LIN · Materials(industrial inorganic chemicals) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Linde plc reported revenue of $34.0 billion in fiscal 2025, after growing 13.9% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin widened from 21.3% in 2016 to 26.3%, and it earned 11.4% on its invested capital in the latest year. Of the $70.7 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 44.6% went back into the business and 40.7% to buybacks; the share count rose 64.1%. On the accounting screens, it passes 4 of 8 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 2.03 is in the grey zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; none of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 202534.0B+13.9% a year over 9 years
Operating margin26.3%gross margin —
Return on invested capital11.4%9.7% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow after stock pay4.9B14.5% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA1.4×net debt 17.4B
Piotroski F-score4/8tests of improvement passed
Share counts are in today's shares. The SEC's filings restate only recent years after a split, so these jumps were read as splits and the older years scaled to match — otherwise per-share figures would compare different units:
2-for-1 before fiscal 2018.
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
010.0B20.0B30.0B40.0B
2016Revenue 10.5BOperating income 2.2B
2017Revenue 11.4BOperating income 2.4B
2018Revenue 14.8BOperating income 5.2B
2019Revenue 28.2BOperating income 2.9B
2020Revenue 27.2BOperating income 3.3B
2021Revenue 30.8BOperating income 5.0B
2022Revenue 33.4BOperating income 5.4B
2023Revenue 32.9BOperating income 8.0B
2024Revenue 33.0BOperating income 8.6B
2025Revenue 34.0BOperating income 8.9B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+0.6%
+4.5%
+13.9%
Operating income
+18.5%
+21.8%
+16.6%
Net income
+18.5%
+22.5%
+18.5%
Earnings per share
+21.1%
+25.4%
+12.1%
Free cash flow per share
-1.5%
+7.3%
+9.9%
Dividend per share
+8.6%
+9.3%
+8.0%
Shares
-2.2%
-2.3%
+5.7%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow
0.0%10.0%20.0%30.0%40.0%
2016Operating 21.3%Net 14.2%Free cash flow 12.6%
2017Operating 21.5%Net 11.0%Free cash flow 15.2%
2018Operating 35.4%Net 29.5%Free cash flow 11.9%
2019Operating 10.4%Net 8.1%Free cash flow 8.6%
2020Operating 12.2%Net 9.2%Free cash flow 14.8%
2021Operating 16.2%Net 12.4%Free cash flow 21.6%
2022Operating 16.1%Net 12.4%Free cash flow 17.1%
2023Operating 24.4%Net 18.9%Free cash flow 16.8%
2024Operating 26.2%Net 19.9%Free cash flow 14.9%
2025Operating 26.3%Net 20.3%Free cash flow 15.0%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Return on invested capital
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 7.9%
0.0%5.0%10.0%15.0%
2016
2017Return on invested capital 9.6%
2018Return on invested capital 6.7%
2019Return on invested capital 3.5%
2020Return on invested capital 4.0%
2021Return on invested capital 6.6%
2022Return on invested capital 7.4%
2023Return on invested capital 11.4%
2024Return on invested capital 11.9%
2025Return on invested capital 11.4%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Economic profit
-4.0B-2.0B02.0B4.0B
2016
2017Economic profit 238.4M
2018Economic profit -766.5M
2019Economic profit -2.7B
2020Economic profit -2.5B
2021Economic profit -759.0M
2022Economic profit -272.4M
2023Economic profit 1.9B
2024Economic profit 2.2B
2025Economic profit 2.1B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.
Return on equity
18.0%
Return on assets
7.9%
Asset turnover
0.39×
Research & development
0.4% of revenue
Overheads (SG&A)
10.1% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
02.0B4.0B6.0B8.0B
2016Net income 1.5BFree cash flow 1.3BAfter stock-based pay 1.3B
2017Net income 1.2BFree cash flow 1.7BAfter stock-based pay 1.7B
2018Net income 4.4BFree cash flow 1.8BAfter stock-based pay 1.7B
2019Net income 2.3BFree cash flow 2.4BAfter stock-based pay 2.3B
2020Net income 2.5BFree cash flow 4.0BAfter stock-based pay 3.9B
2021Net income 3.8BFree cash flow 6.6BAfter stock-based pay 6.5B
2022Net income 4.1BFree cash flow 5.7BAfter stock-based pay 5.6B
2023Net income 6.2BFree cash flow 5.5BAfter stock-based pay 5.4B
2024Net income 6.6BFree cash flow 4.9BAfter stock-based pay 4.8B
2025Net income 6.9BFree cash flow 5.1BAfter stock-based pay 4.9B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025
70.7B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 45%31.5B
Acquisitions 3%2.2B
Dividends 27%19.3B
Share buybacks 41%28.8B
More than it generated: funded with cash or new debt -16%-11.2B
Over the same years it paid 1.1B in stock. The share count rose 64.1%. 27.7B of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$0.00$5.00$10.00$15.00
2016Earnings per share $5.21Free cash flow per share $4.60Dividend per share $2.97
2017Earnings per share $4.31Free cash flow per share $5.98Dividend per share $3.12
2018Earnings per share $13.11Free cash flow per share $5.30Dividend per share $3.49
2019Earnings per share $4.19Free cash flow per share $4.47Dividend per share $3.47
2020Earnings per share $4.71Free cash flow per share $7.59Dividend per share $3.82
