CIEN · Technology(telephone & telegraph apparatus) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-11-01
Ciena Corp reported revenue of $4.8 billion in fiscal 2025, after growing 4.9% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin narrowed from 7.4% in 2018 to 4.1%, and it earned 3.7% on its invested capital in the latest year. Of the $3.4 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 55.9% went to buybacks and 24.3% back into the business. On the accounting screens, it passes 7 of 9 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 1.90 is in the grey zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; none of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 20254.8B+4.9% a year over 9 years
Operating margin4.1%gross margin 42.0%
Return on invested capital3.7%6.0% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow after stock pay480.8M10.1% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA1.5×net debt 443.8M
Piotroski F-score7/9tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
02.0B4.0B6.0B
2018Revenue 3.1BOperating income 229.9M
2019Revenue 3.6BOperating income 346.8M
2019Revenue 3.6BOperating income 346.8M
2019
2020Revenue 3.5BOperating income 487.0M
2021Revenue 3.6BOperating income 495.4M
2022Revenue 3.6BOperating income 222.8M
2023Revenue 4.4BOperating income 357.5M
2024Revenue 4.0BOperating income 166.6M
2025Revenue 4.8BOperating income 197.5M
2018201920192019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+9.5%
+6.2%
+4.9%
Operating income
-3.9%
-16.5%
-1.7%
Net income
-6.9%
-19.3%
—
Earnings per share
-5.5%
-18.2%
—
Free cash flow per share
—
+11.7%
+16.9%
Shares
-1.5%
-1.4%
+0.1%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 8.2%
0.0%5.0%10.0%15.0%
2018
2019Return on invested capital 9.8%
2019Return on invested capital 9.8%
2019
2020Return on invested capital 12.1%
2021Return on invested capital 12.3%
2022Return on invested capital 4.9%
2023Return on invested capital 6.4%
2024Return on invested capital 2.7%
2025Return on invested capital 3.7%
2018201920192019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Economic profit
-300.0M-200.0M-100.0M0100.0M200.0M
2018
2019Economic profit 47.5M
2019Economic profit 47.0M
2019
2020Economic profit 125.0M
2021Economic profit 153.3M
2022Economic profit -122.2M
2023Economic profit -78.2M
2024Economic profit -239.5M
2025Economic profit -192.5M
2018201920192019202020212022202320242025
(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.
Return on equity
4.5%
Return on assets
2.1%
Asset turnover
0.81×
Research & development
17.8% of revenue
Overheads (SG&A)
5.0% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
-500.0M0500.0M1.0B
2018Net income -344.7MFree cash flow 161.6MAfter stock-based pay 108.7M
2019Net income 253.4MFree cash flow 350.6MAfter stock-based pay 290.8M
2019Net income 253.4MFree cash flow 350.6MAfter stock-based pay 290.8M
2019
2020Net income 361.3MFree cash flow 411.0MAfter stock-based pay 343.2M
2021Net income 500.2MFree cash flow 462.1MAfter stock-based pay 377.8M
2022Net income 152.9MFree cash flow -258.6MAfter stock-based pay -363.7M
2023Net income 254.8MFree cash flow 62.1MAfter stock-based pay -68.3M
2024Net income 84.0MFree cash flow 377.9MAfter stock-based pay 221.5M
2025Net income 123.3MFree cash flow 665.3MAfter stock-based pay 480.8M
2018201920192019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2018–2025
3.4B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 24%829.4M
Acquisitions 19%634.2M
Dividends 0%0
Share buybacks 56%1.9B
Kept, or used to pay down debt 1%39.5M
Over the same years it paid 901.1M in stock. The share count rose 1.1%. 1.0B of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$-4.00$-2.00$0.00$2.00$4.00$6.00
2018Earnings per share $-2.40Free cash flow per share $1.12
2019Earnings per share $1.61Free cash flow per share $2.22
2019Earnings per share $1.61Free cash flow per share $2.22
2019
2020Earnings per share $2.32Free cash flow per share $2.64
2021Earnings per share $3.19Free cash flow per share $2.95
2022Earnings per share $1.00Free cash flow per share $-1.70
2023Earnings per share $1.71Free cash flow per share $0.42
2024Earnings per share $0.58Free cash flow per share $2.59
2025Earnings per share $0.85Free cash flow per share $4.58
2018201920192019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
140.0M145.0M150.0M155.0M160.0M
2018Diluted shares 143.7M
2019Diluted shares 157.6M
2019Diluted shares 157.6M
2019
2020Diluted shares 156.0M
