MOH · Health care(hospital & medical service plans) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Molina Healthcare, Inc. reported revenue of $45.4 billion in fiscal 2025, after growing 11.0% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin held steady at about 1.7% from 2016, and it earned 8.0% on its invested capital in the latest year. Of the $8.2 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 39.0% went to buybacks and 20.3% to acquisitions; the share count fell 5.9%. On the accounting screens, it passes 4 of 9 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 3.60 is in the safe zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; 2 of the six cross-checks between its statements fire.
Revenue, fiscal 202545.4B+11.0% a year over 9 years
Operating margin1.7%gross margin 13.1%
Return on invested capital8.0%15.3% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow after stock pay-683.0M-1.5% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDANet cash482.0M more cash than debt
Piotroski F-score4/9tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
-20.0B020.0B40.0B60.0B
2016Revenue 17.8BOperating income 306.0M
2017Revenue 19.9BOperating income -555.0M
2018Revenue 18.9BOperating income 1.1B
2019Revenue 16.8BOperating income 1.0B
2020Revenue 19.4BOperating income 1.1B
2021Revenue 27.8BOperating income 1.0B
2022Revenue 32.0BOperating income 1.2B
2023Revenue 34.1BOperating income 1.6B
2024Revenue 40.6BOperating income 1.7B
2025Revenue 45.4BOperating income 781.0M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+12.4%
+18.5%
+11.0%
Operating income
-12.7%
-6.2%
+11.0%
Net income
-15.8%
-6.8%
+27.8%
Earnings per share
-13.0%
-4.5%
+28.6%
Shares
-3.3%
-2.5%
-0.7%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 7.3%
-40.0%-20.0%0.0%20.0%40.0%
2016Return on invested capital 2.5%
2017Return on invested capital -24.3%
2018Return on invested capital 30.0%
2019Return on invested capital 24.6%
2020Return on invested capital 17.9%
2021Return on invested capital 16.0%
2022Return on invested capital 17.0%
2023Return on invested capital 18.3%
2024Return on invested capital 17.1%
2025Return on invested capital 8.0%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Economic profit
-1.0B-500.0M0500.0M1.0B
2016Economic profit -147.6M
2017Economic profit -838.8M
2018Economic profit 606.4M
2019Economic profit 557.8M
2020Economic profit 447.8M
2021Economic profit 418.9M
2022Economic profit 500.1M
2023Economic profit 707.1M
2024Economic profit 727.0M
2025Economic profit 56.0M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.
Return on equity
11.6%
Return on assets
3.0%
Asset turnover
2.92×
Overheads (SG&A)
6.6% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
-1.0B01.0B2.0B3.0B
2016Net income 52.0MFree cash flow 497.0MAfter stock-based pay 471.0M
2017Net income -512.0MFree cash flow 718.0MAfter stock-based pay 672.0M
2018Net income 707.0MFree cash flow -344.0MAfter stock-based pay -371.0M
2019Net income 737.0MFree cash flow 377.0MAfter stock-based pay 338.0M
2020Net income 673.0MFree cash flow 1.8BAfter stock-based pay 1.8B
2021Net income 659.0MFree cash flow 2.0BAfter stock-based pay 2.0B
2022Net income 792.0MFree cash flow 682.0MAfter stock-based pay 579.0M
2023Net income 1.1BFree cash flow 1.6BAfter stock-based pay 1.5B
2024Net income 1.2BFree cash flow 544.0MAfter stock-based pay 428.0M
2025Net income 472.0MFree cash flow -636.0MAfter stock-based pay -683.0M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025
8.2B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 11%876.0M
Acquisitions 20%1.7B
Dividends 0%0
Share buybacks 39%3.2B
Kept, or used to pay down debt 30%2.4B
Over the same years it paid 648.0M in stock. The share count fell 5.9%. 2.5B of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$-20.00$0.00$20.00$40.00
2016Earnings per share $0.93Free cash flow per share $8.84
2017Earnings per share $-9.08Free cash flow per share $12.73
2018Earnings per share $10.62Free cash flow per share $-5.17
2019Earnings per share $11.48Free cash flow per share $5.87
2020Earnings per share $11.24Free cash flow per share $30.45
2021Earnings per share $11.25Free cash flow per share $34.85
2022Earnings per share $13.54Free cash flow per share $11.66
2023Earnings per share $18.78Free cash flow per share $27.16
2024Earnings per share $20.43Free cash flow per share $9.43
2025Earnings per share $8.92Free cash flow per share $-12.02
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
50.0M55.0M60.0M65.0M70.0M
2016Diluted shares 56.2M
2017Diluted shares 56.4M
2018Diluted shares 66.6M
2019Diluted shares 64.2M
2020Diluted shares 59.9M
2021Diluted shares 58.6M
2022Diluted shares 58.5M
2023Diluted shares 58.1M
2024Diluted shares 57.7M
2025Diluted shares 52.9M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
-3.0B-2.0B-1.0B0
2016Net debt -1.4B
2017Net debt -1.9B
