LNG · Energy(natural gas distribution) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Cheniere Energy, Inc. reported revenue of $19.5 billion in fiscal 2025, after growing 35.3% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin widened from -2.3% in 2016 to 46.8%, and it earned 24.3% on its invested capital in the latest year. Of the $38.3 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 69.2% went back into the business and 21.6% to buybacks; the share count fell 3.7%. On the accounting screens, it passes 7 of 8 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 2.32 is in the grey zone and its Beneish M-score is above the -1.78 line; 1 of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 202519.5B+35.3% a year over 9 years
Operating margin46.8%gross margin —
Return on invested capital24.3%20.3% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow after stock pay2.3B11.8% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA2.1×net debt 21.7B
Piotroski F-score7/8tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
-10.0B010.0B20.0B30.0B40.0B
2016Revenue 1.3BOperating income -30.0M
2017Revenue 5.6BOperating income 1.4B
2018Revenue 7.9BOperating income 2.0B
2019Revenue 9.2BOperating income 2.4B
2020Revenue 9.3BOperating income 2.6B
2021Revenue 17.5BOperating income -701.0M
2022Revenue 33.3BOperating income 4.6B
2023Revenue 19.8BOperating income 15.5B
2024Revenue 15.4BOperating income 6.1B
2025Revenue 19.5BOperating income 9.1B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
-16.4%
+15.9%
+35.3%
Operating income
+26.0%
+28.2%
—
Net income
+55.1%
—
—
Earnings per share
+62.5%
—
—
Free cash flow per share
-31.2%
—
—
Dividend per share
+14.1%
—
—
Shares
-4.6%
-2.7%
-0.4%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 5.8%
-20.0%0.0%20.0%40.0%60.0%
2016Return on invested capital -0.1%
2017Return on invested capital 5.9%
2018Return on invested capital 7.1%
2019Return on invested capital 2.1%
2020Return on invested capital 7.9%
2021Return on invested capital -3.4%
2022Return on invested capital 17.7%
2023Return on invested capital 44.6%
2024Return on invested capital 18.1%
2025Return on invested capital 24.3%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Economic profit
-5.0B05.0B10.0B15.0B
2016Economic profit -1.2B
2017Economic profit 18.9M
2018Economic profit 368.2M
2019Economic profit -1.1B
2020Economic profit 660.4M
2021Economic profit -2.5B
2022Economic profit 2.6B
2023Economic profit 11.2B
2024Economic profit 3.5B
2025Economic profit 5.7B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.
Return on equity
67.3%
Return on assets
11.1%
Asset turnover
0.41×
Overheads (SG&A)
2.0% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
-5.0B05.0B10.0B
2016Net income -610.0MFree cash flow -4.8BAfter stock-based pay -4.9B
2017Net income -393.0MFree cash flow -2.1BAfter stock-based pay -2.2B
2018Net income 471.0MFree cash flow -1.7BAfter stock-based pay -1.8B
2019Net income 648.0MFree cash flow -1.2BAfter stock-based pay -1.4B
2020Net income -85.0MFree cash flow -574.0MAfter stock-based pay -684.0M
2021Net income -2.3BFree cash flow 1.5BAfter stock-based pay 1.4B
2022Net income 1.4BFree cash flow 8.7BAfter stock-based pay 8.5B
2023Net income 9.9BFree cash flow 6.3BAfter stock-based pay 6.0B
2024Net income 3.3BFree cash flow 3.2BAfter stock-based pay 2.9B
2025Net income 5.3BFree cash flow 2.5BAfter stock-based pay 2.3B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025
38.3B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 69%26.5B
Acquisitions 0%0
Dividends 4%1.7B
Share buybacks 22%8.2B
Kept, or used to pay down debt 5%1.8B
Over the same years it paid 1.5B in stock. The share count fell 3.7%. 6.7B of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$-40.00$-20.00$0.00$20.00$40.00$60.00
2016Earnings per share $-2.67Free cash flow per share $-20.80
2017Earnings per share $-1.69Free cash flow per share $-9.12
2018Earnings per share $1.90Free cash flow per share $-6.67
2019Earnings per share $2.51Free cash flow per share $-4.74Dividend per share $0.00
2020Earnings per share $-0.34Free cash flow per share $-2.27Dividend per share $0.00
2021Earnings per share $-9.25Free cash flow per share $5.93Dividend per share $0.34
2022Earnings per share $5.64Free cash flow per share $34.31Dividend per share $1.38
2023Earnings per share $40.73Free cash flow per share $25.96Dividend per share $1.62
2024Earnings per share $14.19Free cash flow per share $13.78Dividend per share $1.80
2025Earnings per share $24.19Free cash flow per share $11.17Dividend per share $2.05
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
220.0M230.0M240.0M250.0M260.0M
2016Diluted shares 228.8M
2017Diluted shares 233.1M
2018Diluted shares 248.0M
2019Diluted shares 258.1M
2020Diluted shares 252.4M
