EHC · Health care(services-hospitals) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Encompass Health Corp reported revenue of $5.9 billion in fiscal 2025, after growing 5.6% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin widened from 16.1% in 2016 to 18.1%. Of the $7.9 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 57.0% went back into the business and 11.5% to dividends; the share count rose 2.7%. On the accounting screens, it passes 7 of 7 Piotroski tests and its Altman Z'' of 2.35 is in the grey zone; none of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 20255.9B+5.6% a year over 9 years
Operating margin18.1%gross margin —
Return on invested capital—
Free cash flow after stock pay382.7M6.4% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA—net debt —
Piotroski F-score7/7tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
02.0B4.0B6.0B
2016Revenue 3.6BOperating income 588.1M
2017Revenue 3.9BOperating income 578.3M
2018Revenue 4.3BOperating income 555.2M
2019Revenue 4.6BOperating income 612.1M
2020Revenue 3.6BOperating income 563.9M
2021Revenue 4.0BOperating income 559.6M
2022Revenue 4.3BOperating income 539.5M
2023Revenue 4.8BOperating income 750.7M
2024Revenue 5.4BOperating income 887.0M
2025Revenue 5.9BOperating income 1.1B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+10.9%
+10.7%
+5.6%
Operating income
+25.9%
+13.8%
+6.9%
Net income
+27.8%
+14.8%
+9.6%
Earnings per share
+27.1%
+14.2%
+9.3%
Free cash flow per share
+45.2%
+6.6%
-0.9%
Dividend per share
-11.0%
-9.1%
-2.1%
Shares
+0.6%
+0.5%
+0.3%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow
0.0%5.0%10.0%15.0%20.0%
2016Operating 16.1%Net 6.8%Free cash flow 12.7%
2017Operating 14.8%Net 6.9%Free cash flow 11.1%
2018Operating 13.0%Net 6.8%Free cash flow 11.9%
2019Operating 13.3%Net 7.8%Free cash flow 5.7%
2020Operating 15.8%Net 8.0%Free cash flow 8.7%
2021Operating 13.9%Net 10.3%Free cash flow 4.8%
2022Operating 12.4%Net 6.2%Free cash flow 3.2%
2023Operating 15.6%Net 7.3%Free cash flow 5.6%
2024Operating 16.5%Net 8.5%Free cash flow 6.7%
2025Operating 18.1%Net 9.5%Free cash flow 7.4%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Return on invested capital
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 10.2%
0.0%5.0%10.0%15.0%
2016
2017
2018
2019
2020
2021
2022
2023
2024
2025
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Needs a cost of capital, which comes from the valuation below.
Return on equity
23.2%
Return on assets
8.0%
Asset turnover
0.84×
Overheads (SG&A)
4.0% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
0200.0M400.0M600.0M
2016Net income 247.6MFree cash flow 462.5MAfter stock-based pay 435.1M
2017Net income 271.1MFree cash flow 432.5MAfter stock-based pay 384.8M
2018Net income 292.3MFree cash flow 507.9MAfter stock-based pay 422.0M
2019Net income 358.7MFree cash flow 262.9MAfter stock-based pay 148.5M
2020Net income 284.2MFree cash flow 311.9MAfter stock-based pay 286.3M
2021Net income 412.2MFree cash flow 191.2MAfter stock-based pay 162.1M
2022Net income 271.0MFree cash flow 141.0MAfter stock-based pay 111.8M
2023Net income 352.0MFree cash flow 267.7MAfter stock-based pay 217.1M
2024Net income 455.7MFree cash flow 360.3MAfter stock-based pay 312.0M
2025Net income 566.2MFree cash flow 439.2MAfter stock-based pay 382.7M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025
7.9B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 57%4.5B
Acquisitions 6%463.4M
Dividends 11%902.1M
Share buybacks 4%344.8M
Kept, or used to pay down debt 21%1.7B
Over the same years it paid 514.7M in stock. The share count rose 2.7%. The buybacks did not even cover what was handed out in stock.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$0.00$2.00$4.00$6.00
2016Earnings per share $2.49Free cash flow per share $4.65Dividend per share $0.84
2017Earnings per share $2.73Free cash flow per share $4.36Dividend per share $0.92
2018Earnings per share $2.93Free cash flow per share $5.09Dividend per share $1.01
2019Earnings per share $3.61Free cash flow per share $2.64Dividend per share $1.09
2020Earnings per share $2.85Free cash flow per share $3.13Dividend per share $1.12
2021Earnings per share $4.11Free cash flow per share $1.91Dividend per share $1.12
2022Earnings per share $2.70Free cash flow per share $1.40Dividend per share $0.99
2023Earnings per share $3.47Free cash flow per share $2.64Dividend per share $0.60
2024Earnings per share $4.46Free cash flow per share $3.53Dividend per share $0.61
2025Earnings per share $5.54Free cash flow per share $4.30Dividend per share $0.70