2018Net debt -1.8B
2019Net debt -1.2B
2020Net debt -2.0B
2021Net debt -2.3B
2022Net debt -1.8B
2023Net debt -2.7B
2024Net debt -1.7B
2025Net debt -482.0M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
-0.5×
Interest coverage
4× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
1.69 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
— collects in 28d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
4of 9 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✕Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zerofailed
✕Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforefailed
✕Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)failed
✕Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellfailed
✓More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforepassed
✓No new sharesShare count did not growpassed
✕Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year beforefailed
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
3.60safe zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets 0.33 × 6.56+2.14
Retained earnings ÷ assets 0.23 × 3.26+0.75
Operating income ÷ assets 0.05 × 6.72+0.34
Equity ÷ liabilities 0.35 × 1.05+0.37
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-2.03below the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 0.96+0.88
Gross margin slipping 1.17+0.62
Soft assets 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.40
Sales growth 1.12+1.00
Slower depreciation 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.12
Overheads vs sales 0.98-0.17
Profit not in cash 0.06+0.30
Leverage rising 1.03-0.34
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
Reported profit comfortably exceeds the cash generated (472M against -535M).
Benign
Growth consuming working capital, or the seasonality of the year-end.
Worrying
Profit held up by accounting entries that do not turn into money.
Capital spending (101M) is well below depreciation (195M).
Benign
Mature assets, or a business that has become less capital-intensive.
Worrying
Under-investing: today's profit is being held up by consuming tomorrow's capacity.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
Value per share, with these assumptions$556.06discounted at 7.3% a year · 68% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
62.3×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
29.6×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
0.6×
Free cash flow yield
-2.3%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today9.2B
Everything after, today19.7B
The whole business28.9B
Plus net cash482.0M
What belongs to shareholders29.4B
Divided among 52.9M shares: <strong>$556.06</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
-1.0B01.0B2.0B
2016Reported 471.0M
2017Reported 672.0M
2018Reported -371.0M
2019Reported 338.0M
2020Reported 1.8B
2021Reported 2.0B
2022Reported 579.0M
2023Reported 1.5B
2024Reported 428.0M
2025Reported -683.0M
2026Projected 816.6M
2027Projected 953.2M
2028Projected 1.1B
2029Projected 1.2B
2030Projected 1.4B
2031Projected 1.5B
2032Projected 1.6B
2033Projected 1.7B
2034Projected 1.8B
2035Projected 1.9B
2016201820202022202420262028203020322034
Year by year
2026
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
Revenue
53.8B
62.8B
72.2B
81.7B
91.0B
99.8B
107.6B
114.1B
119.0B
122.0B
Growth
18.5%
16.7%
14.9%
13.2%
11.4%
9.6%
7.8%
6.1%
4.3%
2.5%
Cash margin
1.5%
1.5%
1.5%
1.5%
1.5%
1.5%
1.5%
1.5%
1.5%
1.5%
Free cash flow
816.6M
953.2M
1.1B
1.2B
1.4B
1.5B
1.6B
1.7B
1.8B
1.9B
Worth today
761.2M
828.3M
887.5M
936.3M
972.2M
993.4M
998.6M
987.2M
959.7M
917.0M
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
6.3%
577
636
711
809
942
6.8%
519
567
625
698
794
7.3%
472
510
556
613
685
7.8%
432
464
501
547
603
8.3%
398
425
456
493
537
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
14.5%
16.5%
18.5%
20.5%
22.5%
1.2%
394
426
461
498
538
1.4%
435
472
510
552
597
1.5%
474
513
556
602
651
1.7%
514
557
604
654
707
1.8%
553
600
650
704
763
All the inputs moving at once
4,997 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 2.0%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$-232.12
Median$556.68
90th percentile$1,499.28
$-1,000.00$0.00$1,000.00$2,000.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$148.30</b> and <b>$1,008.00</b>; one in ten below $-232.12, one in ten above $1,499.28.
Does the long run make sense?
15.2×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 15.2 times that year's EBITDA.
Free growthIn year 10 free cash flow is at or above after-tax operating profit, yet the model grows 2.5% forever. Growth needs reinvestment; this assumes it comes for free, which flatters the terminal value.
68%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 6 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market—none in the period
Under pre-arranged plans—of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.