KRYS · Health care(biological products, (no diagnostic substances)) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Krystal Biotech, Inc. reported revenue of $389.1 million in fiscal 2025. Of the $28.9 million its operations generated over 10 years, 599.3% went back into the business; the share count rose 186.0%. On the accounting screens, it passes 5 of 7 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 16.61 is in the safe zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; 1 of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 2025389.1M
Operating margin41.5%gross margin —
Return on invested capital—
Free cash flow after stock pay134.4M34.5% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA—net debt —
Piotroski F-score5/7tests of improvement passed
Share counts are in today's shares. The SEC's filings restate only recent years after a split, so these jumps were read as splits and the older years scaled to match — otherwise per-share figures would compare different units:
3-for-1 before fiscal 2017.
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
-200.0M0200.0M400.0M
2017
2017Operating income -4.8M
2018Operating income -11.9M
2019Operating income -22.1M
2020Operating income -33.0M
2021Revenue 0Operating income -68.3M
2022Revenue 0Operating income -145.2M
2023Revenue 50.7MOperating income -109.6M
2024Revenue 290.5MOperating income 65.7M
2025Revenue 389.1MOperating income 161.3M
2017201720182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Shares
+5.5%
+9.8%
+12.4%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
Needs a cost of capital, which comes from the valuation below.
Return on equity
16.8%
Return on assets
15.4%
Asset turnover
0.29×
Research & development
14.9% of revenue
Overheads (SG&A)
37.7% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
-200.0M-100.0M0100.0M200.0M300.0M
2017
2017Net income -7.9MFree cash flow -4.1MAfter stock-based pay -4.3M
2018Net income -10.9MFree cash flow -11.7MAfter stock-based pay -12.5M
2019Net income -19.1MFree cash flow -25.1MAfter stock-based pay -26.3M
2020Net income -32.2MFree cash flow -40.9MAfter stock-based pay -44.2M
2021Net income -69.6MFree cash flow -116.3MAfter stock-based pay -131.6M
2022Net income -140.0MFree cash flow -153.5MAfter stock-based pay -186.8M
2023Net income 10.9MFree cash flow -100.6MAfter stock-based pay -140.5M
2024Net income 89.2MFree cash flow 119.2MAfter stock-based pay 70.1M
2025Net income 204.8MFree cash flow 188.9MAfter stock-based pay 134.4M
2017201720182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2017–2025
28.9M generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 599%173.0M
Acquisitions 0%0
Dividends 0%0
Share buybacks 0%0
More than it generated: funded with cash or new debt -499%-144.1M
Over the same years it paid 197.7M in stock. The share count rose 186.0%.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$-10.00$-5.00$0.00$5.00$10.00
2017
2017Earnings per share $-0.77Free cash flow per share $-0.40
2018Earnings per share $-0.75Free cash flow per share $-0.81
2019Earnings per share $-1.10Free cash flow per share $-1.45
2020Earnings per share $-1.71Free cash flow per share $-2.18
2021Earnings per share $-3.13Free cash flow per share $-5.24
2022Earnings per share $-5.49Free cash flow per share $-6.02
2023Earnings per share $0.39Free cash flow per share $-3.63
2024Earnings per share $3.00Free cash flow per share $4.01
2025Earnings per share $6.84Free cash flow per share $6.31
2017201720182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
10.0M15.0M20.0M25.0M30.0M
2017Diluted shares 10.5M
2017Diluted shares 10.3M
2018Diluted shares 14.4M
2019Diluted shares 17.4M
2020Diluted shares 18.8M
2021Diluted shares 22.2M
2022Diluted shares 25.5M
2023Diluted shares 27.8M
2024Diluted shares 29.7M
2025Diluted shares 30.0M
2017201720182019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
—
Interest coverage
— operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
9.95 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
— collects in 120d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
5of 7 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✓Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforepassed
✕Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)failed
–Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fell — not reportedno data
✓More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforepassed
✕No new sharesShare count did not growfailed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
16.61safe zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets 0.69 × 6.56+4.53
Retained earnings ÷ assets 0.02 × 3.26+0.06
Operating income ÷ assets 0.12 × 6.72+0.81
Equity ÷ liabilities 10.68 × 1.05+11.21
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-2.26below the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 0.91+0.84
Gross margin slipping 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.53
Soft assets 0.79+0.32
Sales growth 1.34+1.19
Slower depreciation 1.01+0.12
Overheads vs sales 0.96-0.17
Profit not in cash 0.00+0.01
Leverage rising 0.80-0.26
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
The effective tax rate is 8.1%.
Benign
A favourable geographic mix, or legitimate tax credits.
Worrying
Not sustainable; projecting it forward inflates the valuation.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
With a free cash flow margin at or below zero in year ten, the business never generates cash for its owners and a DCF says nothing useful. Set a positive margin for year ten to see what it would take.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.