IBM · Technology(computer & office equipment) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
International Business Machines Corp reported revenue of $67.5 billion in fiscal 2025, after shrinking 1.7% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin widened from 15.2% in 2017 to 18.2%, and it earned 12.8% on its invested capital in the latest year. Of the $128.7 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 43.4% went to acquisitions and 41.1% to dividends. On the accounting screens, it passes 6 of 9 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 4.10 is in the safe zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; 3 of the six cross-checks between its statements fire.
Revenue, fiscal 202567.5B-1.7% a year over 9 years
Operating margin18.2%gross margin 58.2%
Return on invested capital12.8%8.5% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow after stock pay10.4B15.4% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA3.3×net debt 47.7B
Piotroski F-score6/9tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
020.0B40.0B60.0B80.0B
2017Revenue 79.1BOperating income 12.0B
2018
2018Revenue 79.6BOperating income 12.1B
2019Revenue 57.7BOperating income 8.6B
2020Revenue 55.2BOperating income 3.9B
2021Revenue 57.4BOperating income 6.0B
2022Revenue 60.5BOperating income 2.4B
2023Revenue 61.9BOperating income 10.3B
2024Revenue 62.8BOperating income 7.5B
2025Revenue 67.5BOperating income 12.3B
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+3.7%
+4.1%
-1.7%
Operating income
+72.9%
+26.0%
+0.2%
Net income
+86.3%
+13.6%
+7.0%
Earnings per share
+83.9%
+12.4%
+6.9%
Free cash flow per share
+8.6%
-6.0%
-1.3%
Dividend per share
+0.4%
+0.4%
+1.3%
Shares
+1.3%
+1.1%
+0.1%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 6.8%
0.0%5.0%10.0%15.0%20.0%
2017Return on invested capital 9.7%
2018
2018Return on invested capital 15.6%
2019Return on invested capital 10.1%
2020Return on invested capital 2.2%
2021Return on invested capital 8.3%
2022Return on invested capital 1.5%
2023Return on invested capital 11.3%
2024Return on invested capital 8.8%
2025Return on invested capital 12.8%
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Economic profit
-5.0B-2.5B02.5B5.0B7.5B
2017Economic profit 1.8B
2018
2018Economic profit 5.2B
2019Economic profit 2.8B
2020Economic profit -3.8B
2021Economic profit 1.0B
2022Economic profit -3.9B
2023Economic profit 3.5B
2024Economic profit 1.6B
2025Economic profit 5.6B
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.
Return on equity
32.4%
Return on assets
7.0%
Asset turnover
0.44×
Research & development
12.3% of revenue
Overheads (SG&A)
29.8% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
05.0B10.0B15.0B20.0B
2017Net income 5.8BFree cash flow 13.5BAfter stock-based pay 13.0B
2018
2018Net income 8.7BFree cash flow 11.9BAfter stock-based pay 11.3B
2019Net income 9.4BFree cash flow 12.5BAfter stock-based pay 11.8B
2020Net income 5.6BFree cash flow 15.6BAfter stock-based pay 14.6B
2021Net income 5.7BFree cash flow 10.7BAfter stock-based pay 9.8B
2022Net income 1.6BFree cash flow 9.1BAfter stock-based pay 8.1B
2023Net income 7.5BFree cash flow 12.7BAfter stock-based pay 11.6B
2024Net income 6.0BFree cash flow 12.4BAfter stock-based pay 11.1B
2025Net income 10.6BFree cash flow 12.1BAfter stock-based pay 10.4B
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2017–2025
128.7B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 14%18.3B
Acquisitions 43%55.9B
Dividends 41%52.9B
Share buybacks 8%10.1B
More than it generated: funded with cash or new debt -7%-8.6B
Over the same years it paid 8.8B in stock. The share count rose 1.2%. 1.4B of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$0.00$5.00$10.00$15.00$20.00
2017Earnings per share $6.14Free cash flow per share $14.40Dividend per share $5.87
2018
2018Earnings per share $9.53Free cash flow per share $12.93Dividend per share $6.18
2019Earnings per share $10.56Free cash flow per share $13.98Dividend per share $6.39
2020Earnings per share $6.23Free cash flow per share $17.38Dividend per share $6.47
2021Earnings per share $6.35Free cash flow per share $11.87Dividend per share $6.49
2022Earnings per share $1.80Free cash flow per share $9.96Dividend per share $6.52
2023Earnings per share $8.14Free cash flow per share $13.76Dividend per share $6.55
2024Earnings per share $6.43Free cash flow per share $13.23Dividend per share $6.56
2025Earnings per share $11.17Free cash flow per share $12.76Dividend per share $6.59
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
880.0M900.0M920.0M940.0M960.0M
2017Diluted shares 937.4M
2018
2018Diluted shares 916.3M
2019Diluted shares 892.8M
2020Diluted shares 896.6M
2021Diluted shares 904.6M
2022Diluted shares 912.3M
2023Diluted shares 922.1M
2024Diluted shares 937.2M
2025Diluted shares 948.7M