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
99.0M100.0M101.0M102.0M103.0M
2016Diluted shares 99.5M
2017Diluted shares 99.3M
2018Diluted shares 99.8M
2019Diluted shares 99.4M
2020Diluted shares 99.8M
2021Diluted shares 100.2M
2022Diluted shares 100.4M
2023Diluted shares 101.3M
2024Diluted shares 102.2M
2025Diluted shares 102.2M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
—
Interest coverage
9× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
1.08 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
— collects in 38d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
7of 7 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✓Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforepassed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
–Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fell — not reportedno data
✓More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforepassed
✓No new sharesShare count did not growpassed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
2.35grey zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets 0.01 × 6.56+0.06
Retained earnings ÷ assets 0.18 × 3.26+0.59
Operating income ÷ assets 0.15 × 6.72+1.02
Equity ÷ liabilities 0.64 × 1.05+0.67
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
The accounts lack too many of the lines it needs.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
None of the six cross-checks fires for the latest year: receivables and inventory move with revenue, profit turns into cash, investment keeps up with depreciation, the tax rate is ordinary and debt is moderate.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
Value per share, with these assumptions$59.50discounted at 10.2% a year · 52% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
10.7×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
4.3×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
1.0×
Free cash flow yield
6.3%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today2.9B
Everything after, today3.1B
The whole business6.1B
Minus net debt-0
What belongs to shareholders6.1B
Divided among 102.2M shares: <strong>$59.50</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
0200.0M400.0M600.0M800.0M
2016Reported 435.1M
2017Reported 384.8M
2018Reported 422.0M
2019Reported 148.5M
2020Reported 286.3M
2021Reported 162.1M
2022Reported 111.8M
2023Reported 217.1M
2024Reported 312.0M
2025Reported 382.7M
2026Projected 364.6M
2027Projected 399.6M
2028Projected 434.5M
2029Projected 468.5M
2030Projected 501.1M
2031Projected 531.4M
2032Projected 558.9M
2033Projected 582.8M
2034Projected 602.5M
2035Projected 617.6M
2016201820202022202420262028203020322034
Year by year
2026
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
Revenue
6.6B
7.2B
7.8B
8.4B
9.0B
9.6B
10.1B
10.5B
10.8B
11.1B
Growth
10.5%
9.6%
8.7%
7.8%
6.9%
6.1%
5.2%
4.3%
3.4%
2.5%
Cash margin
5.6%
5.6%
5.6%
5.6%
5.6%
5.6%
5.6%
5.6%
5.6%
5.6%
Free cash flow
364.6M
399.6M
434.5M
468.5M
501.1M
531.4M
558.9M
582.8M
602.5M
617.6M
Worth today
330.9M
329.3M
324.9M
318.0M
308.7M
297.2M
283.7M
268.5M
252.0M
234.5M
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
9.2%
61
65
69
73
79
9.7%
58
60
64
68
72
10.2%
54
57
60
63
67
10.7%
51
53
56
59
62
11.2%
48
50
52
55
58
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
6.5%
8.5%
10.5%
12.5%
14.5%
4.5%
43
47
50
54
59
5.0%
47
51
55
59
64
5.6%
51
55
60
64
70
6.1%
55
59
64
69
75
6.7%
58
63
69
74
80
All the inputs moving at once
5,000 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 2.0%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$36.96
Median$59.48
90th percentile$88.73
$25.00$50.00$75.00$100.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$47.23</b> and <b>$73.80</b>; one in ten below $36.96, one in ten above $88.73.
Does the long run make sense?
3.1×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 3.1 times that year's EBITDA.
4%To grow 2.5% forever while reinvesting 62% of its after-tax operating profit, the business must earn 4% on the new capital.
52%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
What lenders charge, after the tax saving on interest: 6.67% × (1 − 20.2%) = <strong>5.32%</strong>.
Weighted by how much of each the company uses (book value (no price given)): <strong>10.17%</strong>, the rate every future cash flow is discounted at.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 5 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market$26.4M6 sale(s) by 4 insider(s)
Under pre-arranged plans0%of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.