SphinxRisk
Create account
EN

Globe Life Inc.

GL · Financials (life insurance) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31

Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›

Globe Life Inc. reported revenue of $6.0 billion in fiscal 2025. Of the $5.7 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 49.9% went to buybacks and 5.9% to dividends. On the accounting screens, it passes 6 of 7 Piotroski tests; none of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.

Revenue, fiscal 2025 6.0B  
Operating margin 26.3% gross margin —
Return on invested capital 14.8% 15.4% on average over 3 years
Free cash flow after stock pay 1.2B 20.0% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA 1.5× net debt 2.5B
Piotroski F-score 6/7 tests of improvement passed

Is it growing?

Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.

RevenueOperating income

Does it earn more than its capital costs?

Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.

GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow

Return on invested capital

Return on invested capital Cost of capital today · 8.4%

Economic profit

Economic profit

(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.

Return on equity
19.4%
Return on assets
3.8%
Asset turnover
0.19×

Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?

Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.

Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay

Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2022–2025

5.7B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.

  • Reinvested in the business 5% 291.0M
  • Acquisitions 0% 0
  • Dividends 6% 336.2M
  • Share buybacks 50% 2.8B
  • Kept, or used to pay down debt 39% 2.2B

Over the same years it paid 159.9M in stock. 2.7B of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.

Per share

Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share

Shares outstanding

Diluted shares

How strong is the balance sheet?

Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.

Net debt
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
1.5×
Interest coverage
11× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
— current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
—

Three classic screens of the accounts

Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.

Piotroski F-score

Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.

6of 7 tests passed
  • ProfitableReturn on assets above zero passed
  • Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zero passed
  • Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year before passed
  • Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals) passed
  • Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fell passed
  • More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year before — not reported no data
  • No new sharesShare count did not grow passed
  • Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reported no data
  • Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year before failed

Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.

Altman Z''-score

Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?

The accounts lack a line it needs (retained earnings, current assets or liabilities).

Beneish M-score

Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?

The accounts lack too many of the lines it needs.

Where the statements disagree

Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.

None of the six cross-checks fires for the latest year: receivables and inventory move with revenue, profit turns into cash, investment keeps up with depreciation, the tax rate is ordinary and debt is moderate.

What is it worth, under which assumptions?

A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.

Revenue
M $

revenue of fiscal 2025

%

revenue grew +4.9% a year over the last 2 years; it fades to the terminal rate by the last year

yrs

ten years for growth to fade to the terminal rate

Cash from each sale
%

free cash flow to the firm after stock-based pay ÷ revenue, last 3 fiscal years together

%

the margin in year ten; by default the business keeps today's

The long run
%

growth forever after year ten, below the risk-free rate: no company outgrows the economy forever

The discount rate
%

10-year US Treasury par yield (U.S. Treasury), 2026-09-25

not measured on this public page, which uses only public filings: 1.0 assumes it moves like the market. Sign in to measure it from prices

%

the extra return demanded for holding shares; it cannot be measured, and 4–6% is the common range

%

interest expense ÷ debt = 5.4%, kept between the risk-free rate and +8 points

%

effective rate in the last fiscal year, 19.1%, kept within 0–35%

The price
$

Type the price you see at your broker. It is used only for the reverse questions: what that price implies.

Back to the defaults

SEC from the filings Treasury the 10-year yield measured from prices assumption cannot be measured yours you changed it

Value per share, with these assumptions $228.16 discounted at 8.4% a year · 58% of it from after year 10
$161.3480% of 5,000 simulations$337.33
Cautious $127.19 1.0% growth · 15.6% margin · 9.4% discount · 2.0% forever
Your assumptions $228.16 5.0% growth · 18.4% margin · 8.4% discount · 2.5% forever
Generous $427.19 9.0% growth · 21.2% margin · 7.4% discount · 3.0% forever

Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.

What the value implies, in the usual multiples

At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings16.2×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA13.3×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue3.6×
Free cash flow yield6.4%

From cash flows to a value per share

10 years of cash flow, today8.9B
Everything after, today12.4B
The whole business21.3B
Minus net debt-2.5B
What belongs to shareholders18.8B

Divided among 82.5M shares: <strong>$228.16</strong> each.

The projection next to its history

Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.

