HCA · Health care(services-general medical & surgical hospitals, nec) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
HCA Healthcare, Inc. reported revenue of $75.6 billion in fiscal 2025, after growing 6.9% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin held steady at about 16.0% from 2016, and it earned 23.6% on its invested capital in the latest year. Of the $84.7 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 50.7% went to buybacks and 45.9% back into the business; the share count fell 39.5%. On the accounting screens, it passes 6 of 8 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 0.87 is in the distress zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; none of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 202575.6B+6.9% a year over 9 years
Operating margin16.0%gross margin —
Return on invested capital23.6%22.8% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow after stock pay7.3B9.6% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA2.9×net debt 45.5B
Piotroski F-score6/8tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
020.0B40.0B60.0B80.0B
2016Revenue 41.5BOperating income 6.5B
2017Revenue 43.6BOperating income 6.1B
2018Revenue 46.7BOperating income 7.1B
2019Revenue 51.3BOperating income 7.1B
2020Revenue 51.5BOperating income 7.0B
2021Revenue 58.8BOperating income 11.4B
2022Revenue 60.2BOperating income 10.3B
2023Revenue 65.0BOperating income 9.6B
2024Revenue 70.6BOperating income 10.6B
2025Revenue 75.6BOperating income 12.1B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+7.9%
+8.0%
+6.9%
Operating income
+5.4%
+11.5%
+7.1%
Net income
+6.3%
+12.6%
+9.9%
Earnings per share
+13.9%
+21.0%
+16.3%
Free cash flow per share
+31.9%
+11.5%
+17.9%
Dividend per share
+8.6%
+44.8%
—
Shares
-6.7%
-7.0%
-5.4%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow
0.0%5.0%10.0%15.0%20.0%
2016Operating 15.7%Net 7.0%Free cash flow 7.0%
2017Operating 13.9%Net 5.1%Free cash flow 5.5%
2018Operating 15.2%Net 8.1%Free cash flow 6.8%
2019Operating 13.8%Net 6.8%Free cash flow 6.7%
2020Operating 13.6%Net 7.3%Free cash flow 12.4%
2021Operating 19.4%Net 11.8%Free cash flow 9.2%
2022Operating 17.1%Net 9.4%Free cash flow 6.9%
2023Operating 14.8%Net 8.1%Free cash flow 7.2%
2024Operating 15.0%Net 8.2%Free cash flow 8.0%
2025Operating 16.0%Net 9.0%Free cash flow 10.2%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Return on invested capital
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 4.1%
0.0%10.0%20.0%30.0%
2016Return on invested capital 19.3%
2017Return on invested capital 14.5%
2018Return on invested capital 20.9%
2019Return on invested capital 18.1%
2020Return on invested capital 17.9%
2021Return on invested capital 26.6%
2022Return on invested capital 23.3%
2023Return on invested capital 20.2%
2024Return on invested capital 20.4%
2025Return on invested capital 23.6%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Economic profit
02.0B4.0B6.0B8.0B
2016Economic profit 3.7B
2017Economic profit 2.7B
2018Economic profit 4.7B
2019Economic profit 4.3B
2020Economic profit 4.4B
2021Economic profit 7.6B
2022Economic profit 6.8B
2023Economic profit 6.1B
2024Economic profit 6.6B
2025Economic profit 7.9B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.
Return on equity
—
Return on assets
11.2%
Asset turnover
1.25×
Overheads (SG&A)
0.7% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
02.0B4.0B6.0B8.0B
2016Net income 2.9BFree cash flow 2.9BAfter stock-based pay 2.6B
2017Net income 2.2BFree cash flow 2.4BAfter stock-based pay 2.1B
2018Net income 3.8BFree cash flow 3.2BAfter stock-based pay 2.9B
2019Net income 3.5BFree cash flow 3.4BAfter stock-based pay 3.1B
2020Net income 3.8BFree cash flow 6.4BAfter stock-based pay 6.0B
2021Net income 7.0BFree cash flow 5.4BAfter stock-based pay 4.9B
2022Net income 5.6BFree cash flow 4.1BAfter stock-based pay 3.8B
2023Net income 5.2BFree cash flow 4.7BAfter stock-based pay 4.4B
2024Net income 5.8BFree cash flow 5.6BAfter stock-based pay 5.3B
2025Net income 6.8BFree cash flow 7.7BAfter stock-based pay 7.3B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025
84.7B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 46%38.9B
Acquisitions 0%0
Dividends 5%4.5B
Share buybacks 51%42.9B
More than it generated: funded with cash or new debt -2%-1.6B
Over the same years it paid 3.3B in stock. The share count fell 39.5%. 39.6B of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$0.00$10.00$20.00$30.00$40.00
2016Earnings per share $7.30Free cash flow per share $7.31
2017Earnings per share $5.95Free cash flow per share $6.48Dividend per share $0.00
2018Earnings per share $10.66Free cash flow per share $8.97Dividend per share $1.37
2019Earnings per share $10.07Free cash flow per share $9.89Dividend per share $1.58
2020Earnings per share $10.93Free cash flow per share $18.62Dividend per share $0.45
2021Earnings per share $21.16Free cash flow per share $16.37Dividend per share $1.90
2022Earnings per share $19.15Free cash flow per share $14.01Dividend per share $2.22
2023Earnings per share $18.96Free cash flow per share $16.96Dividend per share $2.39
