HWM · Materials(rolling drawing & extruding of nonferrous metals) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Howmet Aerospace Inc. reported revenue of $8.3 billion in fiscal 2025, after growing 2.2% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin widened from 11.4% in 2018 to 24.8%, and it earned 20.0% on its invested capital in the latest year. Of the $6.0 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 58.9% went to buybacks and 51.4% back into the business; the share count fell 19.3%. On the accounting screens, it passes 7 of 8 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 4.57 is in the safe zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; none of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 20258.3B+2.2% a year over 9 years
Operating margin24.8%gross margin —
Return on invested capital20.0%13.3% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow after stock pay1.4B16.5% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA1.0×net debt 2.3B
Piotroski F-score7/8tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
02.5B5.0B7.5B10.0B
2018Revenue 6.8BOperating income 775.0M
2019
2019Revenue 7.1BOperating income 579.0M
2020
2020Revenue 5.3BOperating income 626.0M
2021Revenue 5.0BOperating income 748.0M
2022Revenue 5.7BOperating income 919.0M
2023Revenue 6.6BOperating income 1.2B
2024Revenue 7.4BOperating income 1.6B
2025Revenue 8.3BOperating income 2.0B
2018201920192020202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+13.4%
+9.4%
+2.2%
Operating income
+30.6%
+26.7%
+11.4%
Net income
+47.6%
+42.0%
+10.0%
Earnings per share
+49.4%
+44.3%
+12.6%
Free cash flow per share
+40.1%
—
—
Dividend per share
+62.2%
+77.8%
+7.3%
Shares
-1.2%
-1.6%
-2.4%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow
-10.0%0.0%10.0%20.0%30.0%
2018Operating 11.4%Net 9.5%Free cash flow -8.1%
2019
2019Operating 8.2%Net 6.6%Free cash flow -2.5%
2020
2020Operating 11.9%Net 5.0%Free cash flow -4.9%
2021Operating 15.0%Net 5.2%Free cash flow 5.0%
2022Operating 16.2%Net 8.3%Free cash flow 9.5%
2023Operating 18.1%Net 11.5%Free cash flow 10.3%
2024Operating 22.0%Net 15.5%Free cash flow 13.1%
2025Operating 24.8%Net 18.3%Free cash flow 17.3%
2018201920192020202020212022202320242025
Return on invested capital
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 8.5%
0.0%5.0%10.0%15.0%20.0%
2018Return on invested capital 4.7%
2019
2019Return on invested capital 3.3%
2020
2020Return on invested capital 5.5%
2021Return on invested capital 7.7%
2022Return on invested capital 9.2%
2023Return on invested capital 12.2%
2024Return on invested capital 17.3%
2025Return on invested capital 20.0%
2018201920192020202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Economic profit
-1.0B-500.0M0500.0M1.0B
2018Economic profit -446.5M
2019
2019Economic profit -544.8M
2020
2020Economic profit -253.4M
2021Economic profit -60.1M
2022Economic profit 53.5M
2023Economic profit 287.9M
2024Economic profit 697.1M
2025Economic profit 964.9M
2018201920192020202020212022202320242025
(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.
Return on equity
28.2%
Return on assets
13.5%
Asset turnover
0.74×
Research & development
0.4% of revenue
Overheads (SG&A)
4.5% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
-1.0B01.0B2.0B
2018Net income 642.0MFree cash flow -551.0MAfter stock-based pay -591.0M
2019
2019Net income 470.0MFree cash flow -180.0MAfter stock-based pay -249.0M
2020
2020Net income 261.0MFree cash flow -258.0MAfter stock-based pay -304.0M
2021Net income 258.0MFree cash flow 250.0MAfter stock-based pay 210.0M
2022Net income 469.0MFree cash flow 540.0MAfter stock-based pay 486.0M
2023Net income 765.0MFree cash flow 682.0MAfter stock-based pay 632.0M
2024Net income 1.2BFree cash flow 977.0MAfter stock-based pay 914.0M
2025Net income 1.5BFree cash flow 1.4BAfter stock-based pay 1.4B
2018201920192020202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2018–2025
6.0B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 51%3.1B
Acquisitions 0%5.0M
Dividends 10%613.0M
Share buybacks 59%3.5B
More than it generated: funded with cash or new debt -21%-1.2B
Over the same years it paid 435.0M in stock. The share count fell 19.3%. 3.1B of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$-2.00$0.00$2.00$4.00
2018Earnings per share $1.28Free cash flow per share $-1.10Dividend per share $0.24
2019
2019Earnings per share $1.02Free cash flow per share $-0.39Dividend per share $0.12
2020
2020Earnings per share $0.59Free cash flow per share $-0.59Dividend per share $0.03
2021Earnings per share $0.59Free cash flow per share $0.57Dividend per share $0.04
2022Earnings per share $1.11Free cash flow per share $1.28Dividend per share $0.10
2023Earnings per share $1.84Free cash flow per share $1.64Dividend per share $0.18
