LDOS · Technology(services-computer integrated systems design) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2026-01-02
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Leidos Holdings, Inc. reported revenue of $17.1 billion in fiscal 2026. Of the $9.5 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 41.5% went to acquisitions and 20.8% to buybacks. On the accounting screens, it passes 8 of 9 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 3.74 is in the safe zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; 1 of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 202617.1B
Operating margin12.3%gross margin 17.7%
Return on invested capital32.7%20.6% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow after stock pay1.5B8.9% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDANet cash1.1B more cash than debt
Piotroski F-score8/9tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
05.0B10.0B15.0B20.0B
2017
2018Revenue 10.2BOperating income 749.0M
2018
2020Revenue 11.0BOperating income 912.0M
2021Revenue 12.2BOperating income 998.0M
2021Revenue 13.6BOperating income 1.2B
2022Revenue 14.3BOperating income 1.1B
2023Revenue 15.3BOperating income 621.0M
2025Revenue 16.6BOperating income 1.8B
2026Revenue 17.1BOperating income 2.1B
2017201820182020202120212022202320252026
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+6.2%
+7.0%
—
Operating income
+24.7%
+16.1%
—
Net income
+28.3%
+18.2%
—
Earnings per share
+30.9%
+20.6%
—
Free cash flow per share
+26.0%
+9.4%
—
Dividend per share
+4.0%
+3.6%
—
Shares
-2.0%
-2.0%
—
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 10.2%
0.0%10.0%20.0%30.0%40.0%
2017
2018Return on invested capital 21.1%
2018
2020Return on invested capital 20.3%
2021Return on invested capital 20.3%
2021Return on invested capital 18.9%
2022Return on invested capital 16.1%
2023Return on invested capital 7.6%
2025Return on invested capital 27.7%
2026Return on invested capital 32.7%
2017201820182020202120212022202320252026
Economic profit
Economic profit
-500.0M0500.0M1.0B1.5B
2017
2018Economic profit 370.9M
2018
2020Economic profit 352.3M
2021Economic profit 400.8M
2021Economic profit 418.7M
2022Economic profit 312.9M
2023Economic profit -108.5M
2025Economic profit 883.0M
2026Economic profit 1.1B
2017201820182020202120212022202320252026
(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.
Return on equity
29.5%
Return on assets
10.7%
Asset turnover
1.27×
Research & development
1.1% of revenue
Overheads (SG&A)
5.8% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
0500.0M1.0B1.5B2.0B
2017
2018Net income 581.0MFree cash flow 695.0MAfter stock-based pay 651.0M
2018
2020Net income 667.0MFree cash flow 871.0MAfter stock-based pay 819.0M
2021Net income 628.0MFree cash flow 1.2BAfter stock-based pay 1.1B
2021Net income 753.0MFree cash flow 929.0MAfter stock-based pay 862.0M
2022Net income 685.0MFree cash flow 863.0MAfter stock-based pay 790.0M
2023Net income 199.0MFree cash flow 980.0MAfter stock-based pay 903.0M
2025Net income 1.3BFree cash flow 1.3BAfter stock-based pay 1.2B
2026Net income 1.4BFree cash flow 1.6BAfter stock-based pay 1.5B
2017201820182020202120212022202320252026
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2017–2026
9.5B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 11%1.1B
Acquisitions 42%3.9B
Dividends 15%1.4B
Share buybacks 21%2.0B
Kept, or used to pay down debt 11%1.1B
Over the same years it paid 555.0M in stock. 1.4B of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$0.00$5.00$10.00$15.00
2017
2018Earnings per share $3.80Free cash flow per share $4.54Dividend per share $0.00
2018
2020Earnings per share $4.60Free cash flow per share $6.01Dividend per share $1.37
2021Earnings per share $4.36Free cash flow per share $7.99Dividend per share $1.36
2021Earnings per share $5.27Free cash flow per share $6.50Dividend per share $1.39
2022Earnings per share $4.96Free cash flow per share $6.25Dividend per share $1.44
2023Earnings per share $1.44Free cash flow per share $7.10Dividend per share $1.46
2025Earnings per share $9.22Free cash flow per share $9.46Dividend per share $1.53
2026Earnings per share $11.14Free cash flow per share $12.50Dividend per share $1.62
2017201820182020202120212022202320252026
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
130.0M140.0M150.0M160.0M
2017
2018Diluted shares 153.0M
2018
2020Diluted shares 145.0M
2021Diluted shares 144.0M
2021Diluted shares 143.0M
2022Diluted shares 138.0M
2023Diluted shares 138.0M
2025Diluted shares 136.0M
2026Diluted shares 130.0M
2017201820182020202120212022202320252026
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
-1.5B-1.0B-500.0M0500.0M
2017
2018Net debt -255.0M
2018Net debt 80.0M
2020Net debt -607.0M
2021Net debt -424.0M
2021Net debt -244.0M
2022Net debt 476.0M
2023Net debt -623.0M