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
020.0B40.0B60.0B
2017Net debt 33.1B
2018
2018Net debt 31.3B
2019Net debt 54.7B
2020Net debt 48.1B
2021Net debt 45.1B
2022Net debt 43.1B
2023Net debt 43.5B
2024Net debt 41.0B
2025Net debt 47.7B
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
3.3×
Interest coverage
6× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
0.96 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
-2 days collects in 44d, stock 16d, pays in 61d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
6of 9 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✓Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforepassed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✓Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellpassed
✕More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforefailed
✕No new sharesShare count did not growfailed
✓Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year beforepassed
✕Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforefailed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
4.10safe zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets -0.01 × 6.56-0.07
Retained earnings ÷ assets 1.02 × 3.26+3.34
Operating income ÷ assets 0.08 × 6.72+0.54
Equity ÷ liabilities 0.27 × 1.05+0.29
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-2.40below the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 1.11+1.02
Gross margin slipping 0.97+0.51
Soft assets 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.40
Sales growth 1.08+0.96
Slower depreciation 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.12
Overheads vs sales 0.95-0.16
Profit not in cash -0.02-0.08
Leverage rising 1.02-0.33
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
Capital spending (1,091M) is well below depreciation (2,284M).
Benign
Mature assets, or a business that has become less capital-intensive.
Worrying
Under-investing: today's profit is being held up by consuming tomorrow's capacity.
The effective tax rate is 2.3%.
Benign
A favourable geographic mix, or legitimate tax credits.
Worrying
Not sustainable; projecting it forward inflates the valuation.
Net debt is 3.3 times EBITDA.
Benign
A stable sector with predictable cash flows and comfortable maturities.
Worrying
Little room if earnings fall; the maturity schedule is what to check.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
Value per share, with these assumptions$198.22discounted at 6.8% a year · 67% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
17.8×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
16.2×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
3.5×
Free cash flow yield
5.5%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today78.9B
Everything after, today156.8B
The whole business235.7B
Minus net debt-47.7B
What belongs to shareholders188.0B
Divided among 948.7M shares: <strong>$198.22</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
05.0B10.0B15.0B
2017Reported 13.0B
2018
2018Reported 11.3B
2019Reported 11.8B
2020Reported 14.6B
2021Reported 9.8B
2022Reported 8.1B
2023Reported 11.6B
2024Reported 11.1B
2025Reported 10.4B
2026Projected 9.7B
2027Projected 10.1B
2028Projected 10.5B
2029Projected 10.8B
2030Projected 11.2B
2031Projected 11.5B
2032Projected 11.9B
2033Projected 12.2B
2034Projected 12.6B
2035Projected 12.9B
2017201820202022202420262028203020322034
Year by year
2026
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
Revenue
70.2B
72.9B
75.6B
78.2B
80.9B
83.4B
85.9B
88.4B
90.7B
93.0B
Growth
4.0%
3.8%
3.7%
3.5%
3.3%
3.2%
3.0%
2.8%
2.7%
2.5%
Cash margin
13.8%
13.8%
13.8%
13.8%
13.8%
13.8%
13.8%
13.8%
13.8%
13.8%
Free cash flow
9.7B
10.1B
10.5B
10.8B
11.2B
11.5B
11.9B
12.2B
12.6B
12.9B
Worth today
9.1B
8.8B
8.6B
8.3B
8.0B
7.8B
7.5B
7.2B
6.9B
6.6B
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
5.8%
207
236
273
324
396
6.3%
180
202
231
267
317
6.8%
158
176
198
226
262
7.3%
140
155
172
194
221
7.8%
125
137
151
169
190
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
0.0%
2.0%
4.0%
6.0%
8.0%
11.1%
124
139
156
175
195
12.4%
141
158
177
198
220
13.8%
158
177
198
221
245
15.2%
175
196
219
244
270
16.6%
193
215
240
267
295
All the inputs moving at once
4,983 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 2.1%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$124.15
Median$198.18
90th percentile$337.70
$200.00$400.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$155.13</b> and <b>$259.47</b>; one in ten below $124.15, one in ten above $337.70.
Does the long run make sense?
15.2×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 15.2 times that year's EBITDA.
11%To grow 2.5% forever while reinvesting 22% of its after-tax operating profit, the business must earn 11% on the new capital — it has earned 9% on average over the last five years.
67%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.