FIVE · Consumer staples(retail-variety stores) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2026-01-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Five Below, Inc reported revenue of $4.8 billion in fiscal 2026, after growing 15.7% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin narrowed from 12.3% in 2018 to 9.6%. Of the $3.1 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 64.2% went back into the business and 8.9% to buybacks. On the accounting screens, it passes 7 of 8 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 4.07 is in the safe zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; none of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 20264.8B+15.7% a year over 9 years
Operating margin9.6%gross margin 36.0%
Return on invested capital—
Free cash flow after stock pay377.0M7.9% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA—net debt —
Piotroski F-score7/8tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
02.0B4.0B6.0B
2018Revenue 1.3BOperating income 157.4M
2019Revenue 1.6BOperating income 187.2M
2019
2020Revenue 1.8BOperating income 217.3M
2021Revenue 2.0BOperating income 154.8M
2022Revenue 2.8BOperating income 379.9M
2023Revenue 3.1BOperating income 345.0M
2024Revenue 3.6BOperating income 385.6M
2025Revenue 3.9BOperating income 323.8M
2026Revenue 4.8BOperating income 457.4M
2018201920192020202120222023202420252026
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+15.7%
+19.4%
+15.7%
Operating income
+9.9%
+24.2%
+12.6%
Net income
+11.1%
+23.8%
+14.9%
Earnings per share
+11.3%
+24.1%
+15.0%
Free cash flow per share
+87.3%
+20.2%
+17.1%
Shares
-0.2%
-0.2%
-0.0%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 10.2%
0.0%5.0%10.0%15.0%
2018
2019
2019
2020
2021
2022
2023
2024
2025
2026
2018201920192020202120222023202420252026
Economic profit
Needs a cost of capital, which comes from the valuation below.
Return on equity
16.4%
Return on assets
7.3%
Asset turnover
0.96×
Overheads (SG&A)
22.4% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
-200.0M0200.0M400.0M600.0M
2018Net income 102.5MFree cash flow 99.6MAfter stock-based pay 83.2M
2019Net income 149.6MFree cash flow 70.4MAfter stock-based pay 58.4M
2019
2020Net income 175.1MFree cash flow -25.3MAfter stock-based pay -37.7M
2021Net income 123.4MFree cash flow 165.8MAfter stock-based pay 156.2M
2022Net income 278.8MFree cash flow 39.7MAfter stock-based pay 14.0M
2023Net income 261.5MFree cash flow 63.0MAfter stock-based pay 39.4M
2024Net income 301.1MFree cash flow 164.6MAfter stock-based pay 146.7M
2025Net income 253.6MFree cash flow 106.7MAfter stock-based pay 91.1M
2026Net income 358.6MFree cash flow 411.7MAfter stock-based pay 377.0M
2018201920192020202120222023202420252026
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2018–2026
3.1B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 64%2.0B
Acquisitions 0%0
Dividends 0%0
Share buybacks 9%272.3M
Kept, or used to pay down debt 27%823.8M
Over the same years it paid 167.8M in stock. The share count barely moved. 104.5M of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$-2.00$0.00$2.00$4.00$6.00$8.00
2018Earnings per share $1.84Free cash flow per share $1.79
2019Earnings per share $2.66Free cash flow per share $1.25
2019
2020Earnings per share $3.12Free cash flow per share $-0.45
2021Earnings per share $2.20Free cash flow per share $2.96
2022Earnings per share $4.95Free cash flow per share $0.71
2023Earnings per share $4.69Free cash flow per share $1.13
2024Earnings per share $5.41Free cash flow per share $2.96
2025Earnings per share $4.60Free cash flow per share $1.93
2026Earnings per share $6.47Free cash flow per share $7.43
2018201920192020202120222023202420252026
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
55.0M55.5M56.0M56.5M
2018Diluted shares 55.6M
2019Diluted shares 56.2M
2019
2020Diluted shares 56.2M
2021Diluted shares 56.1M
2022Diluted shares 56.3M
2023Diluted shares 55.7M
2024Diluted shares 55.6M
2025Diluted shares 55.2M
2026Diluted shares 55.4M
2018201920192020202120222023202420252026
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
—
Interest coverage
— operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
2.01 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
—
