Earnings per share
+5.1%
-9.5%
+3.1%
Free cash flow per share
-22.3%
-15.7%
—
Dividend per share
-41.9%
—
—
Shares
-0.2%
-0.2%
+1.4%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 10.3%
-200%-100%0%100%
2017Return on invested capital 3.5%
2018Return on invested capital -1.2%
2019Return on invested capital -97.1%
2020Return on invested capital -185.1%
2021Return on invested capital 46.5%
2022
2023
2024
2024
2025
2017201820192020202120222023202420242025
Economic profit
Economic profit
-600M-400M-200M0200M
2017Economic profit -59.4M
2018Economic profit -97.4M
2019Economic profit -494.0M
2020Economic profit -289.3M
2021Economic profit 88.9M
2022
2023
2024
2024
2025
2017201820192020202120222023202420242025
(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.
Return on equity
13.7%
Return on assets
10.9%
Asset turnover
0.24×
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
-600M-400M-200M0200M400M
2017Net income 47.1M
2018Net income -9.1M
2019Net income -449.3MFree cash flow -70.4MAfter stock-based pay -74.6M
2020Net income -277.4MFree cash flow 27.9MAfter stock-based pay 24.9M
2021Net income 116.7MFree cash flow 98.7MAfter stock-based pay 97.3M
2022Net income 242.2MFree cash flow 120.6MAfter stock-based pay 119.1M
2023Net income 60.9MFree cash flow 89.2MAfter stock-based pay 87.3M
2024
2024Net income 63.0MFree cash flow 47.5MAfter stock-based pay 45.2M
2025Net income 70.2MFree cash flow 41.5MAfter stock-based pay 38.8M
2017201820192020202120222023202420242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2017–2025
1.0B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 35%367.0M
Acquisitions 0%0
Dividends 21%225.3M
Share buybacks 1%6.6M
Kept, or used to pay down debt 43%449.8M
Over the same years it paid 56.4M in stock. The share count rose 13.0%. The buybacks did not even cover what was handed out in stock.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
-$15-$10-$5$0$5$10
2017Earnings per share $1.44
2018Earnings per share $-0.26
2019Earnings per share $-12.68Free cash flow per share $-1.99
2020Earnings per share $-7.77Free cash flow per share $0.78
2021Earnings per share $3.13Free cash flow per share $2.65Dividend per share $0.00
2022Earnings per share $6.52Free cash flow per share $3.25Dividend per share $0.00
2023Earnings per share $1.64Free cash flow per share $2.40Dividend per share $2.20
2024
2024Earnings per share $1.69Free cash flow per share $1.28Dividend per share $1.95
2025Earnings per share $1.90Free cash flow per share $1.13Dividend per share $0.43
2017201820192020202120222023202420242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
32M34M36M38M
2017Diluted shares 32.7M
2018Diluted shares 35.1M
2019Diluted shares 35.4M
2020Diluted shares 35.7M
2021Diluted shares 37.3M
2022Diluted shares 37.2M
2023Diluted shares 37.1M
2024
2024Diluted shares 37.2M
2025Diluted shares 36.9M
2017201820192020202120222023202420242025
Debt and liquidity
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
-150M-100M-50M050M100M
2017Net debt -61.6M
2018Net debt -17.7M
2019Net debt 53.2M
2020Net debt -2.1M
2021Net debt -137.3M
2022
2023
2024
2024
2025
2017201820192020202120222023202420242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
—
Interest coverage
— operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
2.17 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
— collects in 61d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
7of 7 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✓Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforepassed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
–Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fell — not reportedno data
✓More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforepassed
✓No new sharesShare count did not growpassed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
3.10safe zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets 0.12 × 6.56+0.81
Retained earnings ÷ assets -0.73 × 3.26-2.38
Operating income ÷ assets 0.09 × 6.72+0.64
Equity ÷ liabilities 3.84 × 1.05+4.03
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
The accounts lack too many of the lines it needs.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
The effective tax rate is 8.6%.
Benign
A favourable geographic mix, or legitimate tax credits.
Worrying
Not sustainable; projecting it forward inflates the valuation.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
Value per share, with these assumptions$8.88discounted at 10.3% a year · 46% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
4.7×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
3.2×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
2.1×
Free cash flow yield
11.8%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today175.8M
Everything after, today152.0M
The whole business327.9M
Minus net debt-0
What belongs to shareholders327.9M
Divided among 36.9M shares: <strong>$8.88</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
-100M-50M050M100M150M
2017
2018
2019Reported -74.6M
2020Reported 24.9M
2021Reported 97.3M
2022Reported 119.1M
2023Reported 87.3M
2024
2024Reported 45.2M
2025Reported 38.8M
2026Projected 29.3M
2027Projected 28.8M
2028Projected 28.5M
2029Projected 28.4M
2030Projected 28.4M
2031Projected 28.5M
2032Projected 28.8M
2033Projected 29.2M
2034Projected 29.8M
2035Projected 30.6M
2017201920212023202420262028203020322034
Year by year
2026
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
Revenue
153.2M
150.9M
149.4M
148.7M
148.7M
149.4M
150.9M
153.2M
156.2M
160.1M
Growth
-2.0%
-1.5%
-1.0%
-0.5%
0.0%
0.5%
1.0%
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
Cash margin
19.1%
19.1%
19.1%
19.1%
19.1%
19.1%
19.1%
19.1%
19.1%
19.1%
Free cash flow
29.3M
28.8M
28.5M
28.4M
28.4M
28.5M
28.8M
29.2M
29.8M
30.6M
Worth today
26.5M
23.7M
21.3M
19.2M
17.4M
15.9M
14.5M
13.4M
12.4M
11.5M
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
9.3%
9
10
10
11
11
9.8%
9
9
9
10
11
10.3%
8
8
9
9
10
10.8%
8
8
8
9
9
11.3%
7
8
8
8
9
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
-6.0%
-4.0%
-2.0%
0.0%
2.0%
15.3%
6
7
8
8
9
17.2%
7
8
8
9
10
19.1%
8
8
9
10
10
21.0%
8
9
10
10
11
22.9%
9
9
10
11
12
All the inputs moving at once
5,000 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 2.9%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$6.87
Median$8.91
90th percentile$11.84
$7.50$10.00$12.50$15.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$7.74</b> and <b>$10.25</b>; one in ten below $6.87, one in ten above $11.84.
Does the long run make sense?
3.8×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 3.8 times that year's EBITDA.
5%To grow 2.5% forever while reinvesting 46% of its after-tax operating profit, the business must earn 5% on the new capital.
46%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
What lenders charge, after the tax saving on interest: 6.76% × (1 − 8.6%) = <strong>6.18%</strong>.
Weighted by how much of each the company uses (book value (no price given)): <strong>10.26%</strong>, the rate every future cash flow is discounted at.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 6 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market—none in the period
Under pre-arranged plans—of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.