2024Earnings per share $22.00Free cash flow per share $21.54Dividend per share $2.64
2025Earnings per share $28.33Free cash flow per share $32.12Dividend per share $2.84
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
200.0M250.0M300.0M350.0M400.0M
2016Diluted shares 395.9M
2017Diluted shares 372.2M
2018Diluted shares 355.3M
2019Diluted shares 348.2M
2020Diluted shares 343.6M
2021Diluted shares 328.8M
2022Diluted shares 294.7M
2023Diluted shares 276.4M
2024Diluted shares 261.8M
2025Diluted shares 239.5M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
020.0B40.0B60.0B
2016Net debt 30.7B
2017Net debt 32.3B
2018Net debt 32.3B
2019Net debt 33.1B
2020Net debt 29.2B
2021Net debt 33.1B
2022Net debt 37.2B
2023Net debt 38.7B
2024Net debt 41.1B
2025Net debt 45.5B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
2.9×
Interest coverage
5× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
0.97 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
— collects in 52d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
6of 8 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✓Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforepassed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✕Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellfailed
✕More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforefailed
✓No new sharesShare count did not growpassed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
0.87distress zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets -0.01 × 6.56-0.06
Retained earnings ÷ assets -0.09 × 3.26-0.31
Operating income ÷ assets 0.20 × 6.72+1.34
Equity ÷ liabilities -0.09 × 1.05-0.09
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-2.98below the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 0.94+0.87
Gross margin slipping 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.53
Soft assets 0.99+0.40
Sales growth 1.07+0.96
Slower depreciation 1.00+0.11
Overheads vs sales 1.22-0.21
Profit not in cash -0.10-0.45
Leverage rising 1.06-0.35
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
None of the six cross-checks fires for the latest year: receivables and inventory move with revenue, profit turns into cash, investment keeps up with depreciation, the tax rate is ordinary and debt is moderate.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
87% of the value comes from after year 10: this valuation rests mostly on the long run, which is exactly what is least known.
Value per share, with these assumptions$2,109.86discounted at 4.1% a year · 87% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
74.5×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
35.3×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
7.3×
Free cash flow yield
1.4%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today74.3B
Everything after, today476.4B
The whole business550.8B
Minus net debt-45.5B
What belongs to shareholders505.3B
Divided among 239.5M shares: <strong>$2,109.86</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
05.0B10.0B15.0B
2016Reported 2.6B
2017Reported 2.1B
2018Reported 2.9B
2019Reported 3.1B
2020Reported 6.0B
2021Reported 4.9B
2022Reported 3.8B
2023Reported 4.4B
2024Reported 5.3B
2025Reported 7.3B
2026Projected 7.2B
2027Projected 7.7B
2028Projected 8.3B
2029Projected 8.8B
2030Projected 9.3B
2031Projected 9.7B
2032Projected 10.1B
2033Projected 10.5B
2034Projected 10.8B
2035Projected 11.1B
2016201820202022202420262028203020322034
Year by year
2026
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
Revenue
81.6B
87.7B
93.6B
99.4B
104.9B
110.1B
114.9B
119.2B
122.9B
125.9B
Growth
8.0%
7.4%
6.8%
6.2%
5.6%
4.9%
4.3%
3.7%
3.1%
2.5%
Cash margin
8.8%
8.8%
8.8%
8.8%
8.8%
8.8%
8.8%
8.8%
8.8%
8.8%
Free cash flow
7.2B
7.7B
8.3B
8.8B
9.3B
9.7B
10.1B
10.5B
10.8B
11.1B
Worth today
6.9B
7.1B
7.3B
7.5B
7.6B
7.6B
7.7B
7.6B
7.6B
7.4B
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
3.1%
2,199
3,231
5,980
—
—
3.6%
1,624
2,154
3,165
5,861
—
4.1%
1,270
1,590
2,110
3,102
5,745
4.6%
1,031
1,243
1,557
2,067
3,039
5.1%
858
1,009
1,217
1,525
2,025
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
4.0%
6.0%
8.0%
10.0%
12.0%
7.1%
1,366
1,516
1,677
1,853
2,042
7.9%
1,545
1,712
1,893
2,089
2,301
8.8%
1,724
1,909
2,110
2,327
2,562
9.7%
1,904
2,107
2,327
2,565
2,822
10.6%
2,082
2,303
2,542
2,801
3,081
All the inputs moving at once
3,618 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 2.0%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$839.02
Median$1,639.17
90th percentile$3,054.56
$2,000.00$4,000.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$1,158.77</b> and <b>$2,316.17</b>; one in ten below $839.02, one in ten above $3,054.56.
Does the long run make sense?
27.4×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 27.4 times that year's EBITDA.
8%To grow 2.5% forever while reinvesting 30% of its after-tax operating profit, the business must earn 8% on the new capital — it has earned 23% on average over the last five years.
87%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.