AMKR · Technology(semiconductors & related devices) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Amkor Technology, Inc. reported revenue of $6.7 billion in fiscal 2025, after growing 6.1% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin held steady at about 7.0% from 2016, and it earned 6.7% on its invested capital in the latest year. Of the $9.0 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 76.1% went back into the business; the share count rose 4.4%. On the accounting screens, it passes 4 of 9 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 4.48 is in the safe zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; 2 of the six cross-checks between its statements fire.
Revenue, fiscal 20256.7B+6.1% a year over 9 years
Operating margin7.0%gross margin 14.0%
Return on invested capital6.7%10.8% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow after stock pay170.9M2.5% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA0.1×net debt 66.9M
Piotroski F-score4/9tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
02B4B6B8B
2016Revenue 3.9BOperating income 308.6M
2017Revenue 4.2BOperating income 405.5M
2018Revenue 4.3BOperating income 258.1M
2019Revenue 4.1BOperating income 233.2M
2020Revenue 5.1BOperating income 457.2M
2021Revenue 6.1BOperating income 763.4M
2022Revenue 7.1BOperating income 897.2M
2023Revenue 6.5BOperating income 470.3M
2024Revenue 6.3BOperating income 438.5M
2025Revenue 6.7BOperating income 467.4M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
-1.8%
+5.8%
+6.1%
Operating income
-19.5%
+0.4%
+4.7%
Net income
-21.3%
+2.0%
+8.8%
Earnings per share
-21.5%
+1.5%
+8.2%
Free cash flow per share
-0.2%
-3.0%
+9.7%
Dividend per share
+13.8%
—
—
Shares
+0.3%
+0.5%
+0.5%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 8.8%
0%5%10%15%20%
2016Return on invested capital 8.6%
2017Return on invested capital 11.5%
2018Return on invested capital 5.7%
2019Return on invested capital 5.2%
2020Return on invested capital 11.6%
2021Return on invested capital 16.9%
2022Return on invested capital 16.4%
2023Return on invested capital 7.4%
2024Return on invested capital 6.8%
2025Return on invested capital 6.7%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Economic profit
-200M0200M400M
2016Economic profit -5.5M
2017Economic profit 83.1M
2018Economic profit -99.0M
2019Economic profit -122.2M
2020Economic profit 95.6M
2021Economic profit 329.3M
2022Economic profit 370.7M
2023Economic profit -72.0M
2024Economic profit -106.7M
2025Economic profit -126.5M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.
Return on equity
8.4%
Return on assets
4.6%
Asset turnover
0.82×
Research & development
2.5% of revenue
Overheads (SG&A)
4.5% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
0200M400M600M800M
2016Net income 175.5MFree cash flow 79.4MAfter stock-based pay 76.1M
2017Net income 263.6MFree cash flow 67.3MAfter stock-based pay 62.2M
2018Net income 127.1MFree cash flow 116.3MAfter stock-based pay 111.3M
2019Net income 120.9MFree cash flow 91.4MAfter stock-based pay 84.5M
2020Net income 338.1MFree cash flow 217.0MAfter stock-based pay 209.0M
2021Net income 643.0MFree cash flow 341.5MAfter stock-based pay 330.5M
2022Net income 765.8MFree cash flow 190.5MAfter stock-based pay 176.9M
2023Net income 359.8MFree cash flow 520.6MAfter stock-based pay 512.3M
2024Net income 354.0MFree cash flow 345.1MAfter stock-based pay 326.7M
2025Net income 373.9MFree cash flow 191.0MAfter stock-based pay 170.9M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025
9.0B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 76%6.9B
Acquisitions 0%43.8M
Dividends 5%441.6M
Share buybacks 0%0
Kept, or used to pay down debt 19%1.7B
Over the same years it paid 99.6M in stock. The share count rose 4.4%.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$0$1$2$3$4
2016Earnings per share $0.74Free cash flow per share $0.33
2017Earnings per share $1.10Free cash flow per share $0.28
2018Earnings per share $0.53Free cash flow per share $0.49
2019Earnings per share $0.50Free cash flow per share $0.38Dividend per share $0.00
2020Earnings per share $1.40Free cash flow per share $0.90Dividend per share $0.00
2021Earnings per share $2.62Free cash flow per share $1.39Dividend per share $0.21
2022Earnings per share $3.11Free cash flow per share $0.77Dividend per share $0.22
2023Earnings per share $1.46Free cash flow per share $2.11Dividend per share $0.30
2024Earnings per share $1.43Free cash flow per share $1.39Dividend per share $0.72
2025Earnings per share $1.50Free cash flow per share $0.77Dividend per share $0.33
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
235M240M245M250M
2016Diluted shares 238.0M
2017Diluted shares 239.7M
2018Diluted shares 239.7M
2019Diluted shares 240.1M
2020Diluted shares 242.2M
2021Diluted shares 245.7M
2022Diluted shares 246.2M
