EVRG · Utilities(electric & other services combined) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Evergy, Inc. reported revenue of $5.7 billion in fiscal 2025, after growing 9.3% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin held steady at about 26.9% from 2017, and it earned 6.3% on its invested capital in the latest year. Of the $15.1 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 107.5% went back into the business and 29.4% to dividends; the share count rose 63.8%. On the accounting screens, it passes 3 of 8 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 0.68 is in the distress zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; 2 of the six cross-checks between its statements fire.
Revenue, fiscal 20255.7B+9.3% a year over 9 years
Operating margin26.9%gross margin —
Return on invested capital6.3%6.2% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow after stock pay-772.4M-13.5% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA5.0×net debt 13.4B
Piotroski F-score3/8tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
02.0B4.0B6.0B
2017Revenue 2.6BOperating income 678.8M
2018
2018Revenue 4.2BOperating income 933.6M
2019Revenue 5.0BOperating income 1.2B
2020Revenue 4.8BOperating income 1.1B
2021Revenue 5.3BOperating income 1.4B
2022Revenue 5.6BOperating income 1.3B
2023Revenue 5.3BOperating income 1.3B
2024Revenue 5.7BOperating income 1.5B
2025Revenue 5.7BOperating income 1.5B
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+0.7%
+3.6%
+9.3%
Operating income
+6.6%
+6.0%
+9.5%
Net income
+4.4%
+6.7%
+11.4%
Earnings per share
+3.9%
+6.1%
+5.5%
Dividend per share
+4.2%
+5.1%
+5.9%
Shares
+0.5%
+0.5%
+5.6%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow
-20.0%0.0%20.0%40.0%
2017Operating 26.4%Net 12.6%Free cash flow 5.8%
2018
2018Operating 22.1%Net 12.7%Free cash flow 10.1%
2019Operating 23.6%Net 13.3%Free cash flow 10.7%
2020Operating 23.9%Net 12.9%Free cash flow 4.0%
2021Operating 25.4%Net 16.5%Free cash flow -11.6%
2022Operating 22.7%Net 13.5%Free cash flow -6.5%
2023Operating 24.0%Net 13.7%Free cash flow -6.6%
2024Operating 25.7%Net 15.3%Free cash flow -6.2%
2025Operating 26.9%Net 15.0%Free cash flow -13.2%
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Return on invested capital
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 7.2%
0.0%2.0%4.0%6.0%8.0%
2017Return on invested capital 6.1%
2018
2018Return on invested capital 4.8%
2019Return on invested capital 5.9%
2020Return on invested capital 5.4%
2021Return on invested capital 6.3%
2022Return on invested capital 6.0%
2023Return on invested capital 5.8%
2024Return on invested capital 6.3%
2025Return on invested capital 6.3%
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Economic profit
-600.0M-400.0M-200.0M0
2017Economic profit -84.1M
2018
2018Economic profit -414.9M
2019Economic profit -234.1M
2020Economic profit -345.9M
2021Economic profit -173.6M
2022Economic profit -242.1M
2023Economic profit -300.8M
2024Economic profit -202.2M
2025Economic profit -227.9M
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.
Return on equity
8.4%
Return on assets
2.5%
Asset turnover
0.17×
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
-1.0B-500.0M0500.0M1.0B
2017Net income 323.9MFree cash flow 148.1MAfter stock-based pay 139.3M
2018
2018Net income 535.8MFree cash flow 428.1MAfter stock-based pay 398.2M
2019Net income 669.9MFree cash flow 538.9MAfter stock-based pay 522.6M
2020Net income 618.3MFree cash flow 193.5MAfter stock-based pay 177.5M
2021Net income 879.7MFree cash flow -620.8MAfter stock-based pay -636.4M
2022Net income 752.7MFree cash flow -364.6MAfter stock-based pay -383.4M
2023Net income 731.3MFree cash flow -353.8MAfter stock-based pay -371.5M
2024Net income 873.5MFree cash flow -352.9MAfter stock-based pay -368.1M
2025Net income 855.6MFree cash flow -751.7MAfter stock-based pay -772.4M
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2017–2025
15.1B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 108%16.2B
Acquisitions 0%0
Dividends 29%4.4B
Share buybacks 18%2.7B
More than it generated: funded with cash or new debt -55%-8.2B
Over the same years it paid 159.0M in stock. The share count rose 63.8%. 2.5B of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$-4.00$-2.00$0.00$2.00$4.00
2017Earnings per share $2.27Free cash flow per share $1.04Dividend per share $1.56
2018
2018Earnings per share $2.50Free cash flow per share $2.00Dividend per share $2.22
2019Earnings per share $2.79Free cash flow per share $2.25Dividend per share $1.93
2020Earnings per share $2.72Free cash flow per share $0.85Dividend per share $2.04
2021Earnings per share $3.83Free cash flow per share $-2.70Dividend per share $2.17
2022Earnings per share $3.27Free cash flow per share $-1.58Dividend per share $2.32
2023Earnings per share $3.17Free cash flow per share $-1.53Dividend per share $2.47
2024Earnings per share $3.79Free cash flow per share $-1.53Dividend per share $2.59
2025Earnings per share $3.66Free cash flow per share $-3.22Dividend per share $2.62
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