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
7of 8 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✓Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforepassed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
–Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fell — not reportedno data
✓More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforepassed
✕No new sharesShare count did not growfailed
✓Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year beforepassed
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
4.07safe zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets 0.19 × 6.56+1.28
Retained earnings ÷ assets 0.41 × 3.26+1.33
Operating income ÷ assets 0.09 × 6.72+0.62
Equity ÷ liabilities 0.80 × 1.05+0.84
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-2.60below the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.92
Gross margin slipping 0.97+0.51
Soft assets 0.91+0.37
Sales growth 1.23+1.10
Slower depreciation 0.87+0.10
Overheads vs sales 1.01-0.17
Profit not in cash -0.05-0.22
Leverage rising 1.11-0.36
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
None of the six cross-checks fires for the latest year: receivables and inventory move with revenue, profit turns into cash, investment keeps up with depreciation, the tax rate is ordinary and debt is moderate.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
Value per share, with these assumptions$53.50discounted at 10.2% a year · 54% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
8.3×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
4.6×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
0.6×
Free cash flow yield
12.7%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today1.4B
Everything after, today1.6B
The whole business3.0B
Minus net debt-0
What belongs to shareholders3.0B
Divided among 55.4M shares: <strong>$53.50</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
-200.0M0200.0M400.0M
2018Reported 83.2M
2019Reported 58.4M
2019
2020Reported -37.7M
2021Reported 156.2M
2022Reported 14.0M
2023Reported 39.4M
2024Reported 146.7M
2025Reported 91.1M
2026Reported 377.0M
2027Projected 135.4M
2028Projected 159.3M
2029Projected 184.3M
2030Projected 209.8M
2031Projected 234.9M
2032Projected 258.5M
2033Projected 279.6M
2034Projected 297.2M
2035Projected 310.2M
2036Projected 318.0M
2018201920212023202520272029203120332035
Year by year
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
2036
Revenue
5.7B
6.7B
7.7B
8.8B
9.9B
10.9B
11.8B
12.5B
13.0B
13.4B
Growth
19.5%
17.6%
15.7%
13.8%
11.9%
10.1%
8.2%
6.3%
4.4%
2.5%
Cash margin
2.4%
2.4%
2.4%
2.4%
2.4%
2.4%
2.4%
2.4%
2.4%
2.4%
Free cash flow
135.4M
159.3M
184.3M
209.8M
234.9M
258.5M
279.6M
297.2M
310.2M
318.0M
Worth today
122.9M
131.2M
137.8M
142.4M
144.7M
144.6M
141.9M
136.9M
129.7M
120.7M
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
9.2%
55
59
62
67
72
9.7%
52
54
58
61
65
10.2%
48
51
54
57
60
10.7%
45
48
50
53
56
11.2%
43
45
47
49
52
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
15.5%
17.5%
19.5%
21.5%
23.5%
1.9%
39
42
45
48
52
2.1%
42
46
49
53
57
2.4%
46
50
54
58
62
2.6%
49
54
58
62
67
2.9%
53
57
62
67
72
All the inputs moving at once
5,000 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 2.0%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$8.64
Median$53.52
90th percentile$105.95
$0.00$50.00$100.00$150.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$29.72</b> and <b>$79.50</b>; one in ten below $8.64, one in ten above $105.95.
Does the long run make sense?
2.3×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 2.3 times that year's EBITDA.
4%To grow 2.5% forever while reinvesting 67% of its after-tax operating profit, the business must earn 4% on the new capital.
54%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
What lenders charge, after the tax saving on interest: 6.67% × (1 − 25.3%) = <strong>4.98%</strong>.
Weighted by how much of each the company uses (book value (no price given)): <strong>10.17%</strong>, the rate every future cash flow is discounted at.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 6 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market—none in the period
Under pre-arranged plans—of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.