2021Diluted shares 253.4M
2022Diluted shares 253.4M
2023Diluted shares 242.6M
2024Diluted shares 229.1M
2025Diluted shares 220.3M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
010.0B20.0B30.0B
2016Net debt 21.1B
2017Net debt 24.6B
2018Net debt 27.4B
2019Net debt 28.3B
2020Net debt 29.1B
2021Net debt 28.2B
2022Net debt 23.5B
2023Net debt 19.6B
2024Net debt 20.3B
2025Net debt 21.7B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
2.1×
Interest coverage
10× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
0.94 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
— collects in 23d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
7of 8 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✓Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforepassed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✓Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellpassed
✕More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforefailed
✓No new sharesShare count did not growpassed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
2.32grey zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets -0.00 × 6.56-0.03
Retained earnings ÷ assets 0.26 × 3.26+0.83
Operating income ÷ assets 0.19 × 6.72+1.28
Equity ÷ liabilities 0.23 × 1.05+0.24
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-1.57above the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 1.48+1.36
Gross margin slipping 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.53
Soft assets 1.40+0.57
Sales growth 1.26+1.13
Slower depreciation 0.98+0.11
Overheads vs sales 0.69-0.12
Profit not in cash -0.00-0.02
Leverage rising 0.90-0.29
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
Receivables are growing 87% against revenue growing 26%.
Benign
A shift towards larger customers on longer terms, or sales concentrated at the end of the period.
Worrying
Sales are being made on looser credit, or revenue has been booked that may never be collected.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
76% of the value comes from after year 10: this valuation rests mostly on the long run, which is exactly what is least known.
Value per share, with these assumptions$1,916.80discounted at 5.8% a year · 76% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
79.2×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
42.5×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
22.8×
Free cash flow yield
0.5%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today105.6B
Everything after, today338.4B
The whole business444.0B
Minus net debt-21.7B
What belongs to shareholders422.3B
Divided among 220.3M shares: <strong>$1,916.80</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
-10.0B010.0B20.0B
2016Reported -4.9B
2017Reported -2.2B
2018Reported -1.8B
2019Reported -1.4B
2020Reported -684.0M
2021Reported 1.4B
2022Reported 8.5B
2023Reported 6.0B
2024Reported 2.9B
2025Reported 2.3B
2026Projected 9.2B
2027Projected 10.5B
2028Projected 11.8B
2029Projected 13.2B
2030Projected 14.5B
2031Projected 15.8B
2032Projected 16.9B
2033Projected 17.8B
2034Projected 18.5B
2035Projected 19.0B
2016201820202022202420262028203020322034
Year by year
2026
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
Revenue
22.6B
25.9B
29.2B
32.6B
35.8B
38.9B
41.6B
43.9B
45.6B
46.8B
Growth
16.0%
14.5%
13.0%
11.5%
10.0%
8.5%
7.0%
5.5%
4.0%
2.5%
Cash margin
40.6%
40.6%
40.6%
40.6%
40.6%
40.6%
40.6%
40.6%
40.6%
40.6%
Free cash flow
9.2B
10.5B
11.8B
13.2B
14.5B
15.8B
16.9B
17.8B
18.5B
19.0B
Worth today
8.7B
9.4B
10.0B
10.6B
11.0B
11.3B
11.4B
11.4B
11.2B
10.8B
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
4.8%
1,992
2,338
2,835
3,610
4,992
5.3%
1,704
1,953
2,292
2,779
3,540
5.8%
1,484
1,672
1,917
2,250
2,729
6.3%
1,309
1,454
1,638
1,878
2,204
6.8%
1,167
1,283
1,426
1,606
1,841
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
12.0%
14.0%
16.0%
18.0%
20.0%
32.5%
1,299
1,422
1,555
1,698
1,852
36.5%
1,451
1,588
1,736
1,895
2,066
40.6%
1,602
1,754
1,917
2,093
2,282
44.6%
1,754
1,919
2,098
2,290
2,497
48.7%
1,905
2,085
2,279
2,487
2,712
All the inputs moving at once
4,883 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 6.1%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$1,201.44
Median$1,899.53
90th percentile$3,397.65
$2,000.00$4,000.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$1,486.60</b> and <b>$2,530.65</b>; one in ten below $1,201.44, one in ten above $3,397.65.
Does the long run make sense?
23.6×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 23.6 times that year's EBITDA.
Free growthIn year 10 free cash flow is at or above after-tax operating profit, yet the model grows 2.5% forever. Growth needs reinvestment; this assumes it comes for free, which flatters the terminal value.
76%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.