HSY · Consumer staples(sugar & confectionery products) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Hershey Co reported revenue of $11.7 billion in fiscal 2025, after growing 5.2% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin narrowed from 16.9% in 2016 to 12.3%, and it earned 21.6% on its invested capital in the latest year. Of the $18.9 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 39.0% went to dividends and 24.5% to acquisitions; the share count fell 4.4%. On the accounting screens, it passes 5 of 9 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 2.82 is in the safe zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; none of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 202511.7B+5.2% a year over 9 years
Operating margin12.3%gross margin 33.5%
Return on invested capital21.6%40.9% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow after stock pay1.8B15.0% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDANet cash707.3M more cash than debt
Piotroski F-score5/9tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
05.0B10.0B15.0B
2016Revenue 7.4BOperating income 1.3B
2017Revenue 7.5BOperating income 1.3B
2018Revenue 7.8BOperating income 1.6B
2019Revenue 8.0BOperating income 1.6B
2020Revenue 8.1BOperating income 1.8B
2021Revenue 9.0BOperating income 2.0B
2022Revenue 10.4BOperating income 2.3B
2023Revenue 11.2BOperating income 2.6B
2024Revenue 11.2BOperating income 2.9B
2025Revenue 11.7BOperating income 1.4B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+3.9%
+7.5%
+5.2%
Operating income
-13.9%
-4.2%
+1.6%
Net income
-18.7%
-7.1%
+2.3%
Earnings per share
-18.4%
-6.6%
+2.8%
Free cash flow per share
+0.6%
+8.3%
+11.0%
Dividend per share
+12.3%
+11.7%
+9.6%
Shares
-0.3%
-0.5%
-0.5%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 10.2%
0.0%20.0%40.0%60.0%
2016Return on invested capital 26.2%
2017Return on invested capital 27.3%
2018Return on invested capital 28.9%
2019Return on invested capital 22.2%
2020Return on invested capital 22.5%
2021Return on invested capital 45.6%
2022Return on invested capital 48.6%
2023Return on invested capital 45.6%
2024Return on invested capital 43.2%
2025Return on invested capital 21.6%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Economic profit
0500.0M1.0B1.5B2.0B
2016Economic profit 503.8M
2017Economic profit 562.0M
2018Economic profit 875.5M
2019Economic profit 718.9M
2020Economic profit 834.2M
2021Economic profit 1.3B
2022Economic profit 1.5B
2023Economic profit 1.7B
2024Economic profit 2.0B
2025Economic profit 555.6M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.
Return on equity
19.0%
Return on assets
6.4%
Asset turnover
0.85×
Research & development
0.5% of revenue
Overheads (SG&A)
21.0% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
01.0B2.0B3.0B
2016Net income 720.0MFree cash flow 744.0MAfter stock-based pay 689.2M
2017Net income 783.0MFree cash flow 991.8MAfter stock-based pay 940.8M
2018Net income 1.2BFree cash flow 1.3BAfter stock-based pay 1.2B
2019Net income 1.1BFree cash flow 1.4BAfter stock-based pay 1.4B
2020Net income 1.3BFree cash flow 1.3BAfter stock-based pay 1.2B
2021Net income 1.5BFree cash flow 1.6BAfter stock-based pay 1.5B
2022Net income 1.6BFree cash flow 1.8BAfter stock-based pay 1.7B
2023Net income 1.9BFree cash flow 1.6BAfter stock-based pay 1.5B
2024Net income 2.2BFree cash flow 1.9BAfter stock-based pay 1.9B
2025Net income 883.3MFree cash flow 1.8BAfter stock-based pay 1.8B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025
18.9B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 24%4.5B
Acquisitions 25%4.6B
Dividends 39%7.4B
Share buybacks 18%3.5B
More than it generated: funded with cash or new debt -6%-1.1B
Over the same years it paid 588.2M in stock. The share count fell 4.4%. 2.9B of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$0.00$5.00$10.00$15.00
2016Earnings per share $3.39Free cash flow per share $3.50Dividend per share $2.35
2017Earnings per share $3.71Free cash flow per share $4.70Dividend per share $2.50
2018Earnings per share $5.61Free cash flow per share $6.06Dividend per share $2.68
2019Earnings per share $5.51Free cash flow per share $6.92Dividend per share $2.92
2020Earnings per share $6.14Free cash flow per share $6.04Dividend per share $3.08
2021Earnings per share $7.17Free cash flow per share $7.70Dividend per share $3.33
2022Earnings per share $8.02Free cash flow per share $8.82Dividend per share $3.78
2023Earnings per share $9.11Free cash flow per share $7.59Dividend per share $4.35
2024Earnings per share $10.98Free cash flow per share $9.51Dividend per share $5.36
2025Earnings per share $4.35Free cash flow per share $8.99Dividend per share $5.35
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
200.0M202.5M205.0M207.5M210.0M212.5M
2016Diluted shares 212.3M
2017Diluted shares 210.9M
2018Diluted shares 209.7M
2019Diluted shares 208.8M
2020Diluted shares 208.2M
2021Diluted shares 206.1M