2023Diluted shares 247.2M
2024Diluted shares 247.8M
2025Diluted shares 248.5M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Debt and liquidity
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
00.25B0.50B0.75B1.00B
2016Net debt 850.3M
2017Net debt 768.1M
2018Net debt 650.7M
2019Net debt 555.3M
2020Net debt 456.3M
2021Net debt 311.3M
2022Net debt 273.3M
2023Net debt 83.6M
2024Net debt 25.9M
2025Net debt 66.9M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
0.1×
Interest coverage
6× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
2.27 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
44 days collects in 74d, stock 28d, pays in 58d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
4of 9 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✕Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforefailed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✕Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellfailed
✓More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforepassed
✕No new sharesShare count did not growfailed
✕Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year beforefailed
✕Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforefailed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
4.48safe zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets 0.27 × 6.56+1.75
Retained earnings ÷ assets 0.32 × 3.26+1.05
Operating income ÷ assets 0.06 × 6.72+0.39
Equity ÷ liabilities 1.23 × 1.05+1.29
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-2.62below the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 1.21+1.11
Gross margin slipping 1.06+0.56
Soft assets 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.40
Sales growth 1.06+0.95
Slower depreciation 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.12
Overheads vs sales 0.86-0.15
Profit not in cash -0.09-0.42
Leverage rising 1.07-0.35
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
Receivables are growing 28% against revenue growing 6%.
Benign
A shift towards larger customers on longer terms, or sales concentrated at the end of the period.
Worrying
Sales are being made on looser credit, or revenue has been booked that may never be collected.
Inventory is growing 41% against revenue growing 6%.
Benign
Stocking up for a launch, or securing supply.
Worrying
Demand is softening; discounts or write-downs tend to follow.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
Value per share, with these assumptions$19.97discounted at 8.8% a year · 56% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
13.3×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
4.5×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
0.7×
Free cash flow yield
3.4%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today2.2B
Everything after, today2.8B
The whole business5.0B
Minus net debt-66.9M
What belongs to shareholders5.0B
Divided among 248.5M shares: <strong>$19.97</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
0200M400M600M
2016Reported 76.1M
2017Reported 62.2M
2018Reported 111.3M
2019Reported 84.5M
2020Reported 209.0M
2021Reported 330.5M
2022Reported 176.9M
2023Reported 512.3M
2024Reported 326.7M
2025Reported 170.9M
2026Projected 284.1M
2027Projected 300.1M
2028Projected 315.7M
2029Projected 331.0M
2030Projected 345.7M
2031Projected 359.7M
2032Projected 372.9M
2033Projected 385.2M
2034Projected 396.3M
2035Projected 406.2M
2016201820202022202420262028203020322034
Year by year
2026
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
Revenue
7.1B
7.5B
7.9B
8.3B
8.7B
9.0B
9.3B
9.6B
9.9B
10.2B
Growth
6.0%
5.6%
5.2%
4.8%
4.4%
4.1%
3.7%
3.3%
2.9%
2.5%
Cash margin
4.0%
4.0%
4.0%
4.0%
4.0%
4.0%
4.0%
4.0%
4.0%
4.0%
Free cash flow
284.1M
300.1M
315.7M
331.0M
345.7M
359.7M
372.9M
385.2M
396.3M
406.2M
Worth today
261.1M
253.4M
245.0M
236.0M
226.5M
216.6M
206.4M
195.8M
185.2M
174.4M
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
7.8%
21
22
24
26
29
8.3%
19
20
22
23
26
8.8%
18
19
20
21
23
9.3%
17
17
18
20
21
9.8%
16
16
17
18
19
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
2.0%
4.0%
6.0%
8.0%
10.0%
3.2%
14
15
17
18
20
3.6%
16
17
18
20
22
4.0%
17
18
20
22
24
4.4%
18
20
22
23
26
4.8%
20
21
23
25
27
All the inputs moving at once
5,000 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 2.0%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$9.58
Median$19.93
90th percentile$33.63
$20.00$40.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$14.23</b> and <b>$26.38</b>; one in ten below $9.58, one in ten above $33.63.
Does the long run make sense?
3.9×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 3.9 times that year's EBITDA.
8%To grow 2.5% forever while reinvesting 32% of its after-tax operating profit, the business must earn 8% on the new capital — it has earned 11% on average over the last five years.
56%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.