ReportedProjected
Year by year
2026202720282029203020312032203320342035
Revenue6.3B6.6B6.9B7.2B7.4B7.7B8.0B8.2B8.4B8.7B
Growth5.0%4.7%4.4%4.2%3.9%3.6%3.3%3.1%2.8%2.5%
Cash margin18.4%18.4%18.4%18.4%18.4%18.4%18.4%18.4%18.4%18.4%
Free cash flow1.2B1.2B1.3B1.3B1.4B1.4B1.5B1.5B1.6B1.6B
Worth today1.1B1.0B994.4M955.6M915.9M875.5M834.6M793.5M752.4M711.5M

If the least-known inputs move

Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.

The discount rate and growth forever

discount ↓ · forever →1.5%2.0%2.5%3.0%3.5%
7.4% 237 257 282 312 350
7.9% 216 233 253 277 306
8.4% 197 212 228 248 271
8.9% 182 194 208 224 243
9.4% 168 178 190 204 220

Year-one growth and the final margin

margin ↓ · growth →1.0%3.0%5.0%7.0%9.0%
14.7% 154 170 187 206 226
16.6% 171 189 208 228 250
18.4% 188 207 228 251 275
20.2% 205 226 249 273 300
22.1% 222 245 269 296 324

All the inputs moving at once

5,000 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 2.8%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.

Half of the simulations land between <b>$189.83</b> and <b>$278.09</b>; one in ten below $161.34, one in ten above $337.33.

Does the long run make sense?

  • 11.9×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 11.9 times that year's EBITDA.
  • 18%To grow 2.5% forever while reinvesting 14% of its after-tax operating profit, the business must earn 18% on the new capital — it has earned 15% on average over the last five years.
  • 58%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
The discount rate, taken apart
  1. What shareholders demand (CAPM): 5.17% risk-free + 1.00 beta × 5.0% premium = <strong>10.17%</strong>.
  2. What lenders charge, after the tax saving on interest: 5.38% × (1 − 19.1%) = <strong>4.35%</strong>.
  3. Weighted by how much of each the company uses (book value (no price given)): <strong>8.39%</strong>, the rate every future cash flow is discounted at.

What it has filed lately

The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.

What its own directors and officers did

Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 5 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.

Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market$30.0M16 sale(s) by 5 insider(s)
Under pre-arranged plans0%of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
Other lines80 awards · 8 option exercises · 0 tax withholdings
DateWhoWhatSharesPriceValueHolds after
22 Sep 2026 Hensley Robert EdwardEVP & Chief Investment Officer Exercised options 10,000 $103.23 $1.0M 22,384
22 Sep 2026 Hensley Robert EdwardEVP & Chief Investment Officer Sold on the open market 3,344 $169.53 $566,912 19,040
22 Sep 2026 Hensley Robert EdwardEVP & Chief Investment Officer Sold on the open market 6,656 $170.34 $1.1M 12,384
7 Aug 2026 Mitchell Robert BrianEVP, General Counsel and CRO Exercised options 23,000 $103.23 $2.4M 30,981
7 Aug 2026 Mitchell Robert BrianEVP, General Counsel and CRO Sold on the open market 11,454 $182.77 $2.1M 19,527
7 Aug 2026 Mitchell Robert BrianEVP, General Counsel and CRO Sold on the open market 10,529 $183.83 $1.9M 8,998
7 Aug 2026 Mitchell Robert BrianEVP, General Counsel and CRO Sold on the open market 1,017 $184.75 $187,892 7,981
31 Jul 2026 Darden James MatthewCo-Chairman & CEO Exercised options 50,000 $98.32 $4.9M 108,451
31 Jul 2026 Darden James MatthewCo-Chairman & CEO Sold on the open market 49,600 $182.43 $9.0M 58,851
31 Jul 2026 Darden James MatthewCo-Chairman & CEO Sold on the open market 400 $183.36 $73,343 58,451
30 Jul 2026 Kalmbach Thomas PeterEVP & CFO Exercised options 10,000 $103.23 $1.0M 60,568
30 Jul 2026 Kalmbach Thomas PeterEVP & CFO Exercised options 11,000 $120.49 $1.3M 71,568
30 Jul 2026 Kalmbach Thomas PeterEVP & CFO Sold on the open market 10,720 $179.30 $1.9M 60,848
30 Jul 2026 Kalmbach Thomas PeterEVP & CFO Sold on the open market 4,840 $180.08 $871,578 56,008
30 Jul 2026 Kalmbach Thomas PeterEVP & CFO Sold on the open market 2,650 $181.23 $480,255 53,358
30 Jul 2026 Kalmbach Thomas PeterEVP & CFO Sold on the open market 2,790 $181.81 $507,264 50,568
29 Jul 2026 Majors Michael ClayEVP - Chief Strategy Officer Exercised options 37,000 $103.23 $3.8M 90,518
29 Jul 2026 Majors Michael ClayEVP - Chief Strategy Officer Sold on the open market 33,500 $178.56 $6.0M 57,018
29 Jul 2026 Majors Michael ClayEVP - Chief Strategy Officer Sold on the open market 3,500 $179.35 $627,722 53,518
28 Jul 2026 Kalmbach Thomas PeterEVP & CFO Exercised options 14,100 $120.49 $1.7M 64,668
28 Jul 2026 Kalmbach Thomas PeterEVP & CFO Exercised options 11,550 $128.40 $1.5M 76,218
28 Jul 2026 Kalmbach Thomas PeterEVP & CFO Sold on the open market 9,550 $178.06 $1.7M 66,668
28 Jul 2026 Kalmbach Thomas PeterEVP & CFO Sold on the open market 12,303 $178.73 $2.2M 54,365
28 Jul 2026 Kalmbach Thomas PeterEVP & CFO Sold on the open market 3,797 $179.42 $681,246 50,568

