KLIC · Technology(semiconductors & related devices) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-10-04
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Kulicke & Soffa Industries Inc reported revenue of $654.1 million in fiscal 2025, after growing 0.5% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin narrowed from 8.6% in 2016 to -0.5%. Of the $1.5 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 59.2% went to buybacks and 18.9% to dividends; the share count fell 24.9%. On the accounting screens, it passes 7 of 8 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 10.81 is in the safe zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; none of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 2025654.1M+0.5% a year over 9 years
Operating margin-0.5%gross margin 42.5%
Return on invested capital—
Free cash flow after stock pay67.8M10.4% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA—net debt —
Piotroski F-score7/8tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
-500.0M0500.0M1.0B1.5B2.0B
2016Revenue 627.2MOperating income 54.0M
2017Revenue 809.0MOperating income 113.1M
2018Revenue 889.1MOperating income 166.6M
2019Revenue 540.1MOperating income 21.6M
2020Revenue 623.2MOperating income 58.5M
2021Revenue 1.5BOperating income 412.4M
2022Revenue 1.5BOperating income 470.1M
2023Revenue 742.5MOperating income 39.4M
2024Revenue 706.2MOperating income -92.5M
2025Revenue 654.1MOperating income -3.2M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
-24.2%
+1.0%
+0.5%
Net income
-92.1%
-66.7%
-45.3%
Earnings per share
-91.7%
-65.6%
-43.5%
Free cash flow per share
-32.9%
+6.8%
+8.4%
Dividend per share
+16.5%
+16.3%
—
Shares
-4.6%
-3.4%
-3.1%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
Needs a cost of capital, which comes from the valuation below.
Return on equity
0.0%
Return on assets
0.0%
Asset turnover
0.59×
Research & development
22.9% of revenue
Overheads (SG&A)
25.6% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
-200.0M0200.0M400.0M600.0M
2016Net income 48.5MFree cash flow 62.2MAfter stock-based pay 56.5M
2017Net income 126.1MFree cash flow 110.7MAfter stock-based pay 99.0M
2018Net income 56.7MFree cash flow 103.0MAfter stock-based pay 91.3M
2019Net income 11.7MFree cash flow 54.2MAfter stock-based pay 39.9M
2020Net income 52.3MFree cash flow 82.7MAfter stock-based pay 67.7M
2021Net income 367.2MFree cash flow 277.3MAfter stock-based pay 261.8M
2022Net income 433.5MFree cash flow 367.2MAfter stock-based pay 348.2M
2023Net income 57.1MFree cash flow 129.0MAfter stock-based pay 106.3M
2024Net income -69.0MFree cash flow 14.9MAfter stock-based pay -12.0M
2025Net income 213,000Free cash flow 96.4MAfter stock-based pay 67.8M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025
1.5B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 13%199.3M
Acquisitions 6%90.3M
Dividends 19%283.1M
Share buybacks 59%886.4M
Kept, or used to pay down debt 3%37.8M
Over the same years it paid 171.1M in stock. The share count fell 24.9%. 715.2M of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$-2.50$0.00$2.50$5.00$7.50
2016Earnings per share $0.68Free cash flow per share $0.88Dividend per share $0.00
2017Earnings per share $1.75Free cash flow per share $1.54Dividend per share $0.00
2018Earnings per share $0.80Free cash flow per share $1.46Dividend per share $0.12
2019Earnings per share $0.18Free cash flow per share $0.82Dividend per share $0.48
2020Earnings per share $0.83Free cash flow per share $1.31Dividend per share $0.48
2021Earnings per share $5.78Free cash flow per share $4.37Dividend per share $0.53
2022Earnings per share $7.09Free cash flow per share $6.00Dividend per share $0.64
2023Earnings per share $0.99Free cash flow per share $2.24Dividend per share $0.73
2024Earnings per share $-1.24Free cash flow per share $0.27Dividend per share $0.79
2025Earnings per share $0.00Free cash flow per share $1.81Dividend per share $1.02
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
50.0M55.0M60.0M65.0M70.0M75.0M
2016Diluted shares 70.8M
2017Diluted shares 72.1M
2018Diluted shares 70.4M
2019Diluted shares 65.9M
2020Diluted shares 63.4M
2021Diluted shares 63.5M
2022Diluted shares 61.2M
2023Diluted shares 57.5M
2024Diluted shares 55.6M
2025Diluted shares 53.2M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
—
Interest coverage
-24× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
4.79 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
—
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
7of 8 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✓Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforepassed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
–Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fell — not reportedno data
✕More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforefailed
✓No new sharesShare count did not growpassed
✓Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year beforepassed
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
10.81safe zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets 0.65 × 6.56+4.24
Retained earnings ÷ assets 1.09 × 3.26+3.54
Operating income ÷ assets -0.00 × 6.72-0.02
Equity ÷ liabilities 2.90 × 1.05+3.05
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-3.17below the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.92
Gross margin slipping 0.90+0.47
Soft assets 0.90+0.36
Sales growth 0.93+0.83
Slower depreciation 1.18+0.14
Overheads vs sales 1.09-0.19
Profit not in cash -0.10-0.48
Leverage rising 1.15-0.38
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
None of the six cross-checks fires for the latest year: receivables and inventory move with revenue, profit turns into cash, investment keeps up with depreciation, the tax rate is ordinary and debt is moderate.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
With a free cash flow margin at or below zero in year ten, the business never generates cash for its owners and a DCF says nothing useful. Set a positive margin for year ten to see what it would take.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 6 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market—none in the period
Under pre-arranged plans—of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.