2021Earnings per share $7.33Free cash flow per share $12.72Dividend per share $4.19
2022Earnings per share $8.23Free cash flow per share $11.29Dividend per share $4.65
2023Earnings per share $12.59Free cash flow per share $11.21Dividend per share $5.04
2024Earnings per share $13.62Free cash flow per share $10.22Dividend per share $5.51
2025Earnings per share $14.61Free cash flow per share $10.78Dividend per share $5.95
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
200.0M300.0M400.0M500.0M600.0M
2016Diluted shares 287.8M
2017Diluted shares 289.1M
2018Diluted shares 334.1M
2019Diluted shares 545.2M
2020Diluted shares 531.2M
2021Diluted shares 521.9M
2022Diluted shares 504.0M
2023Diluted shares 492.3M
2024Diluted shares 482.1M
2025Diluted shares 472.2M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
05.0B10.0B15.0B20.0B
2016
2017Net debt 7.4B
2018Net debt 9.3B
2019Net debt 9.7B
2020Net debt 11.6B
2021Net debt 10.2B
2022Net debt 8.4B
2023Net debt 10.0B
2024Net debt 12.6B
2025Net debt 17.4B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
1.4×
Interest coverage
16× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
0.88 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
— collects in 53d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
4of 8 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✕Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforefailed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✕Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellfailed
✕More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforefailed
✓No new sharesShare count did not growpassed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✕Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforefailed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
2.03grey zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets -0.02 × 6.56-0.14
Retained earnings ÷ assets 0.19 × 3.26+0.62
Operating income ÷ assets 0.10 × 6.72+0.69
Equity ÷ liabilities 0.81 × 1.05+0.85
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-2.63below the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 1.04+0.96
Gross margin slipping 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.53
Soft assets 0.98+0.40
Sales growth 1.03+0.92
Slower depreciation 1.13+0.13
Overheads vs sales 1.00-0.17
Profit not in cash -0.04-0.19
Leverage rising 1.11-0.36
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
None of the six cross-checks fires for the latest year: receivables and inventory move with revenue, profit turns into cash, investment keeps up with depreciation, the tax rate is ordinary and debt is moderate.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
Value per share, with these assumptions$207.87discounted at 7.9% a year · 61% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
14.2×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
9.1×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
3.4×
Free cash flow yield
5.0%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today45.6B
Everything after, today70.0B
The whole business115.6B
Minus net debt-17.4B
What belongs to shareholders98.2B
Divided among 472.2M shares: <strong>$207.87</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
02.0B4.0B6.0B8.0B
2016Reported 1.3B
2017Reported 1.7B
2018Reported 1.7B
2019Reported 2.3B
2020Reported 3.9B
2021Reported 6.5B
2022Reported 5.6B
2023Reported 5.4B
2024Reported 4.8B
2025Reported 4.9B
2026Projected 5.8B
2027Projected 6.1B
2028Projected 6.3B
2029Projected 6.6B
2030Projected 6.8B
2031Projected 7.1B
2032Projected 7.3B
2033Projected 7.5B
2034Projected 7.7B
2035Projected 7.9B
2016201820202022202420262028203020322034
Year by year
2026
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
Revenue
35.5B
37.0B
38.5B
40.0B
41.5B
42.9B
44.2B
45.5B
46.8B
47.9B
Growth
4.5%
4.3%
4.1%
3.8%
3.6%
3.4%
3.2%
2.9%
2.7%
2.5%
Cash margin
16.5%
16.5%
16.5%
16.5%
16.5%
16.5%
16.5%
16.5%
16.5%
16.5%
Free cash flow
5.8B
6.1B
6.3B
6.6B
6.8B
7.1B
7.3B
7.5B
7.7B
7.9B
Worth today
5.4B
5.2B
5.0B
4.9B
4.7B
4.5B
4.3B
4.1B
3.9B
3.7B
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
6.9%
216
238
264
297
340
7.4%
194
212
233
259
291
7.9%
176
191
208
229
254
8.4%
160
173
187
204
224
8.9%
147
157
169
183
200
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
0.5%
2.5%
4.5%
6.5%
8.5%
13.2%
137
152
168
186
205
14.8%
153
170
188
208
229
16.5%
169
188
208
229
253
18.1%
186
206
228
251
277
19.7%
202
224
247
273
300
All the inputs moving at once
5,000 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 2.5%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$141.91
Median$208.29
90th percentile$320.53
$200.00$300.00$400.00$500.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$170.02</b> and <b>$258.95</b>; one in ten below $141.91, one in ten above $320.53.
Does the long run make sense?
8.4×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 8.4 times that year's EBITDA.
13%To grow 2.5% forever while reinvesting 19% of its after-tax operating profit, the business must earn 13% on the new capital — it has earned 10% on average over the last five years.
61%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.