2025Net debt -231.0M
2026Net debt -1.1B
2017201820182020202120212022202320252026
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
-0.5×
Interest coverage
10× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
1.70 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
50 days collects in 58d, stock 9d, pays in 16d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
8of 9 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✓Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforepassed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✓Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellpassed
✓More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforepassed
✓No new sharesShare count did not growpassed
✓Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year beforepassed
✕Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforefailed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
3.74safe zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets 0.15 × 6.56+0.97
Retained earnings ÷ assets 0.34 × 3.26+1.12
Operating income ÷ assets 0.16 × 6.72+1.05
Equity ÷ liabilities 0.58 × 1.05+0.61
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-2.52below the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 0.99+0.91
Gross margin slipping 0.92+0.49
Soft assets 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.40
Sales growth 1.03+0.92
Slower depreciation 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.12
Overheads vs sales 0.98-0.17
Profit not in cash -0.02-0.10
Leverage rising 0.77-0.25
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
Capital spending (125M) is well below depreciation (290M).
Benign
Mature assets, or a business that has become less capital-intensive.
Worrying
Under-investing: today's profit is being held up by consuming tomorrow's capacity.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
Value per share, with these assumptions$136.79discounted at 10.2% a year · 50% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
12.3×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
7.0×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
1.0×
Free cash flow yield
8.6%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today8.3B
Everything after, today8.4B
The whole business16.7B
Plus net cash1.1B
What belongs to shareholders17.8B
Divided among 130.0M shares: <strong>$136.79</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
0500.0M1.0B1.5B2.0B
2017
2018Reported 651.0M
2018
2020Reported 819.0M
2021Reported 1.1B
2021Reported 862.0M
2022Reported 790.0M
2023Reported 903.0M
2025Reported 1.2B
2026Reported 1.5B
2027Projected 1.1B
2028Projected 1.2B
2029Projected 1.3B
2030Projected 1.3B
2031Projected 1.4B
2032Projected 1.5B
2033Projected 1.5B
2034Projected 1.6B
2035Projected 1.6B
2036Projected 1.7B
2017201820212022202520272029203120332035
Year by year
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
2036
Revenue
18.3B
19.5B
20.7B
21.8B
22.9B
23.9B
24.9B
25.7B
26.5B
27.2B
Growth
7.0%
6.5%
6.0%
5.5%
5.0%
4.5%
4.0%
3.5%
3.0%
2.5%
Cash margin
6.1%
6.1%
6.1%
6.1%
6.1%
6.1%
6.1%
6.1%
6.1%
6.1%
Free cash flow
1.1B
1.2B
1.3B
1.3B
1.4B
1.5B
1.5B
1.6B
1.6B
1.7B
Worth today
1.0B
977.7M
940.7M
900.8M
858.6M
814.4M
768.8M
722.2M
675.2M
628.2M
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
9.2%
141
148
157
166
178
9.7%
133
139
146
154
164
10.2%
125
131
137
144
152
10.7%
119
123
129
135
142
11.2%
113
117
122
127
133
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
3.0%
5.0%
7.0%
9.0%
11.0%
4.9%
101
109
117
126
136
5.5%
110
118
127
137
147
6.1%
118
127
137
147
159
6.7%
126
136
147
158
171
7.3%
134
145
156
169
182
All the inputs moving at once
5,000 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 2.0%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$92.11
Median$136.53
90th percentile$196.16
$100.00$150.00$200.00$250.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$112.05</b> and <b>$165.24</b>; one in ten below $92.11, one in ten above $196.16.
Does the long run make sense?
5.8×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 5.8 times that year's EBITDA.
7%To grow 2.5% forever while reinvesting 36% of its after-tax operating profit, the business must earn 7% on the new capital — it has earned 21% on average over the last five years.
50%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
What lenders charge, after the tax saving on interest: 13.17% × (1 − 23.4%) = <strong>10.09%</strong>.
Weighted by how much of each the company uses (book value (no price given)): <strong>10.17%</strong>, the rate every future cash flow is discounted at.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 6 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market$1.5M3 sale(s) by 2 insider(s)
Under pre-arranged plans0%of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.