125.0M150.0M175.0M200.0M225.0M250.0M
2017Diluted shares 142.6M
2018Diluted shares 215.8M
2018Diluted shares 214.1M
2019Diluted shares 239.9M
2020Diluted shares 227.5M
2021Diluted shares 229.6M
2022Diluted shares 230.3M
2023Diluted shares 230.5M
2024Diluted shares 230.6M
2025Diluted shares 233.6M
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
05.0B10.0B15.0B
2017Net debt 3.7B
2018
2018Net debt 7.2B
2019Net debt 9.0B
2020Net debt 9.5B
2021Net debt 9.7B
2022Net debt 10.3B
2023Net debt 11.8B
2024Net debt 12.4B
2025Net debt 13.4B
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
5.0×
Interest coverage
2× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
0.49 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
— collects in 14d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
3of 8 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✕Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforefailed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✕Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellfailed
✕More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforefailed
✕No new sharesShare count did not growfailed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✕Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforefailed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
0.68distress zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets -0.06 × 6.56-0.36
Retained earnings ÷ assets 0.09 × 3.26+0.28
Operating income ÷ assets 0.05 × 6.72+0.30
Equity ÷ liabilities 0.43 × 1.05+0.45
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-2.77below the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 0.87+0.80
Gross margin slipping 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.53
Soft assets 1.01+0.41
Sales growth 1.00+0.89
Slower depreciation 1.01+0.12
Overheads vs sales 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)-0.17
Profit not in cash -0.04-0.16
Leverage rising 1.03-0.34
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
The effective tax rate is 3.4%.
Benign
A favourable geographic mix, or legitimate tax credits.
Worrying
Not sustainable; projecting it forward inflates the valuation.
Net debt is 5.0 times EBITDA.
Benign
A stable sector with predictable cash flows and comfortable maturities.
Worrying
Little room if earnings fall; the maturity schedule is what to check.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
Value per share, with these assumptions$-52.57discounted at 7.2% a year · 64% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
-14.4×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
0.4×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
0.2×
Free cash flow yield
—
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today398.1M
Everything after, today707.7M
The whole business1.1B
Minus net debt-13.4B
What belongs to shareholders-12.3B
Divided among 233.6M shares: <strong>$-52.57</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
-1.0B-500.0M0500.0M1.0B
2017Reported 139.3M
2018
2018Reported 398.2M
2019Reported 522.6M
2020Reported 177.5M
2021Reported -636.4M
2022Reported -383.4M
2023Reported -371.5M
2024Reported -368.1M
2025Reported -772.4M
2026Projected 50.6M
2027Projected 52.3M
2028Projected 54.1M
2029Projected 55.8M
2030Projected 57.5M
2031Projected 59.2M
2032Projected 60.8M
2033Projected 62.5M
2034Projected 64.1M
2035Projected 65.7M
2017201820202022202420262028203020322034
Year by year
2026
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
Revenue
5.9B
6.1B
6.3B
6.5B
6.7B
6.9B
7.1B
7.3B
7.5B
7.7B
Growth
3.5%
3.4%
3.3%
3.2%
3.1%
2.9%
2.8%
2.7%
2.6%
2.5%
Cash margin
0.9%
0.9%
0.9%
0.9%
0.9%
0.9%
0.9%
0.9%
0.9%
0.9%
Free cash flow
50.6M
52.3M
54.1M
55.8M
57.5M
59.2M
60.8M
62.5M
64.1M
65.7M
Worth today
47.2M
45.5M
43.8M
42.2M
40.5M
38.9M
37.3M
35.7M
34.2M
32.7M
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
6.2%
-52
-52
-51
-50
-49
6.7%
-53
-52
-52
-51
-51
7.2%
-53
-53
-53
-52
-52
7.7%
-54
-53
-53
-53
-52
8.2%
-54
-54
-53
-53
-53
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
-0.5%
1.5%
3.5%
5.5%
7.5%
0.7%
-54
-54
-53
-53
-53
0.8%
-54
-53
-53
-53
-52
0.9%
-53
-53
-53
-52
-52
0.9%
-53
-53
-52
-52
-51
1.0%
-53
-52
-52
-51
-51
All the inputs moving at once
4,997 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 2.0%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$-64.39
Median$-52.45
90th percentile$-39.37
$-60.00$-40.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$-58.49</b> and <b>$-46.03</b>; one in ten below $-64.39, one in ten above $-39.37.
Does the long run make sense?
0.4×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 0.4 times that year's EBITDA.
3%To grow 2.5% forever while reinvesting 97% of its after-tax operating profit, the business must earn 3% on the new capital — it has earned 6% on average over the last five years.
64%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 4 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market$133,6117 purchase(s) by 1 insider(s)
Sold on the open market$1.1M5 sale(s) by 2 insider(s)
Under pre-arranged plans0%of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.