2021Diluted shares 156.7M
2022Diluted shares 152.2M
2023Diluted shares 149.4M
2024Diluted shares 146.0M
2025Diluted shares 145.2M
2018201920192019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
-1.0B-500.0M0500.0M1.0B
2018
2019Net debt -223.6M
2019Net debt -216.6M
2019
2020Net debt -405.3M
2021Net debt -745.3M
2022Net debt 73.7M
2023Net debt 544.5M
2024Net debt 609.9M
2025Net debt 443.8M
2018201920192019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
1.5×
Interest coverage
2× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
2.73 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
112 days collects in 75d, stock 109d, pays in 72d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
7of 9 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✓Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforepassed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✓Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellpassed
✕More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforefailed
✓No new sharesShare count did not growpassed
✕Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year beforefailed
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
1.90grey zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets 0.38 × 6.56+2.52
Retained earnings ÷ assets -0.54 × 3.26-1.76
Operating income ÷ assets 0.03 × 6.72+0.23
Equity ÷ liabilities 0.87 × 1.05+0.91
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-2.94below the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 0.90+0.83
Gross margin slipping 1.02+0.54
Soft assets 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.40
Sales growth 1.19+1.06
Slower depreciation 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.12
Overheads vs sales 0.91-0.16
Profit not in cash -0.12-0.54
Leverage rising 1.08-0.35
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
None of the six cross-checks fires for the latest year: receivables and inventory move with revenue, profit turns into cash, investment keeps up with depreciation, the tax rate is ordinary and debt is moderate.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
Value per share, with these assumptions$1.17discounted at 8.2% a year · 60% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
1.4×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
2.0×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
0.1×
Free cash flow yield
283.0%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today247.9M
Everything after, today365.8M
The whole business613.7M
Minus net debt-443.8M
What belongs to shareholders169.9M
Divided among 145.2M shares: <strong>$1.17</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
-500.0M-250.0M0250.0M500.0M
2018Reported 108.7M
2019Reported 290.8M
2019Reported 290.8M
2019
2020Reported 343.2M
2021Reported 377.8M
2022Reported -363.7M
2023Reported -68.3M
2024Reported 221.5M
2025Reported 480.8M
2026Projected 31.0M
2027Projected 32.8M
2028Projected 34.5M
2029Projected 36.1M
2030Projected 37.8M
2031Projected 39.3M
2032Projected 40.7M
2033Projected 42.1M
2034Projected 43.3M
2035Projected 44.4M
2018201920202022202420262028203020322034
Year by year
2026
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
Revenue
5.1B
5.3B
5.6B
5.9B
6.2B
6.4B
6.6B
6.9B
7.1B
7.2B
Growth
6.0%
5.6%
5.2%
4.8%
4.4%
4.1%
3.7%
3.3%
2.9%
2.5%
Cash margin
0.6%
0.6%
0.6%
0.6%
0.6%
0.6%
0.6%
0.6%
0.6%
0.6%
Free cash flow
31.0M
32.8M
34.5M
36.1M
37.8M
39.3M
40.7M
42.1M
43.3M
44.4M
Worth today
28.7M
28.0M
27.2M
26.4M
25.5M
24.5M
23.5M
22.4M
21.3M
20.2M
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
7.2%
1
2
2
3
3
7.7%
1
1
2
2
3
8.2%
1
1
1
2
2
8.7%
0
1
1
1
1
9.2%
0
0
1
1
1
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
2.0%
4.0%
6.0%
8.0%
10.0%
0.5%
-0
0
0
1
1
0.5%
0
1
1
1
2
0.6%
1
1
1
2
2
0.7%
1
1
2
2
2
0.7%
1
1
2
2
3
All the inputs moving at once
5,000 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 2.0%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$-13.24
Median$1.28
90th percentile$16.44
$-20.00$0.00$20.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$-6.02</b> and <b>$8.99</b>; one in ten below $-13.24, one in ten above $16.44.
Does the long run make sense?
1.8×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 1.8 times that year's EBITDA.
3%To grow 2.5% forever while reinvesting 81% of its after-tax operating profit, the business must earn 3% on the new capital — it has earned 6% on average over the last five years.
60%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.