CDNS · Technology(services-prepackaged software) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Cadence Design Systems Inc reported revenue of $5.3 billion in fiscal 2025, after growing 11.8% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin widened from 16.7% in 2017 to 28.2%. Of the $9.4 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 51.9% went to buybacks and 27.1% to acquisitions; the share count fell 2.5%. On the accounting screens, it passes 5 of 7 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 6.46 is in the safe zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; 2 of the six cross-checks between its statements fire.
Revenue, fiscal 20255.3B+11.8% a year over 9 years
Operating margin28.2%gross margin —
Return on invested capital—
Free cash flow after stock pay1.1B21.4% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA—net debt —
Piotroski F-score5/7tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
02.0B4.0B6.0B
2017Revenue 1.9BOperating income 324.0M
2017
2018Revenue 2.1BOperating income 396.2M
2019Revenue 2.3BOperating income 491.8M
2021Revenue 2.7BOperating income 645.6M
2022Revenue 3.0BOperating income 779.1M
2022Revenue 3.6BOperating income 1.1B
2023Revenue 4.1BOperating income 1.3B
2024Revenue 4.6BOperating income 1.4B
2025Revenue 5.3BOperating income 1.5B
2017201720182019202120222022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+14.1%
+14.6%
+11.8%
Operating income
+11.6%
+18.2%
+18.5%
Net income
+9.3%
+13.4%
+20.7%
Earnings per share
+9.5%
+13.9%
+21.0%
Free cash flow per share
+12.6%
+14.9%
+16.5%
Shares
-0.2%
-0.5%
-0.3%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow
0.0%20.0%40.0%60.0%
2017Operating 16.7%Net 10.5%Free cash flow 21.2%
2017
2018Operating 18.5%Net 16.2%Free cash flow 25.4%
2019Operating 21.1%Net 42.3%Free cash flow 28.0%
2021Operating 24.1%Net 22.0%Free cash flow 30.2%
2022Operating 26.1%Net 23.3%Free cash flow 34.7%
2022Operating 30.1%Net 23.8%Free cash flow 31.4%
2023Operating 30.6%Net 25.5%Free cash flow 30.5%
2024Operating 29.1%Net 22.7%Free cash flow 24.1%
2025Operating 28.2%Net 20.9%Free cash flow 30.0%
2017201720182019202120222022202320242025
Return on invested capital
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 10.2%
0.0%5.0%10.0%15.0%
2017
2017
2018
2019
2021
2022
2022
2023
2024
2025
2017201720182019202120222022202320242025
Economic profit
Needs a cost of capital, which comes from the valuation below.
Return on equity
20.3%
Return on assets
10.9%
Asset turnover
0.52×
Overheads (SG&A)
5.9% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
0500.0M1.0B1.5B2.0B
2017Net income 204.1MFree cash flow 412.8MAfter stock-based pay 282.8M
2017
2018Net income 345.8MFree cash flow 543.2MAfter stock-based pay 375.5M
2019Net income 989.0MFree cash flow 655.0MAfter stock-based pay 473.4M
2021Net income 590.6MFree cash flow 810.1MAfter stock-based pay 612.8M
2022Net income 696.0MFree cash flow 1.0BAfter stock-based pay 825.6M
2022Net income 849.0MFree cash flow 1.1BAfter stock-based pay 848.2M
2023Net income 1.0BFree cash flow 1.2BAfter stock-based pay 921.2M
2024Net income 1.1BFree cash flow 1.1BAfter stock-based pay 726.8M
2025Net income 1.1BFree cash flow 1.6BAfter stock-based pay 1.1B
2017201720182019202120222022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2017–2025
9.4B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 9%864.1M
Acquisitions 27%2.5B
Dividends 0%0
Share buybacks 52%4.9B
Kept, or used to pay down debt 12%1.1B
Over the same years it paid 2.3B in stock. The share count fell 2.5%. 2.5B of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$0.00$2.00$4.00$6.00
2017Earnings per share $0.73Free cash flow per share $1.47
2017
2018Earnings per share $1.23Free cash flow per share $1.93
2019Earnings per share $3.53Free cash flow per share $2.33
2021Earnings per share $2.11Free cash flow per share $2.90
2022Earnings per share $2.50Free cash flow per share $3.71
2022Earnings per share $3.09Free cash flow per share $4.07
2023Earnings per share $3.82Free cash flow per share $4.57
2024Earnings per share $3.85Free cash flow per share $4.08
2025Earnings per share $4.06Free cash flow per share $5.81
2017201720182019202120222022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
272.5M275.0M277.5M280.0M282.5M
2017Diluted shares 280.2M
2017
2018Diluted shares 281.1M
2019Diluted shares 280.5M
2021Diluted shares 279.6M
2022Diluted shares 278.9M
2022Diluted shares 275.0M
2023Diluted shares 272.7M
2024Diluted shares 273.8M
2025Diluted shares 273.3M
2017201720182019202120222022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
—
Interest coverage
13× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
2.86 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
— collects in 65d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
5of 7 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✕Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforefailed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
–Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fell — not reportedno data
✕More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforefailed
✓No new sharesShare count did not growpassed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
6.46safe zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets 0.30 × 6.56+1.96
Retained earnings ÷ assets 0.70 × 3.26+2.28
Operating income ÷ assets 0.15 × 6.72+0.99
Equity ÷ liabilities 1.17 × 1.05+1.23
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-2.47below the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 1.22+1.12
Gross margin slipping 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.53
Soft assets 0.98+0.39
Sales growth 1.14+1.02
Slower depreciation 0.98+0.11
Overheads vs sales 1.00-0.17
Profit not in cash -0.06-0.29
Leverage rising 1.05-0.34
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
Receivables are growing 39% against revenue growing 14%.