2022Diluted shares 205.0M
2023Diluted shares 204.4M
2024Diluted shares 202.4M
2025Diluted shares 202.8M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
-2.0B02.0B4.0B
2016Net debt 2.1B
2017Net debt 2.0B
2018Net debt 2.7B
2019Net debt 3.7B
2020Net debt 3.4B
2021Net debt 610.2M
2022Net debt 229.9M
2023Net debt 317.9M
2024Net debt 576.2M
2025Net debt -707.3M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
-0.4×
Interest coverage
6× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
1.19 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
31 days collects in 23d, stock 67d, pays in 59d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
5of 9 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✕Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforefailed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✓Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellpassed
✓More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforepassed
✕No new sharesShare count did not growfailed
✕Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year beforefailed
✕Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforefailed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
2.82safe zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets 0.04 × 6.56+0.28
Retained earnings ÷ assets 0.40 × 3.26+1.30
Operating income ÷ assets 0.10 × 6.72+0.70
Equity ÷ liabilities 0.51 × 1.05+0.53
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-2.72below the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 0.87+0.80
Gross margin slipping 1.41+0.74
Soft assets 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.40
Sales growth 1.04+0.93
Slower depreciation 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.12
Overheads vs sales 0.99-0.17
Profit not in cash -0.10-0.47
Leverage rising 0.72-0.24
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
None of the six cross-checks fires for the latest year: receivables and inventory move with revenue, profit turns into cash, investment keeps up with depreciation, the tax rate is ordinary and debt is moderate.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
Value per share, with these assumptions$148.10discounted at 10.2% a year · 51% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
34.0×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
15.1×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
2.5×
Free cash flow yield
5.8%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today14.5B
Everything after, today14.8B
The whole business29.3B
Plus net cash707.3M
What belongs to shareholders30.0B
Divided among 202.8M shares: <strong>$148.10</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
01.0B2.0B3.0B
2016Reported 689.2M
2017Reported 940.8M
2018Reported 1.2B
2019Reported 1.4B
2020Reported 1.2B
2021Reported 1.5B
2022Reported 1.7B
2023Reported 1.5B
2024Reported 1.9B
2025Reported 1.8B
2026Projected 1.9B
2027Projected 2.1B
2028Projected 2.2B
2029Projected 2.3B
2030Projected 2.4B
2031Projected 2.6B
2032Projected 2.7B
2033Projected 2.8B
2034Projected 2.8B
2035Projected 2.9B
2016201820202022202420262028203020322034
Year by year
2026
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
Revenue
12.6B
13.4B
14.3B
15.1B
15.9B
16.7B
17.4B
18.0B
18.6B
19.0B
Growth
7.5%
6.9%
6.4%
5.8%
5.3%
4.7%
4.2%
3.6%
3.1%
2.5%
Cash margin
15.3%
15.3%
15.3%
15.3%
15.3%
15.3%
15.3%
15.3%
15.3%
15.3%
Free cash flow
1.9B
2.1B
2.2B
2.3B
2.4B
2.6B
2.7B
2.8B
2.8B
2.9B
Worth today
1.7B
1.7B
1.6B
1.6B
1.5B
1.4B
1.4B
1.3B
1.2B
1.1B
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
9.2%
153
161
171
182
195
9.7%
143
151
159
168
179
10.2%
135
141
148
156
165
10.7%
128
133
139
146
154
11.2%
121
126
131
137
144
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
3.5%
5.5%
7.5%
9.5%
11.5%
12.2%
108
117
126
136
147
13.8%
117
127
137
148
160
15.3%
127
137
148
160
173
16.8%
136
147
159
172
186
18.4%
145
157
170
184
199
All the inputs moving at once
5,000 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 2.3%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$114.06
Median$148.48
90th percentile$197.91
$100.00$150.00$200.00$250.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$128.75</b> and <b>$171.16</b>; one in ten below $114.06, one in ten above $197.91.
Does the long run make sense?
12.3×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 12.3 times that year's EBITDA.
Free growthIn year 10 free cash flow is at or above after-tax operating profit, yet the model grows 2.5% forever. Growth needs reinvestment; this assumes it comes for free, which flatters the terminal value.
51%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
What lenders charge, after the tax saving on interest: 13.18% × (1 − 27.3%) = <strong>9.59%</strong>.
Weighted by how much of each the company uses (book value (no price given)): <strong>10.15%</strong>, the rate every future cash flow is discounted at.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.