ROIV · Health care(pharmaceutical preparations) · 7 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2026-03-31
Roivant Sciences Ltd. reported revenue of $8.3 million in fiscal 2026. On the accounting screens, it passes 1 of 7 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 16.14 is in the safe zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; 2 of the six cross-checks between its statements fire.
Revenue, fiscal 20268.3M
Operating margin-6235.7%gross margin —
Return on invested capital—-20.2% on average over 3 years
Free cash flow after stock pay-1.1B-13374.4% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA—net debt —
Piotroski F-score1/7tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
-2.0B02.0B4.0B6.0B
2020
2021Revenue 23.8MOperating income -1.1B
2022Revenue 55.3MOperating income -1.4B
2023Revenue 31.5MOperating income -906.8M
2024Revenue 32.7MOperating income 4.5B
2025Revenue 29.1MOperating income -1.0B
2026Revenue 8.3MOperating income -515.1M
2020202120222023202420252026
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
6 yrs
Revenue
-36.0%
-19.1%
—
Shares
-0.9%
+1.3%
—
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 10.2%
-100.0%-50.0%0.0%50.0%100.0%
2020
2021Return on invested capital -54.5%
2022Return on invested capital -72.4%
2023Return on invested capital -57.9%
2024Return on invested capital 69.8%
2025
2026
2020202120222023202420252026
Economic profit
Economic profit
-2.0B02.0B4.0B
2020
2021Economic profit -1.3B
2022Economic profit -1.5B
2023Economic profit -1.1B
2024Economic profit 3.8B
2025
2026
2020202120222023202420252026
(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.
Return on equity
-6.6%
Return on assets
-5.3%
Asset turnover
0.00×
Research & development
8254.4% of revenue
Overheads (SG&A)
7390.6% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
-2.0B02.0B4.0B6.0B
2020
2021Net income -809.2MFree cash flow -557.9MAfter stock-based pay -642.9M
2022Net income -845.3MFree cash flow -695.2MAfter stock-based pay -1.3B
2023Net income -1.0BFree cash flow -856.1MAfter stock-based pay -1.1B
2024Net income 4.3BFree cash flow -766.6MAfter stock-based pay -966.3M
2025Net income -172.0MFree cash flow -844.0MAfter stock-based pay -1.1B
2026Net income -299.8MFree cash flow -758.6MAfter stock-based pay -1.1B
2020202120222023202420252026
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$-2.00$0.00$2.00$4.00$6.00
2020
2021Earnings per share $-1.24Free cash flow per share $-0.86
2022Earnings per share $-1.26Free cash flow per share $-1.04
2023Earnings per share $-1.42Free cash flow per share $-1.20
2024Earnings per share $5.23Free cash flow per share $-0.92
2025Earnings per share $-0.24Free cash flow per share $-1.16
2026Earnings per share $-0.43Free cash flow per share $-1.09
2020202120222023202420252026
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
650.0M700.0M750.0M800.0M850.0M
2020
2021Diluted shares 651.6M
2022Diluted shares 669.8M
2023Diluted shares 712.8M
2024Diluted shares 831.0M
2025Diluted shares 725.4M
2026Diluted shares 693.9M
2020202120222023202420252026
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
-8.0B-6.0B-4.0B-2.0B0
2020
2021Net debt -1.9B
2022Net debt -1.9B
2023Net debt -1.3B
2024Net debt -6.1B
2025
2026
2020202120222023202420252026
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
—
Interest coverage
— operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
18.37 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
—
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
1of 7 tests passed
✕ProfitableReturn on assets above zerofailed
✕Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zerofailed
✕Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforefailed
✕Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)failed
–Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fell — not reportedno data
✕More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforefailed
✓No new sharesShare count did not growpassed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✕Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforefailed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
16.14safe zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets 0.86 × 6.56+5.61
Retained earnings ÷ assets -0.09 × 3.26-0.29
Operating income ÷ assets -0.09 × 6.72-0.61
Equity ÷ liabilities 10.88 × 1.05+11.42
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-3.22below the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.92
Gross margin slipping 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.53
Soft assets 1.19+0.48
Sales growth 0.28+0.25
Slower depreciation 2.47+0.28
Overheads vs sales 3.63-0.62
Profit not in cash 0.08+0.37
Leverage rising 1.79-0.59
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
Reported profit comfortably exceeds the cash generated (-300M against -750M).
Benign
Growth consuming working capital, or the seasonality of the year-end.
Worrying
Profit held up by accounting entries that do not turn into money.
The effective tax rate is -50.4%.
Benign
A favourable geographic mix, or legitimate tax credits.
Worrying
Not sustainable; projecting it forward inflates the valuation.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
Value per share, with these assumptions$2.89discounted at 10.2% a year · 45% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
—
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
—
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
243.1×
Free cash flow yield
-55.0%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today1.1B
Everything after, today912.4M
The whole business2.0B
Minus net debt-0
What belongs to shareholders2.0B
Divided among 693.9M shares: <strong>$2.89</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
-1.5B-1.0B-500.0M0500.0M
2020
2021Reported -642.9M
2022Reported -1.3B
2023Reported -1.1B
2024Reported -966.3M
2025Reported -1.1B
2026Reported -1.1B
2027Projected 194.8M
2028Projected 186.6M
2029Projected 180.4M
2030Projected 175.9M
2031Projected 173.0M
2032Projected 171.5M
2033Projected 171.5M
2034Projected 173.0M
2035Projected 175.9M
2036Projected 180.2M
202020222024202620282030203220342036
Year by year
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
2036
Revenue
7.8M
7.5M
7.3M
7.1M
7.0M
6.9M
6.9M
7.0M
7.1M
7.3M
Growth
-5.0%
-4.2%
-3.3%
-2.5%
-1.7%
-0.8%
0.0%
0.8%
1.7%
2.5%
Cash margin
2482.0%
2482.0%
2482.0%
2482.0%
2482.0%
2482.0%
2482.0%
2482.0%
2482.0%
2482.0%
Free cash flow
194.8M
186.6M
180.4M
175.9M
173.0M
171.5M
171.5M
173.0M
175.9M
180.2M
Worth today
176.8M
153.7M
134.9M
119.4M
106.5M
95.9M
87.0M
79.6M
73.5M
68.4M
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
9.2%
3
3
3
4
4
9.7%
3
3
3
3
3
10.2%
3
3
3
3
3
10.7%
3
3
3
3
3
11.2%
2
2
3
3
3
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
-9.0%
-7.0%
-5.0%
-3.0%
-1.0%
1985.6%
2
2
2
3
3
2233.8%
2
2
3
3
3
2482.0%
2
3
3
3
3
2730.2%
3
3
3
3
4
2978.3%
3
3
3
4
4
All the inputs moving at once
5,000 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 372.3%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$0.82
Median$0.92
90th percentile$1.04
$0.80$1.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$0.86</b> and <b>$0.98</b>; one in ten below $0.82, one in ten above $1.04.
Does the long run make sense?
45%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
What lenders charge, after the tax saving on interest: 6.68% × (1 − 0.0%) = <strong>6.68%</strong>.
Weighted by how much of each the company uses (book value (no price given)): <strong>10.18%</strong>, the rate every future cash flow is discounted at.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.