MKSI · Technology(industrial instruments for measurement, display, and control) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
MKS Inc reported revenue of $3.9 billion in fiscal 2025, after growing 13.1% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin widened from 12.1% in 2016 to 13.4%, and it earned 7.4% on its invested capital in the latest year. Of the $4.4 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 152.7% went to acquisitions and 19.8% back into the business; the share count rose 25.3%. On the accounting screens, it passes 6 of 8 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 2.32 is in the grey zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; 3 of the six cross-checks between its statements fire.
Revenue, fiscal 20253.9B+13.1% a year over 9 years
Operating margin13.4%gross margin —
Return on invested capital7.4%2.6% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow after stock pay442.0M11.2% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA4.3×net debt 3.8B
Piotroski F-score6/8tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
-2.0B02.0B4.0B
2016Revenue 1.3BOperating income 157.3M
2017Revenue 1.9BOperating income 406.6M
2018Revenue 2.1BOperating income 494.1M
2019Revenue 1.9BOperating income 219.8M
2020Revenue 2.3BOperating income 454.0M
2021Revenue 3.0BOperating income 699.0M
2022Revenue 3.5BOperating income 617.0M
2023Revenue 3.6BOperating income -1.6B
2024Revenue 3.6BOperating income 498.0M
2025Revenue 3.9BOperating income 528.0M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+3.5%
+11.0%
+13.1%
Operating income
-5.1%
+3.1%
+14.4%
Net income
-4.0%
-3.4%
+12.2%
Earnings per share
-7.8%
-7.2%
+9.4%
Free cash flow per share
+6.4%
-1.1%
+10.5%
Dividend per share
+0.1%
+1.8%
+2.9%
Shares
+4.2%
+4.1%
+2.5%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 7.0%
-30.0%-20.0%-10.0%-0.0%10.0%20.0%
2016Return on invested capital 6.9%
2017Return on invested capital 15.5%
2018Return on invested capital 18.2%
2019Return on invested capital 6.0%
2020Return on invested capital 11.8%
2021Return on invested capital 15.6%
2022Return on invested capital 4.9%
2023Return on invested capital -21.6%
2024Return on invested capital 6.9%
2025Return on invested capital 7.4%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Economic profit
-3.0B-2.0B-1.0B01.0B
2016Economic profit -1.8M
2017Economic profit 168.5M
2018Economic profit 247.2M
2019Economic profit -31.1M
2020Economic profit 151.1M
2021Economic profit 317.2M
2022Economic profit -208.4M
2023Economic profit -2.2B
2024Economic profit -12.7M
2025Economic profit 25.1M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.
Return on equity
10.8%
Return on assets
3.4%
Asset turnover
0.45×
Research & development
7.6% of revenue
Overheads (SG&A)
18.4% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
-2.0B-1.0B01.0B
2016Net income 104.8MFree cash flow 161.0MAfter stock-based pay 135.7M
2017Net income 339.1MFree cash flow 323.9MAfter stock-based pay 299.6M
2018Net income 392.9MFree cash flow 350.9MAfter stock-based pay 323.6M
2019Net income 140.4MFree cash flow 180.6MAfter stock-based pay 131.4M
2020Net income 350.0MFree cash flow 428.0MAfter stock-based pay 398.0M
2021Net income 551.0MFree cash flow 553.0MAfter stock-based pay 516.0M
2022Net income 333.0MFree cash flow 365.0MAfter stock-based pay 320.0M
2023Net income -1.8BFree cash flow 232.0MAfter stock-based pay 178.0M
2024Net income 190.0MFree cash flow 410.0MAfter stock-based pay 362.0M
2025Net income 295.0MFree cash flow 497.0MAfter stock-based pay 442.0M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025
4.4B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 20%866.2M
Acquisitions 153%6.7B
Dividends 11%480.4M
Share buybacks 3%121.5M
More than it generated: funded with cash or new debt -86%-3.8B
Over the same years it paid 395.1M in stock. The share count rose 25.3%. The buybacks did not even cover what was handed out in stock.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$-30.00$-20.00$-10.00$0.00$10.00
2016Earnings per share $1.94Free cash flow per share $2.98Dividend per share $0.67
2017Earnings per share $6.16Free cash flow per share $5.88Dividend per share $0.69
2018Earnings per share $7.14Free cash flow per share $6.38Dividend per share $0.77
2019Earnings per share $2.55Free cash flow per share $3.28Dividend per share $0.79
2020Earnings per share $6.33Free cash flow per share $7.74Dividend per share $0.80
2021Earnings per share $9.89Free cash flow per share $9.93Dividend per share $0.84
2022Earnings per share $5.56Free cash flow per share $6.09Dividend per share $0.87
2023Earnings per share $-27.56Free cash flow per share $3.47Dividend per share $0.88
2024Earnings per share $2.81Free cash flow per share $6.07Dividend per share $0.87
2025Earnings per share $4.36Free cash flow per share $7.34Dividend per share $0.87
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
50.0M55.0M60.0M65.0M70.0M
2016Diluted shares 54.1M
2017Diluted shares 55.1M
2018Diluted shares 55.0M