2024Earnings per share $2.82Free cash flow per share $2.38Dividend per share $0.27
2025Earnings per share $3.71Free cash flow per share $3.52Dividend per share $0.45
2018201920192020202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
400.0M425.0M450.0M475.0M500.0M525.0M
2018Diluted shares 503.0M
2019
2019Diluted shares 463.0M
2020
2020Diluted shares 439.0M
2021Diluted shares 435.0M
2022Diluted shares 421.0M
2023Diluted shares 416.0M
2024Diluted shares 410.0M
2025Diluted shares 406.0M
2018201920192020202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
02.0B4.0B6.0B
2018Net debt 4.0B
2019
2019Net debt 4.4B
2020
2020Net debt 3.5B
2021Net debt 3.5B
2022Net debt 3.4B
2023Net debt 3.1B
2024Net debt 2.8B
2025Net debt 2.3B
2018201920192020202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
1.0×
Interest coverage
— operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
2.13 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
— collects in 34d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
7of 8 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✓Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforepassed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✓Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellpassed
✕More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforefailed
✓No new sharesShare count did not growpassed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
4.57safe zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets 0.18 × 6.56+1.18
Retained earnings ÷ assets 0.37 × 3.26+1.19
Operating income ÷ assets 0.18 × 6.72+1.23
Equity ÷ liabilities 0.92 × 1.05+0.96
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-2.50below the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 1.02+0.94
Gross margin slipping 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.53
Soft assets 0.95+0.38
Sales growth 1.11+0.99
Slower depreciation 1.06+0.12
Overheads vs sales 0.96-0.17
Profit not in cash -0.03-0.16
Leverage rising 0.90-0.29
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
None of the six cross-checks fires for the latest year: receivables and inventory move with revenue, profit turns into cash, investment keeps up with depreciation, the tax rate is ordinary and debt is moderate.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
Value per share, with these assumptions$57.24discounted at 8.5% a year · 59% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
15.4×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
11.0×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
3.1×
Free cash flow yield
5.8%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today10.4B
Everything after, today15.1B
The whole business25.5B
Minus net debt-2.3B
What belongs to shareholders23.2B
Divided among 406.0M shares: <strong>$57.24</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
-1.0B01.0B2.0B
2018Reported -591.0M
2019
2019Reported -249.0M
2020
2020Reported -304.0M
2021Reported 210.0M
2022Reported 486.0M
2023Reported 632.0M
2024Reported 914.0M
2025Reported 1.4B
2026Projected 1.2B
2027Projected 1.3B
2028Projected 1.4B
2029Projected 1.5B
2030Projected 1.6B
2031Projected 1.7B
2032Projected 1.8B
2033Projected 1.9B
2034Projected 1.9B
2035Projected 2.0B
2018201920202022202420262028203020322034
Year by year
2026
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
Revenue
9.0B
9.8B
10.6B
11.4B
12.1B
12.8B
13.4B
13.9B
14.4B
14.7B
Growth
9.5%
8.7%
7.9%
7.2%
6.4%
5.6%
4.8%
4.1%
3.3%
2.5%
Cash margin
13.5%
13.5%
13.5%
13.5%
13.5%
13.5%
13.5%
13.5%
13.5%
13.5%
Free cash flow
1.2B
1.3B
1.4B
1.5B
1.6B
1.7B
1.8B
1.9B
1.9B
2.0B
Worth today
1.1B
1.1B
1.1B
1.1B
1.1B
1.1B
1.0B
979.2M
932.3M
880.9M
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
7.5%
59
64
70
78
87
8.0%
54
58
63
69
76
8.5%
50
53
57
62
68
9.0%
46
49
52
56
61
9.5%
42
45
48
51
55
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
5.5%
7.5%
9.5%
11.5%
13.5%
10.8%
39
43
47
52
56
12.1%
43
48
52
57
62
13.5%
48
52
57
63
68
14.8%
52
57
62
68
74
16.2%
56
62
67
74
81
All the inputs moving at once
5,000 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 2.0%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$40.83
Median$57.31
90th percentile$83.77
$50.00$75.00$100.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$47.86</b> and <b>$69.51</b>; one in ten below $40.83, one in ten above $83.77.
Does the long run make sense?
8.2×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 8.2 times that year's EBITDA.
7%To grow 2.5% forever while reinvesting 34% of its after-tax operating profit, the business must earn 7% on the new capital — it has earned 13% on average over the last five years.
59%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.