Benign
A shift towards larger customers on longer terms, or sales concentrated at the end of the period.
Worrying
Sales are being made on looser credit, or revenue has been booked that may never be collected.
Capital spending (142M) is well below depreciation (228M).
Benign
Mature assets, or a business that has become less capital-intensive.
Worrying
Under-investing: today's profit is being held up by consuming tomorrow's capacity.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
Value per share, with these assumptions$44.70discounted at 10.2% a year · 53% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
11.0×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
7.1×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
2.3×
Free cash flow yield
9.3%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today5.8B
Everything after, today6.5B
The whole business12.2B
Minus net debt-0
What belongs to shareholders12.2B
Divided among 273.3M shares: <strong>$44.70</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
0500.0M1.0B1.5B
2017Reported 282.8M
2017
2018Reported 375.5M
2019Reported 473.4M
2021Reported 612.8M
2022Reported 825.6M
2022Reported 848.2M
2023Reported 921.2M
2024Reported 726.8M
2025Reported 1.1B
2026Projected 649.4M
2027Projected 735.0M
2028Projected 821.9M
2029Projected 908.2M
2030Projected 991.5M
2031Projected 1.1B
2032Projected 1.1B
2033Projected 1.2B
2034Projected 1.2B
2035Projected 1.3B
2017201820212022202420262028203020322034
Year by year
2026
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
Revenue
6.1B
6.9B
7.7B
8.5B
9.3B
10.0B
10.6B
11.2B
11.6B
11.9B
Growth
14.5%
13.2%
11.8%
10.5%
9.2%
7.8%
6.5%
5.2%
3.8%
2.5%
Cash margin
10.7%
10.7%
10.7%
10.7%
10.7%
10.7%
10.7%
10.7%
10.7%
10.7%
Free cash flow
649.4M
735.0M
821.9M
908.2M
991.5M
1.1B
1.1B
1.2B
1.2B
1.3B
Worth today
589.4M
605.4M
614.5M
616.3M
610.6M
597.6M
577.7M
551.4M
519.6M
483.4M
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
9.2%
46
49
52
55
60
9.7%
43
45
48
51
54
10.2%
40
42
45
47
50
10.7%
38
40
42
44
46
11.2%
36
37
39
41
43
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
10.5%
12.5%
14.5%
16.5%
18.5%
8.6%
32
35
38
41
44
9.6%
35
38
41
45
48
10.7%
38
41
45
48
52
11.8%
41
45
48
52
56
12.8%
44
48
52
56
60
All the inputs moving at once
5,000 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 2.0%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$33.14
Median$44.85
90th percentile$61.23
$40.00$60.00$80.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$38.10</b> and <b>$52.53</b>; one in ten below $33.14, one in ten above $61.23.
Does the long run make sense?
4.4×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 4.4 times that year's EBITDA.
5%To grow 2.5% forever while reinvesting 48% of its after-tax operating profit, the business must earn 5% on the new capital.
53%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
What lenders charge, after the tax saving on interest: 6.68% × (1 − 27.1%) = <strong>4.87%</strong>.
Weighted by how much of each the company uses (book value (no price given)): <strong>10.18%</strong>, the rate every future cash flow is discounted at.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.