2019Diluted shares 55.1M
2020Diluted shares 55.3M
2021Diluted shares 55.7M
2022Diluted shares 59.9M
2023Diluted shares 66.8M
2024Diluted shares 67.6M
2025Diluted shares 67.7M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
-2.0B02.0B4.0B6.0B
2016Net debt 383.6M
2017Net debt 59.2M
2018Net debt -296.5M
2019Net debt 469.2M
2020Net debt 221.2M
2021Net debt -132.0M
2022Net debt 4.3B
2023Net debt 4.5B
2024Net debt 4.1B
2025Net debt 3.8B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
4.3×
Interest coverage
2× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
2.71 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
— collects in 60d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
6of 8 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✓Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforepassed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✓Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellpassed
✕More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforefailed
✕No new sharesShare count did not growfailed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
2.32grey zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets 0.18 × 6.56+1.18
Retained earnings ÷ assets 0.08 × 3.26+0.26
Operating income ÷ assets 0.06 × 6.72+0.40
Equity ÷ liabilities 0.45 × 1.05+0.47
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-2.58below the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 0.97+0.89
Gross margin slipping 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.53
Soft assets 1.00+0.40
Sales growth 1.10+0.98
Slower depreciation 1.04+0.12
Overheads vs sales 0.98-0.17
Profit not in cash -0.04-0.19
Leverage rising 0.94-0.31
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
Capital spending (148M) is well below depreciation (344M).
Benign
Mature assets, or a business that has become less capital-intensive.
Worrying
Under-investing: today's profit is being held up by consuming tomorrow's capacity.
The effective tax rate is 3.0%.
Benign
A favourable geographic mix, or legitimate tax credits.
Worrying
Not sustainable; projecting it forward inflates the valuation.
Net debt is 4.3 times EBITDA.
Benign
A stable sector with predictable cash flows and comfortable maturities.
Worrying
Little room if earnings fall; the maturity schedule is what to check.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
Value per share, with these assumptions$-48.50discounted at 7.0% a year · 67% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
-11.1×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
0.6×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
0.1×
Free cash flow yield
—
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today162.8M
Everything after, today336.7M
The whole business499.5M
Minus net debt-3.8B
What belongs to shareholders-3.3B
Divided among 67.7M shares: <strong>$-48.50</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
0200.0M400.0M600.0M
2016Reported 135.7M
2017Reported 299.6M
2018Reported 323.6M
2019Reported 131.4M
2020Reported 398.0M
2021Reported 516.0M
2022Reported 320.0M
2023Reported 178.0M
2024Reported 362.0M
2025Reported 442.0M
2026Projected 17.1M
2027Projected 18.8M
2028Projected 20.5M
2029Projected 22.2M
2030Projected 23.8M
2031Projected 25.3M
2032Projected 26.6M
2033Projected 27.8M
2034Projected 28.7M
2035Projected 29.5M
2016201820202022202420262028203020322034
Year by year
2026
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
Revenue
4.4B
4.8B
5.2B
5.7B
6.1B
6.5B
6.8B
7.1B
7.3B
7.5B
Growth
11.0%
10.1%
9.1%
8.2%
7.2%
6.3%
5.3%
4.4%
3.4%
2.5%
Cash margin
0.4%
0.4%
0.4%
0.4%
0.4%
0.4%
0.4%
0.4%
0.4%
0.4%
Free cash flow
17.1M
18.8M
20.5M
22.2M
23.8M
25.3M
26.6M
27.8M
28.7M
29.5M
Worth today
15.9M
16.4M
16.7M
16.9M
16.9M
16.8M
16.5M
16.1M
15.6M
14.9M
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
6.0%
-48
-47
-46
-45
-43
6.5%
-49
-48
-48
-47
-45
7.0%
-50
-49
-49
-48
-47
7.5%
-50
-50
-49
-49
-48
8.0%
-51
-50
-50
-49
-49
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
7.0%
9.0%
11.0%
13.0%
15.0%
0.3%
-51
-50
-50
-49
-49
0.4%
-50
-50
-49
-49
-48
0.4%
-50
-49
-49
-48
-47
0.4%
-49
-49
-48
-47
-46
0.5%
-49
-48
-47
-46
-46
All the inputs moving at once
4,993 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 2.0%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$-91.39
Median$-48.26
90th percentile$-3.30
$-100.00$-50.00$0.00$50.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$-69.44</b> and <b>$-25.98</b>; one in ten below $-91.39, one in ten above $-3.30.
Does the long run make sense?
0.4×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 0.4 times that year's EBITDA.
3%To grow 2.5% forever while reinvesting 97% of its after-tax operating profit, the business must earn 3% on the new capital — it has earned 3% on average over the last five years.
67%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 5 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market$4.7M7 sale(s) by 4 insider(s)
Under pre-arranged plans57%of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.