CRL · Health care(services-commercial physical & biological research) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-27
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Charles River Laboratories International, Inc. reported revenue of $4.0 billion in fiscal 2025, after growing 8.9% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin narrowed from 15.5% in 2017 to 0.6%, and it earned 1.1% on its invested capital in the latest year. Of the $5.3 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 66.9% went to acquisitions and 34.8% back into the business; the share count rose 2.1%. On the accounting screens, it passes 4 of 8 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 1.81 is in the grey zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; 2 of the six cross-checks between its statements fire.
Revenue, fiscal 20254.0B+8.9% a year over 9 years
Operating margin0.6%gross margin —
Return on invested capital1.1%10.7% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow after stock pay447.4M11.1% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDANet cash213.6M more cash than debt
Piotroski F-score4/8tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
02.0B4.0B6.0B
2017Revenue 1.9BOperating income 288.3M
2018Revenue 2.3BOperating income 331.4M
2018
2019Revenue 2.6BOperating income 351.2M
2020Revenue 2.9BOperating income 432.7M
2021Revenue 3.5BOperating income 589.9M
2022Revenue 4.0BOperating income 651.0M
2023Revenue 4.1BOperating income 617.3M
2024Revenue 4.0BOperating income 227.3M
2025Revenue 4.0BOperating income 25.2M
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+0.3%
+6.5%
+8.9%
Operating income
-66.2%
-43.4%
-23.7%
Free cash flow per share
+22.1%
+6.9%
+8.9%
Shares
-1.1%
-0.4%
+0.2%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 10.2%
0.0%5.0%10.0%15.0%20.0%
2017Return on invested capital 5.6%
2018Return on invested capital 9.0%
2018
2019Return on invested capital 17.6%
2020Return on invested capital 16.4%
2021Return on invested capital 19.3%
2022Return on invested capital 17.3%
2023Return on invested capital 14.2%
2024Return on invested capital 1.8%
2025Return on invested capital 1.1%
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Economic profit
-400.0M-200.0M0200.0M400.0M
2017Economic profit -98.3M
2018Economic profit -35.0M
2018
2019Economic profit 123.5M
2020Economic profit 133.7M
2021Economic profit 231.6M
2022Economic profit 211.9M
2023Economic profit 144.0M
2024Economic profit -290.3M
2025Economic profit -285.9M
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.
Return on equity
-4.6%
Return on assets
-2.0%
Asset turnover
0.56×
Overheads (SG&A)
18.5% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
-200.0M0200.0M400.0M600.0M
2017Net income 123.4MFree cash flow 235.6MAfter stock-based pay 191.6M
2018Net income 226.4MFree cash flow 301.1MAfter stock-based pay 253.7M
2018
2019Net income 252.0MFree cash flow 340.4MAfter stock-based pay 283.2M
2020Net income 364.3MFree cash flow 380.0MAfter stock-based pay 323.7M
2021Net income 391.0MFree cash flow 532.0MAfter stock-based pay 460.6M
2022Net income 486.2MFree cash flow 294.9MAfter stock-based pay 221.3M
2023Net income 474.6MFree cash flow 365.4MAfter stock-based pay 293.3M
2024Net income 22.2MFree cash flow 501.6MAfter stock-based pay 431.7M
2025Net income -144.3MFree cash flow 518.5MAfter stock-based pay 447.4M
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2017–2025
5.3B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 35%1.9B
Acquisitions 67%3.6B
Dividends 0%0
Share buybacks 14%746.2M
More than it generated: funded with cash or new debt -16%-837.6M
Over the same years it paid 563.1M in stock. The share count rose 2.1%. 183.1M of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$-5.00$0.00$5.00$10.00$15.00
2017Earnings per share $2.54Free cash flow per share $4.85
2018Earnings per share $4.62Free cash flow per share $6.14
2018
2019Earnings per share $5.07Free cash flow per share $6.85
2020Earnings per share $7.20Free cash flow per share $7.51
2021Earnings per share $7.60Free cash flow per share $10.35
2022Earnings per share $9.48Free cash flow per share $5.75
2023Earnings per share $9.22Free cash flow per share $7.10
2024Earnings per share $0.43Free cash flow per share $9.72
2025Earnings per share $-2.91Free cash flow per share $10.46
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
48.0M49.0M50.0M51.0M52.0M
2017Diluted shares 48.6M
2018Diluted shares 49.0M
2018
2019Diluted shares 49.7M
2020Diluted shares 50.6M
2021Diluted shares 51.4M
2022Diluted shares 51.3M
2023Diluted shares 51.5M
2024Diluted shares 51.6M
2025Diluted shares 49.6M
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
-500.0M0500.0M1.0B1.5B
2017Net debt 956.7M
2018Net debt 1.5B
2018
2019Net debt -202.5M
2020Net debt -181.2M
2021Net debt -241.1M
2022Net debt -232.6M
2023Net debt -273.6M
2024Net debt -194.5M
2025Net debt -213.6M
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
-0.5×
Interest coverage
0× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
1.29 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
— collects in 64d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
4of 8 tests passed
✕ProfitableReturn on assets above zerofailed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✕Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforefailed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✕Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellfailed
✕More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforefailed
✓No new sharesShare count did not growpassed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
1.81grey zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets 0.05 × 6.56+0.30
Retained earnings ÷ assets 0.19 × 3.26+0.63
Operating income ÷ assets 0.00 × 6.72+0.02
Equity ÷ liabilities 0.81 × 1.05+0.85
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-3.17below the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 0.99+0.91
Gross margin slipping 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.53
Soft assets 0.94+0.38
Sales growth 0.99+0.88
Slower depreciation 0.94+0.11
Overheads vs sales 1.00-0.17
Profit not in cash -0.12-0.58
Leverage rising 1.19-0.39
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
Capital spending (219M) is well below depreciation (403M).