A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.

Which large funds report holding it

From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.

FundSharesValueShare of the fundSince the quarter before
Norges Bank (Norway's sovereign fund) 30 Jun 2026 915,219 $163.5M 0.0% New
Bridgewater Associates 30 Jun 2026 66,120 $11.8M 0.0% Added to

All the funds and what they reported ›

Companies like this one

Same SEC industry (life insurance) first, then the rest of financials.

Every figure, year by year

10 fiscal years · 30 measures
2022202220222022202320232023202320242025
Size
Revenue———5.2B———5.4B5.8B6.0B
Revenue growth————————+6.1%+3.7%
Operating income———1.2B———1.3B1.5B1.6B
Net income———894.4M———970.8M1.1B1.2B
Margins
Gross margin——————————
Operating margin———22.7%———23.2%25.2%26.3%
Net margin———17.1%———17.8%18.5%19.4%
Free cash flow margin———26.7%———26.3%23.0%20.9%
R&D ÷ revenue——————————
SG&A ÷ revenue———5.9%———5.5%——
Cash
Free cash flow———1.4B———1.4B1.3B1.3B
Stock-based pay———35.6M———30.7M40.1M53.4M
Free cash flow after stock pay———1.4B———1.4B1.3B1.2B
Free cash flow to the firm———955.9M———999.7M1.1B1.2B
Free cash flow ÷ net income———1.6×———1.5×1.2×1.1×
Capex ÷ revenue———0.5%———0.9%1.2%2.4%
Returns
Return on invested capital———16.8%———16.8%14.6%14.8%
Return on equity———22.6%———21.6%20.2%19.4%
Return on assets———3.4%———3.5%3.7%3.8%
Asset turnover———0.2×———0.2×0.2×0.2×
Economic profit———480.8M———514.9M498.1M553.6M
Per share
Earnings per share———$9.04———$10.07$11.94$14.07
Free cash flow per share———$14.09———$14.87$14.85$15.19
Dividend per share———$0.81———$0.87$0.95$1.04
Payout ratio———9.0%———8.7%8.0%7.4%
Book value per share———$37.54———$43.89$54.57$64.79
Diluted shares———99.0M———96.4M89.7M82.5M
Balance sheet
Net debt———1.7B———1.5B2.6B2.5B
Net debt ÷ EBITDA———1.4×———1.2×1.7×1.5×
Interest coverage———13.1×———12.4×11.4×11.2×
Current ratio——————————
Cash conversion cycle (days)——————————
Scores
Piotroski F-score—003000366
Altman Z''——————————
Beneish M——————————

Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.