Benign
Mature assets, or a business that has become less capital-intensive.
Worrying
Under-investing: today's profit is being held up by consuming tomorrow's capacity.
The effective tax rate is -42.9%.
Benign
A favourable geographic mix, or legitimate tax credits.
Worrying
Not sustainable; projecting it forward inflates the valuation.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
Value per share, with these assumptions$71.78discounted at 10.2% a year · 50% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
—
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
7.8×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
0.8×
Free cash flow yield
12.6%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today1.7B
Everything after, today1.7B
The whole business3.3B
Plus net cash213.6M
What belongs to shareholders3.6B
Divided among 49.6M shares: <strong>$71.78</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
0200.0M400.0M600.0M
2017Reported 191.6M
2018Reported 253.7M
2018
2019Reported 283.2M
2020Reported 323.7M
2021Reported 460.6M
2022Reported 221.3M
2023Reported 293.3M
2024Reported 431.7M
2025Reported 447.4M
2026Projected 226.7M
2027Projected 240.4M
2028Projected 253.9M
2029Projected 267.0M
2030Projected 279.6M
2031Projected 291.6M
2032Projected 302.8M
2033Projected 313.0M
2034Projected 322.2M
2035Projected 330.3M
2017201820202022202420262028203020322034
Year by year
2026
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
Revenue
4.3B
4.5B
4.8B
5.0B
5.3B
5.5B
5.7B
5.9B
6.1B
6.2B
Growth
6.5%
6.1%
5.6%
5.2%
4.7%
4.3%
3.8%
3.4%
2.9%
2.5%
Cash margin
5.3%
5.3%
5.3%
5.3%
5.3%
5.3%
5.3%
5.3%
5.3%
5.3%
Free cash flow
226.7M
240.4M
253.9M
267.0M
279.6M
291.6M
302.8M
313.0M
322.2M
330.3M
Worth today
205.8M
198.1M
189.9M
181.3M
172.3M
163.1M
153.7M
144.2M
134.8M
125.4M
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
9.2%
74
78
82
87
93
9.7%
70
73
77
81
86
10.2%
66
69
72
75
80
10.7%
62
65
68
71
74
11.2%
59
61
64
67
70
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
2.5%
4.5%
6.5%
8.5%
10.5%
4.2%
53
57
62
66
71
4.8%
57
62
67
72
77
5.3%
62
67
72
77
83
5.8%
66
71
77
83
90
6.4%
70
76
82
89
96
All the inputs moving at once
5,000 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 2.0%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$45.68
Median$71.79
90th percentile$105.45
$50.00$100.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$57.46</b> and <b>$88.19</b>; one in ten below $45.68, one in ten above $105.45.
Does the long run make sense?
6.6×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 6.6 times that year's EBITDA.
Free growthIn year 10 free cash flow is at or above after-tax operating profit, yet the model grows 2.5% forever. Growth needs reinvestment; this assumes it comes for free, which flatters the terminal value.
50%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
What lenders charge, after the tax saving on interest: 13.17% × (1 − 0.0%) = <strong>13.17%</strong>.
Weighted by how much of each the company uses (book value (no price given)): <strong>10.17%</strong>, the rate every future cash flow is discounted at.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 4 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market$13.7M5 sale(s) by 4 insider(s)
Under pre-arranged plans80%of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.